We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirabelle Restaurant

Mirabelle Restaurant
28a Swan Road | Near Conference Centre and Most Hotels, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
+44 1423 565551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 360 Restaurants in Harrogate
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are now open sunday!! 12-5Pm
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Mirabelle was a very nice restaurant. We had a large party dining and the service was really good for such a large group. It was very nice eating a French meal with a little British flair. Most of us in the group had been to France and we all thought the food at Mirabelle's was just as good as any French restaurant. The portions were not as large as a traditional English meal and were a little on the small side (just like the French). The restaurant itself is a little small, but that added to the ambiance of the place. This is the perfect place to go for a "date night" with the spouse.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    74
    23
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Oh la la!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are currently enjoying the voyage of discovery of Harrogate restaurants having moved here recently, and you, dear Trip Advisors, are guiding our bookings.
Well - what a pleasant contrast to the disappointment of Bed last week. Mirabelle was fairly quiet being mid week - but that's fine, it is a lovely space, and you can hardly mark a restaurant down for being quiet! To us, ambience is about the decor, the music, the 'smell' of the place.
Much as I love Louis Armstrong though, we were there for the food, and here Mirabelle really shone. This is the menu of an accomplished and confident chef. This is not just unexceptional cooking, as Bed was, this is proper cheffery. Food that excites, repeatedly elicits appreciative 'Oooooo' noises and makes you chuckle.
Chestnut and cranberry bread - a first for me but a sign of things to come. We shared a starter and main not being big eaters. The smoked salmon, celeriac remoulade, horseradish and beetroot ice cream (yes really) sounds bonkers but was divine. An extraordinary combination of textures and flavours. This was followed by the best piece of filet steak we have had for a long time with a blue cheese sauce that could make Yorkshiremen weep with joy.
The chocolate fondant was utter filthy indulgent puddingtastic naughtiness. Presentation was clean and sharp. The menu is large and there is plenty of variety, including daily specials and a price fixe option.
We cannot wait to go back. This is the yardstick against which other restaurants must measure up. I know it sounds like we've got shares in Mirabelle but we haven't - honest!! It really was an outstanding culinary experience. Bravo.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful food & great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband, brother & sister-in-law were in Harrogate for a trip down memory lane & Mirabelle is just around the corner from where we used to live. We arrived early but Tom was very welcoming, providing us with drinks while we looked at the menu. I was spoilt for choice & have promised myself another visit (or 2) to try some of the other offerings. Our starters were tasty & well seasoned, with my sister-in-law especially enthusiastic about her scallops. My main course of turbot was delicious & light, but the stars on the plate were the little crab cakes! I could have eaten a plateful! The atmosphere & service were excellent - relaxed but attentive, & although we knew the table was needed for 8.30, there was no feeling of being rushed. We all thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Tom - I apologise if we were a little noisy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had heard good things about this one, and the menu looked promising, but it failed to shine. We were there on a Friday night, but the place was very quiet. Even so, the service was poor: they meant well, but just needed more training. The wine was served without the opportunity to test it, and at the end I’m not convinced we’d emptied the bottle before it was whipped away. In between, the food was no more than okay-ish. I had the pigeon starter, and a rabbit main. In both cases the meat was fine, but the supporting aspects – vegetables, sauce etc, was unloved. I’m always curious to see what bread restaurants offer, and this was curious indeed: more a lump of cake, best avoided.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD - DISAPPOINTING SERVICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked in for lunch on the basis of excellent tripadvisor reviews. Even though we'd booked we got off to a bad start, when staff looked shocked to see us, and didn't think to ask if we had made a reservation. Restaurant was very quiet for a Friday lunchtime, and as such didn't have much ambiance. Quality of food was generally good, and good value @ £13.95 for 2 courses. Service throughout was a little amateur.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirabelle Restaurant also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mirabelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirabelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.