We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and quiet. Lovely gardens and foyer. Top class breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location and quiet. Lovely gardens and foyer. Top class breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Swopped to a standard room at the rear during Tour de France so nice and quiet - room 21. Nice room with king size bed and a bit of character. No squeaks from the bed and quite comfortable if a bit of a dip to the middle. Lovely bathroom but perhaps a bit dusty in places and slippy bath.
Overall for a standard bedroom this was very good above expectations. Does need improved mirror for applying makeup etc.

Great location just a short walk of around 10mins to town with a slight incline on the return.
Downside no lift.
Had a lovely breakfast with top quality ingredients all nice and fresh looking.

Room Tip: rooms at the back overlook the church so nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    159
    73
    38
    23
See reviews for
35
308
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had such a brilliant stay at the Balmoral from start to finish. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (Steve and Jackie were amazing!), the rooms were huge and the beds were comfy. The Balmoral is located close to city center so we walked pretty much everywhere and the staff were always more than willing to call us a taxi otherwise. We stayed on the top floor and the front desk offered to carry our luggage up and down so the staircases were no trouble at all (I know other reviewers have mentioned lack of elevator). We were a fairly large group and they accommodated us during all aspects of our stay and we couldn't give more praise to the Balmoral if we tried.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel ideally located on the edge of town meaning it was quiet but an easy walk to restaurants, bars etc.
the staff were very friendly, although at breakfast our waitress had very limited English and didn't understand our request for brown bread, so brought us white.
For anyone who appreciates a hotel with period features over a bland purpose built hotel this is for you. Yes it's a little run down in places and can do with some money spending on it, but it was not as bad as the reviews I've read are making out.
I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is not bad. There are several positives: Friendly (if computer challenged) staff (who had trouble producing a bill at checkout); nice reception area; excellent breakfast; and, most of all, the location, close to town. But the room wasn't ready when I arrived at 3PM. (Although they said it would be ready when I returned, an hour later it still wasn't done). Bed was relatively comfortable, and there was a nice chair for reading (that was important, as the lamp wasn't on the right angle to read in bed). For the price and location this is fine, but I think it would be better for a couple than a business traveler. They offered a newspaper in the morning, but it wasn't there by the time breakfast started (although they later brought it to me at the table). The staff was overwhelmingly charming, trying to please. When the room wasn't ready, I was treated to a free beer from the bar. I would stay here again if necessary, but there are better hotels in the nearby area, albeit likely higher in price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel looks lovely from the outside and is very well situated. The staff are warm and welcoming, the public areas are clean and modern and the breakfast is good. The free wi-fi worked well during our stay and we were provided with a useful list of room info. Car parking is offered - a huge bonus except for the pigeons that make a dreadful mess of the car. However, on request we were provided with a bucket (missing handle) of hot water and a sponge! But it goes downhill from there. We stayed in Room 2, up a couple of flights of stairs and there is no lift.
Room 2 is a large room but has inadequate natural light. This is exacerbated by the shabby, dingy décor. The blinds are badly frayed and, because they are Roman blinds, cover half the windows even when pulled up fully. The bedding provided showed signs of wear, and on arrival we had to ask for blown light bulbs to be replaced, for more hangers and for bath towels. All was provided quickly but these things should be checked as a matter of course. There was a good supply of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits. The furniture is no longer 'shabby chic' but just shabby and worn. One of the mirrors has bits missing. The bed itself was dreadful and gave me a very painful back indeed. The TV worked, although it was in an odd position. There were lots of power points and one just where it's needed by the mirror. The weather was cold and damp during our stay and we made use of the space heater provided although half it's wheels were missing. But it did warm up the room thank goodness because the hotel didn't put on the central heating. The hair-dryer supplied was so weak it was useless but fortunately I'd brought my own. I didn't need to use the iron provided, so can't comment.The bathroom looked superficially OK and there was plenty of hot water and toiletries. However the water pressure for the shower is abysmal. Power showers are badly needed. On the sink, the complete cold tap swivels when turned on.
Checkout was very slow as the poor chap on the desk didn't know how to do it, and had to ask the chef. At this point I nearly walked off without paying, I was so fed up.
This hotel is very poor. I wanted to leave after the first couple of nights and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 2 - the 'Turret Room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well-located hotel, close to town centre, and staff were friendly, welcoming and obliging. Room was large and airy but situated up two flights of stairs, which would have been fine except that there was no lift! It was badly in need of a makeover - blinds were shabby and the lighting was terrible, but the bed was large and comfortable. The TV worked and had a wide selection of channels, but I wasn't able to get WiFi on my tablet, sadly.
Bathroom was stocked with toiletries and white fluffy towels, but the shower was woefully inadequate. A power shower would have made up for a lot.
Breakfast was plentiful and full English was tasty, but surprisingly wasn't included in the £95 cost of the room, so all in all, I doubt if I would return.

Room Tip: Try for one of the refurbished rooms, on the ground floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were greeted upon arrival and told our room was not quite ready. Waited over an hour, however the receptionist was apologetic and kept us updated as to when the room would be ready.

Room was spacious and contained everything we needed. Bathroom had toiletries and fluffy, clean white towells.

All staff were pleasant and were happy to order us a taxi.

Only a short walk into the centre of Harrogate. Would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spa town of Harrogate is without doubt one of the finest places in the country, so it seems only fitting to find a hotel as beautiful as The Balmoral Hotel here. Situated on a leafy street just a few minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate, this impressive 100 year-old York stone building is set amongst picturesque gardens dotted with charming topiary. You may only be a stone’s throw from all that the town has to offer but once inside you’ll quickly forget the outside world exists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Harrogate
The Balmoral Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.