We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
The Balmoral Hotel
Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderfully comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in a twin room for 2 nights, the room was lovely, very opulent, with gorgeous venetian mirrors, and the beds the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel, with lovely feather & down duvets and pillows. The bathroom was huge! The radiators and hot water were lovely and hot. There was an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe. Hairdryer too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is parking available, and if their car park is full they supply a permit for onroad parking. It was a short walk into town. If there is anything to criticise it would be that some of the décor has been done quickly and cheaply, but really that's of no importance, the hotel was beautiful. It felt luxurious, and was very clean. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I can't comment, I live in a quiet park, the hotel is on the edge of a busy road, so I notice ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebalmoralHotel, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear KirstenHeerwage

Many thanks for your very kind and generous comments posted regarding your recent stay here with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed Harrogate and the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, kind regards, Nick Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    160
    74
    40
    23
See reviews for
37
314
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel is very convenient for the Conference Centre and the price very reasonable.
The staff were very friendly and my (single) room was of adequate size with a very large, and spotlessly clean , bathroom. Some of the bedroom furniture was slightly chipped but for me the cleanliness of the room is more important and there was no problem in this respect.
The cooked breakfast was made to order within minutes and was very nicely presented as well being very tasty.
The duty manager was very helpful in allowing me to leave my car in the car park until my conference had finished. I've stayed at other places where you have to shift your car once you've checked out. This was much appreciate and saved me having to pay parking charges elsewhere.
Overall I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebalmoralHotel, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Scot9

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay here with us, where possible we like to offer those little extra touches which obviously do help! Be sure to look us up on future visits to Harrogate, kind regards, Nick Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked deal through secret escapes and stayed one night , staff were fabulous without being over powering , our room ( room 2 ) was lovely and had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in , 5 minute stroll to the centre of Harrogate . Had a drink in the bar before going out for dinner and it was very reasonable . Great choice for breakfast and cooked perfectly . We have stayed in lots of hotels but The Balmoral is now at the top of our list , we hope to return once the restaurant is up and running . Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebalmoralHotel, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear jazz42

Very happy to have made it to the top of your list :) Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments about the team here and the food quality, it is always great to hear of such positive experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harrogate in the future. Kind regards, Nick Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were in Harrogate for a trade fare and stayed at The Balmoral, what a gem. Fantastic room, fantastic food, easy parking and just a short stroll from the town center. The only down side was the water pressure in our shower. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebalmoralHotel, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Alyson M

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments about your recent stay here with us. Be sure to think of us again when visiting Harrogate in the future, kind regards, Nick Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent hotel. Friendly and accommodating staff. Lovely room and decor - a really lavish and opulent feel. Great-tasting breakfast. Great value for money stay - purchased on Groupon. Would definitely stay again and recommend for character.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebalmoralHotel, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear LBRYorkshire

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback about recent stay here with us, we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Nick Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Balmoral Hotel, for 1 night so we could enjoy a full day in beautiful Harrogate and pay a visit to Harewood House the following day. The Balmoral is in an excellent location with free parking - on a leafy side street, just a short and easy stroll from the centre of Harrogate. The reception and bar area are very nice and the lady receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room was lovely - very big with a huge four poster bed which was so comfy. We got an excellent deal through secret escapes, including afternoon tea and breakfast - both of which were lovely. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.
If you're looking for a nice place to eat in the evening, we can highly recommend Bistro Pierre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebalmoralHotel, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear lesley_seddon

Many thanks for your kind comments in regarsds to the staff service you received and also the quality of the food, it is always encouraging to receive this positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Nick Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford cheshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed last weekend at The Balmoral and although the hotel is starting to look a bit tired it is very clean and the staff are wonderful
We had a fabulous room with a huge bed and the most amazing lighting I have seen in a hotel.

Thanks for having us.

PS - Beans are good for breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebalmoralHotel, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Liz H

Beans it is! We have discussed this hot topic for a while now, and will be introducing them to our breakfast from 1st December! Thank you for the kind comments about the staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon with beans! All the best Nick Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spa town of Harrogate is without doubt one of the finest places in the country, so it seems only fitting to find a hotel as beautiful as The Balmoral Hotel here. Situated on a leafy street just a few minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate, this impressive 100 year-old York stone building is set amongst picturesque gardens dotted with charming topiary. You may only be a stone’s throw from all that the town has to offer but once inside you’ll quickly forget the outside world exists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Harrogate
The Balmoral Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.