We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
The Balmoral Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A lovely hotel ideally located on the edge of town meaning it was quiet but an easy walk to restaurants, bars etc.
the staff were very friendly, although at breakfast our waitress had very limited English and didn't understand our request for brown bread, so brought us white.
For anyone who appreciates a hotel with period features over a bland purpose built hotel this is for you. Yes it's a little run down in places and can do with some money spending on it, but it was not as bad as the reviews I've read are making out.
I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    191
    86
    48
    24
See reviews for
47
363
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
69 hotel reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is not bad. There are several positives: Friendly (if computer challenged) staff (who had trouble producing a bill at checkout); nice reception area; excellent breakfast; and, most of all, the location, close to town. But the room wasn't ready when I arrived at 3PM. (Although they said it would be ready when I returned, an hour later it still wasn't done). Bed was relatively comfortable, and there was a nice chair for reading (that was important, as the lamp wasn't on the right angle to read in bed). For the price and location this is fine, but I think it would be better for a couple than a business traveler. They offered a newspaper in the morning, but it wasn't there by the time breakfast started (although they later brought it to me at the table). The staff was overwhelmingly charming, trying to please. When the room wasn't ready, I was treated to a free beer from the bar. I would stay here again if necessary, but there are better hotels in the nearby area, albeit likely higher in price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel looks lovely from the outside and is very well situated. The staff are warm and welcoming, the public areas are clean and modern and the breakfast is good. The free wi-fi worked well during our stay and we were provided with a useful list of room info. Car parking is offered - a huge bonus except for the pigeons that make a dreadful mess of the car. However, on request we were provided with a bucket (missing handle) of hot water and a sponge! But it goes downhill from there. We stayed in Room 2, up a couple of flights of stairs and there is no lift.
Room 2 is a large room but has inadequate natural light. This is exacerbated by the shabby, dingy décor. The blinds are badly frayed and, because they are Roman blinds, cover half the windows even when pulled up fully. The bedding provided showed signs of wear, and on arrival we had to ask for blown light bulbs to be replaced, for more hangers and for bath towels. All was provided quickly but these things should be checked as a matter of course. There was a good supply of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits. The furniture is no longer 'shabby chic' but just shabby and worn. One of the mirrors has bits missing. The bed itself was dreadful and gave me a very painful back indeed. The TV worked, although it was in an odd position. There were lots of power points and one just where it's needed by the mirror. The weather was cold and damp during our stay and we made use of the space heater provided although half it's wheels were missing. But it did warm up the room thank goodness because the hotel didn't put on the central heating. The hair-dryer supplied was so weak it was useless but fortunately I'd brought my own. I didn't need to use the iron provided, so can't comment.The bathroom looked superficially OK and there was plenty of hot water and toiletries. However the water pressure for the shower is abysmal. Power showers are badly needed. On the sink, the complete cold tap swivels when turned on.
Checkout was very slow as the poor chap on the desk didn't know how to do it, and had to ask the chef. At this point I nearly walked off without paying, I was so fed up.
This hotel is very poor. I wanted to leave after the first couple of nights and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 2 - the 'Turret Room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well-located hotel, close to town centre, and staff were friendly, welcoming and obliging. Room was large and airy but situated up two flights of stairs, which would have been fine except that there was no lift! It was badly in need of a makeover - blinds were shabby and the lighting was terrible, but the bed was large and comfortable. The TV worked and had a wide selection of channels, but I wasn't able to get WiFi on my tablet, sadly.
Bathroom was stocked with toiletries and white fluffy towels, but the shower was woefully inadequate. A power shower would have made up for a lot.
Breakfast was plentiful and full English was tasty, but surprisingly wasn't included in the £95 cost of the room, so all in all, I doubt if I would return.

Room Tip: Try for one of the refurbished rooms, on the ground floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were greeted upon arrival and told our room was not quite ready. Waited over an hour, however the receptionist was apologetic and kept us updated as to when the room would be ready.

Room was spacious and contained everything we needed. Bathroom had toiletries and fluffy, clean white towells.

All staff were pleasant and were happy to order us a taxi.

Only a short walk into the centre of Harrogate. Would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We were meant to stay at the Balmoral Hotel for 3 nights but we checked out the day after we checked in! We arrived there to be greeted by a very friendly manager who recommended lots of lovely places to go and offered to help us up to our room with our suitcases which made us automatically feel welcomed into the hotel. However when we arrived in our room all was not so nice. The family room that we had booked was very old and tired and we automatically thought that the rooms shown on the website were in much better condition than ours was. That night we barely got any sleep as the beds were extremely uncomfortable and it was then that we decided that we couldn't take another minute of this let alone the other 2 nights we were booked in for. At breakfast the next morning we were greeted by the manager again and we told him our concerns about the hotel room and he was very understanding and gave us a substantial amount of our money back (which we were pleased about). We had breakfast in the hotel's breakfast bar which was nicely decorated however empty! The food was nice and the Full English was cooked fresh and very tasty with good service that was fast from a friendly waitress.

Overall we were very unimpressed by this hotel that had claimed to be prestigious and excellent but was actually tired and needed some serious TLC as the rooms were old and hadn't really been cleaned properly as there were a few cobwebs, coffee stains, a smell of drains in the bathroom coming out of the sink plug hole and to top it all off we found a used pair of thongs behind the double bed that were DEFINITELY not anything to do with us and looked like they had been roaming there for a while. With all that said the manager was very understanding and listened to our complaints and seemed to be 'taking it all on board' so we hope that our criticisms can help to improve your hotel as it has the potential to be really good

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

How can a Hotel have 5 star and 1 star reviews-- someone is telling " Porkies"

We reserved 7 bedrooms last year to compete in The Barbershop Convention 23rd May -26th May 2014

We were promised a completely refurbished Hotel. THIS IS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN.

We had issues with all the bedrooms which included plumbing, lighting, decor, and cleanliness. Most of us were upgraded and still had the same issues with the upgraded bedrooms !

We visited Harrogate Tourist Office and could not be relocated as all the Hotels were full.

The Owner should take full responsibility for this" Disaster of a Hotel"
The Staff are friendly and the breakfasts good.

Despite the accommodation we all sang well !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear ehphysio,

Thank you for your comments.

As you know, we are fully aware of the situation with the booking and when your group arrived at the hotel we were then made aware of the promise you were made last year when booking.

When the booking was taken, we were due to be refurbing some of the bedrooms, I agree and sincerly appologise that this was not completed by your arrival date this year.

I had in depth conversations with many of the group regarding issues from their stay regarding like you mentioned lighting, plumbing, decor and cleanliness and it was noted, rectified and guests requests accomodated by the team wherever possible.

Like most of your party mentioned we were pleased that you all enjoyed the breakfasts and service and we enjoyed having you all perform for the staff and guests in the hotel lobby during your stay, it was fantastic to listen to!

Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spa town of Harrogate is without doubt one of the finest places in the country, so it seems only fitting to find a hotel as beautiful as The Balmoral Hotel here. Situated on a leafy street just a few minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate, this impressive 100 year-old York stone building is set amongst picturesque gardens dotted with charming topiary. You may only be a stone’s throw from all that the town has to offer but once inside you’ll quickly forget the outside world exists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Harrogate
The Balmoral Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.