We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The St George Hotel to your Saves list
The St George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
MILNTHORPE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The perfect venue for a relaxing break. I stayed here with my husband for a 3 night break. It was very reasonably priced - the price including breakfast and an evening meal. All the staff were extremely friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: We slept at the back of the hotel and could not fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review I'm so pleased you had a nice relaxing break with us. I will make sure the staff get to see your kind comments. I hope you choose to visit us again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    233
    130
    86
    78
See reviews for
91
301
48
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with 7 friends. It cost us £119 each for bed, breakfast and a 3 course evening meal on both nights. All of us enjoyed our stay as the beds were really comfy and the hotel is old but has lots of charm and character and is ideally situated within the centre facing
the historic theatre building. Not far from the famous Bettys Tearoon which is a must for a visit or the shopping centre for the ladies!

The bedrooms are roomy and nice.

There is a small gym, pool, etc which is accessible to residents staying at the hotel with a jacuzzi. The meals were very nice with a selection for each course and a good choice at breakfast. The staff were pleasant and helpful and I would recommend a visit,

Room Tip: Our room was 227 and faced the theatre, there was a little noise from late night drinkers as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of the St. George, I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction and enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. If you are planning to return to Harrogate I hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was taken here for my birthday. Though it is not the place i would have initially chosen, it did slowly grow on me.
Our room was quite nice, though a little dark and the radiator made a extremely loud banging noise when it was one (this happened at 2 in the morning).
The spa area though was very nice, but there was no staff around so we had to figure things out for our self.
Breakfast was okay, though the staff were not very helpful and did not tell us we could order from a special menu.
The atmosphere was nice, though being 22 i was a little young for the typical clientele.
Though i probably would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review I am pleased you liked your room, the spa and the atmosphere. I am sorry about the noise from your radiator, it was caused by air in the central heating system which has since been dealt with. I am surprised you couldn’t find anyone to help you in the spa as it is fully staffed, there is always a manager on duty in the restaurant to explain the dining arrangements. I hope you choose to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in February and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the premium room, the helpfulness of the friendly staff and the really good food. The additional items at breakfast ie kippers, smoke salmon etc were without charge.
Car parking is extra (always irritating) but at least you are given a named place for your stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. The up-grade rooms are indeed worth a small supplement to add a bit of luxury to your holiday.
The buffet breakfast is popular with guests and chef is always pleased to hear we have received compliments regarding his food.
The car parking is just £5 a day which is a much cheaper option that the multi storey and pay and display areas, and of course the space is then guaranteed for your whole stay.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Edwina Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for one night and found the location of this hotel excellent. Near shops, restaurants and bars without being too noisy. Our room was located on the second floor overlooking the car park and was very quiet. The room itself was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable with nice white linen. The bathroom could do with an update but there was plenty of hot water and nice fluffy towels and toiletries. The staff were very helpful and always had a welcoming smile. The breakfast was good with fresh fruit, yoghurt and of course the usual cooked options. The coffee was also very nice and very hot. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the car park was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to post your opinions. I will pass on your comments to the staff and hope you come and stay again soon.
Kind Regards
Edwina Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 4 - 8 March 2013. Harrogate is a really lovely city and I am sure much better appreciated in the summer when it is warm and dry. The hotel is well situated near the city centre and is well served by the busy bus route.

Our reception was well received but I was not impressed with the car parking arrangements (or the £5.00 a day for the priviledge). The space I had reserved was taken up with a guest's car who had apparently gone to hospital. \i did find a place in the very crowded car park and there my vehicle stayed.

The hotel is a fine old building lovely and warm and most of the staff were quite friendly. It is in need of some TLC but I believe this is in hand on the first floor?

We got to our room 221 and at first thought it was really clean and fresh. That was until I lifted the toilet seat and found that the chain had not been pulled. Disgusting. The duty manager came up and we were moved top Room 203. This was clean. It was however on the main road and the traffic noise from 0530 was a nuisance.

The food was very good and all of the restaurant staff (with the exception of one Maitre d') were pleasant, helpful and attentive. They were all very professional.

The hotel has a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. We used all ofn the facilities and they were excellent as were the staff.

The drinks were very expensive but this was a little offset by our package deal. I also thought the rooms for non package guests were very expensive £144.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if the weather had been better it would have been even more pleasant. There is a wealth of walks and he bus/train service from the city centre makes for easy sightseeing. We did Ripon, Knaresborough, Leeds and York with outer trips included. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road as it is very noisy from early morning and late evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and saw all the positive sides of the hotel even after the problem you had with the car park and room 221. I am glad you made the most of the facilities in the hotel and the surrounding area. I will pass your kind comments about the staff on to them.
Kind regards,
Edwina Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCUNTHORPE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just arrived home from lovely break at the St. George which was really good value. The food was very good and the staff in the restaurant were excellent. we will definitely return in the future.We got a room on the third floor and it helped with the noise outside at night. The pool and gym looked good too but we did'nt need them as we were lucky with the weather. Fortunately we had booked the car park. We felt the guests would benefit from indication signs to the stairs on the corridors. We also got a good deal at another Coast and Country Hotel by booking whilst there and receiving a 30% discount which was excellent.

Room Tip: Preferably not at the front and on the third floor for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, It,s great to see how much you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team. I hope you have a great stay at our sister hotel and come back to visit us soon.
Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.