We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arden House to your Saves list
Arden House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69-71 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Arden House. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and plentiful! We arrived early but this was no problem for Beverley,the owner, who gave us a useful map and details of various restaurants in the vicinity. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Location is excellent, just five minutes walk into town. We will definitely make a return visit. Thankyou for a great stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    75
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
14
83
9
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

living room and dinning room was very nice,but this was a complete contrast to bedrooms ,we stayed with a group of friends for a birthday and we were very disappointed,the owners really need to invest some cash to bring the bedrooms up to a decent standard. Shabby chic it is not, just plain shabby, wont be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

one night stay in Harrogate. excellent location 2 min walk into centre great to be able to park car at B&B.
staff could not have been friendly even had bottles of wine in the bedroom for the birthday boys which was a very thoughtful touch. rooms clean and very comfortable, lovely nights sleep then woke to a fresh beautiful cooked breakfast. defiantly will return and happy to recommend this accomadation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here, excellent breakfast, great accommodation and will definitely return. Highly recommended. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. The front garden is very well attended to as well as the accommodation itself. Location is excellent being only a few minutes walk into town. Harrogate has some excellent restaurants and there is so much to do here. The bars are also good.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a clean and smart business operating in what appeared to be originally two large town houses which are now amalgamated. Check in was quick, professional and friendly and our room (2) was light and functional, incorporating a small ensuite. The room appeared to have once been one large living space, but the addition of the ensuite within it worked quite well - The shower is however subsequently a little small for larger people.
Breakfast was excellent, providing a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals etc. As usual I had the full breakfast and it was excellent (and I am fussy).
Interestingly, there is also an honest bar arrangement, which is an excellent innovation.
So, while much of what I have written should be provided by any good b&b, or small hotel, why did I grade it as excellent? The answer is due to the extra care demonstrated by its owner, (Beverly?) which I will 'evidence' with two quick examples: firstly, we were able to leave our car in the car park for most of the day after booking out, saving considerably inconvenience and when my mother later returned to the car and sat in it waiting for my wife and I the owner invited her back inside 'for a nice cup of tea'. Such thoughtfulness speaks volumes about the quality of the stay you can expect at Arden a House.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It was a pleasure having you all staying here. We hope to see you again in the future. Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay at Arden House, this time with a group of friends. The breakfasts are delicious and certainly set you up for the day. We enjoyed several drinks in the bar lounge before going out to a restaurant recommended by Beverley and we are looking forward to returning in the New Year. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were rather disappointed with Arden House. The reviews when we booked were good. Perhaps it was our room which let it down....4 poster bed was nice but room very small and shower room also. Sealant in shower room had seen better days and was discoloured. Breakfast was good and the honesty bar is a nice touch. Wouldn't recommend it and it isn't a budget hotel.

Room Tip: We saw room 2 which looked bigger and brighter. Wish we had gone for that instead of being attracted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay here, however we have changed the sealant straight away. It is such a shame you felt you made the wrong decision when choosing rooms as we always strive to please but cannot make people's minds up for them. Thank you for your praise towards our breakfasts for which we obtain many excellent reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Address: 69-71 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden House, a charming Harrogate Guest House,offers comfortable accommodation, free WIFI, private car park, friendly staff, lounge bar and the ideal location; with the advantage of being situated in a quiet tree-lined road just a few minutes stroll from the Harrogate Conference and Spa Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.