We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin and Bistro to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Stoke-on-trent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very chic and stylish hotel a few minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate. Everything about our stay was first class. The staff were friendly , courteous and very helpful; the bar area was very tastefully decorated with sumptuous sofas and a well stocked bar (& Cigar room!). Our room was lovely - big comfy bed, monsoon shower, bathrobes, quality toiletries and lots of nice touches - Nespresso machine, real milk, stacks of current magazines. The cooked breakfast was faultless and service was attentive. All in all we had a wonderful stay here and would definitely recommend it. We will certainly be using other Hotel du Vin hotels when we travel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    216
    142
    64
    23
See reviews for
48
383
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Spent 2 days in the hotel recently with my mum, we'd decided to have a girly weekend away in Harrogate, spoiling ourselves. This hotel is very central and ideal for our needs.

The original booking was for a double room, and changing to a twin room was "no problem" - done over the phone before we arrived.

The chap who checked us in was very friendly, even carrying my mum's heavy bag all the way to the room for her, we were on the 1st floor.

The room had excellent facilities and was finished to a very high standard, exactly what we had expected from a hotel like this.

Breakfast was superb - meals from the menu were cooked to order, delivered swiftly and tasted delicious.

We were made to feel very welcome and I'd definitely return to this hotel again. A really pleasant stay at a top quality, professional hotel.

Room Tip: If you need to change from a double to twin (like we did), ring on the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Nice location. However there were issues as follows:
First night we were there we returned from an external restaurant at about 10:30 and all doors were locked by staff. We could not get in. We knocked on all the doors/windows until another guest opened a door and let us in. Others were also waiting outside trying to get in. When I went to the desk to advise the manager (unknown nationality) He was quite agitated that I had brought this to his attention. He at first said that the main door was faulty so he closed and locked it??? Then he said the next door was also faulty?? Dont think so. You simply cannot have this situation at a hotel. We had to get the manager out of his office behind the reception desk and found him defensive and rude. He told us we should have rung the bell and walked away from us. Plumbing very noisy especially at night. Could not open window in bathwoom without standing in the bath. Pillows were very flat and far too soft. Poor lighting in room. I asked the restaurant manager to identify what cereal wwas in a sreving bowl. He said Muesli. It clearly was not Muesli. Probably Granola, however it was in such large lumps (golf ball size) that you could not break it down. When I asked if he could get it broken down or bring out some more; the manager said no. He seemed annoyed that I had mentioned it. The staff cannot deal with issues or conflict clearly they need training.

Room Tip: Stand in bath to open window or open blind
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I may be spoilt by the number of top flight international hotels I stay in on business... but this place seemed a bit shabby, pretentious and money grabbing - asking at check in if i wanted a paper and then charging me for it at checkout is just cheap! The room was small, way too hot and no air con. Breakfast very overpriced considering the 30 minute wait. A cracked sink in the bathroom is not impressive; neither is a door handle on the room that crushes your fingers against the lock when you open it from the inside. Trying to charge twice for breakfast when it was supposed to be already included in the room. I'll stop now.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Met by courteous staff on arrival shown to room. Excellent facilities in room. Roll top bath and monsoon shower all excellent massive comfy bed. Breakfast different class so much choice and top quality produce well presented. Can't wait to come again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We arrived to a pleasant and friendly check in before being shown to our suit. We stayed in the dom perrignon suite which was really spacious and had 2 roll top baths 2 monsoons showers and a nice sitting area with sky tv( including sky sports other half over the moon!) Our bed was so big 8ft!, and ridicously comfy. Everything we needed was here luxury and many comforts. We chose to eat in the bistro we we did last time and was not let let down. The staff are so knowledgable about the dishes and the wine on offer. Our food was presented well and tasted delicious. Overall the bistro is a very good choice to eat offering high class produce in a tastefully furnished restaurant. The only thing i didnt like was that there was no music which did annoy me a little even if it was just piano music its needs some!!! After dinner we sat in the bar and spoke to a lovely lady about different vodkas and learnt quite a lot, she was very friendly but proffesional as all the staff who go out of their way to make your stay a good one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hotel has been converted out of an attractive row of Harrogate's period houses. We had a standard first floor double front room (Brown Brothers) overlooking the Stray gardens. Because it faces west it became very hot during the afternoon, a Venetian blind or nets would have helped. The problem was not improved by only the bottom sash window being openable, and that only by a few inches. Sash windows are cleverly designed to open at the top & the bottom to allow circulation of air - the Victorians weren't stupid.
No other real problems, but at £120 night plus £10 car parking I wouldn't say that our modestly sized room was particularly good value. The staff were all friendly & helpful except for the maintenance man who rudely & wrongly told me that the fan in our room was not broken.(It was finally replaced.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.