We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room in a nice area, but lacking service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
The Balmoral Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely room in a nice area, but lacking service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a mini break away.
The room itself was lovely, and decorated in a vintage style which made it very cosy and romantic.
Breakfast however was a different story.
Upon arriving our order for tea and coffee was taken, which they got wrong. When we did get the right drinks, we put milk in from the jug on the table, which curdled in the drinks and turned out to be off. (The staff confirmed if was actually out of date).
I then ordered poached egg on toast, but the egg came out jellied and was raw. I returned it and was offered another, but I declined as suffering from salmonella poisoning isn't how I wanted to spend my week.
The toast was fine.
We mentioned the whole fiasco to the manager on duty but it seemed to be acceptable because I was offered another breakfast which was quite disappointing.
Overall the room itself was well worth the stay, but as we didn't seem to be alone with the wrong orders etc at breakfast, be prepared!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    180
    81
    46
    23
See reviews for
42
346
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Balmoral in Harrogate in mid-march 2013 for one night. It is a nice boutique hotel and did the job! Fairly centrally located (10 minute walk to town or 2 minute £4 taxi ride), great rooms, welcoming staff and a nice breakfast. All in all a good choice for a stay in Harrogate and we would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for a pamper weekend and thoroughly enjoyed myself. The staff were friendly and helpful and you felt they cared about your stay. We got lovely Milton brown freebies, the afternoon tea was to die for and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

A little shabby in places but we heard the place is soon to be completely renovated so in my opinion that can only make it perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I needed a hotel in Harrogate when my Father died in December 2012. Charlene the Manager was amazingly helpful. My wife and I arrived to make the first preparations after his death and her sympathy and understanding was fantastic. I booked 5 rooms for Family Members for his Funeral on December 21st and again we received superb care/treatment and sympathy. My wife and I, son and fiancee returned this past week for a night whilst sorting out personal details and again felt the hotel great. It has we gather recently been taken over and due a total refurbishment - possibly needed - but we hope the ambience doesn't change, neither the staff, Charlene, or the way the hotel goes out of its way to help.
Thank you Balmoral - we shall return!
Richard Seed

Room Tip: The Four Poster Beds are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend at the beginning of April last year to celebrate my 22nd birthday. I absolutely loved the decor of the rooms and the Molton brown toiletries, Harrogate spa water and tea,coffee & biscuits really made the rooms feel much more luxurious than the prices of the rooms may suggest. We stayed in room 1 which was beautifully decorated, I have never been so impressed with a hotel by its first impression! I've had better bathrooms - the luxury doesn't really extend to the bathroom other than the lovely complementary toiletries but it is still clean with lots of natural light. The breakfast was lovely, again little extras like tiny jars of jams and preserves really made this hotel stand out from others I have previously stayed in. The bar and seating area downstairs was a lovely place to have a drink before heading out in go the town. I would definitely stay here again and am even looking to book for my birthday again this year!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here last Easter, just for one night, with family and we were all very happy. Perhaps not all the rooms are newly refurbished but ours was lovely, nice furnishings, clean, comfy bed, window seats and a great bathroom - long and thin but felt spacious and the shower was nice. Our room was not the largest, but the other two in our party said theirs was half the size so must have been tiny!

We found out on arrival that the restaurant was not in operation - we were initially a bit annoyed that we hadn't been informed when we booked, as we'd been hoping to have dinner at the hotel. However, they provided a complimentary taxi to their sister hotel, the White Hart, right in the town centre. The meal we had there was exceptional and the restaurant had a great atmosphere, so it ended up working out very well.

The hotel breakfast was very nice, I had the full English and it was a generous portion.

I would stay here again, and definitely eat at the sister hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went for a night for a birthday me and my fella and another couple, lovely hotel although quite a walk to town centre we got taxis both ways. Rooms were spotless and i would stay here again breakfast was gorgeous and there were quite a few choices too. The bar area was really nice too, we had drinks here before we ventured out. Harrogate is a lovely town, and im looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spa town of Harrogate is without doubt one of the finest places in the country, so it seems only fitting to find a hotel as beautiful as The Balmoral Hotel here. Situated on a leafy street just a few minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate, this impressive 100 year-old York stone building is set amongst picturesque gardens dotted with charming topiary. You may only be a stone’s throw from all that the town has to offer but once inside you’ll quickly forget the outside world exists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Harrogate
The Balmoral Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.