We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brimham Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brimham Rocks

Brimham Rocks
Summerbridge, Harrogate HG3 4DW, England
+44 1423 780688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 67 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An amazing collection of weird and wonderful rock formations: a great day out for families, climbers and those who love the outdoors.
Verona, Italia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brimham Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you happen to be in Yorkshire and you want to get out of the cities into the wilds of the Dales a magical place to visit is Brimham Rocks, set to the north of Harrogate, the gateway to the Dales themselves.

The Rocks are amazing formations that look as though some gigantic hand has set them down in the middle of the rather stark moorland landscape, and they all have strange shapes, some of which have been given names such as "The Anvil" or "The Eagle" but you might like to give your own names to others.

This is the perfect place to gather your thoughts, go for a walk, scramble over the rocks themselves or simply sit and admire the stunning views of Yorkshire that you can see here. On a clear day even the spire of York Minster is visible.

Brimham Rocks is a National Trust site and this means that the place is well maintained but not over commercialized.

If you want to go back to the town it is a stone's throw away from Harrogate, Ripon or Pately Bridge and other nearby places that are well worth a visit are Fountain's Abbey and Ripley Castle, which also has an excellent pub.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    214
    27
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brimham rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

About half an hour frpm Harrogate, we went to Briham rocks for a stroll for the final 2 hours of the day when the sun was going down. It was lovely looking out onto the dales and clambering on the rocks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I first visited here in 1971 quite by chance, we spent a long hot summers day exploring this unique place. I've been back many times since and am still staggered that this amazing feature is here , so close to civilization. We have just visited here again, doing the circular walk from Pately Bridge (about 9 miles see www.visitnidderdaleaonb.com). I think this is a must do before you die

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing, beautifull and fun :) a great day out for all ages! The scientific info in the house is intresting or you can scrabble over the rocks or buy an ice cream and wander arround in the sunshine :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you ever liked climbing about in parks and playgrounds when you were little, this is the place to come! £5 for the car park if you stay for 3 hours or more(take change for the pay and display), but entrance is free so is good value if there's a car full of you. We had a lovely sunny weekend when we visited and the views were spectacular. We visited as a couple, but there were lots of families having fun as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brimham Rocks also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Brimham Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brimham Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.