We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Old Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Harrogate
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice but expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After visiting family in Leeds we decided to travel a few miles north to Harrogate.
Find somewhere nice to stay overnight with parking, and maybe have a few drinks and a meal in the town.
We booked a double room with breakfast and secure parking in the Old Swan as recommended by the tourist information centre.
The hotel is impressive on approach.
We paid the bill and were given our card key.
I thought the room was was very clean, what was described as a double bed looked very small and it was small for two average framed adults.
Not a comfortable bed and we both found it hard to sleep through the night.
The bathroom was also very clean but so small the door hit the side of the bath / shower on entry.
Our two tradition breakfasts were very nice with plenty of tea and coffee.
All in all the place is very clean indeed.
The staff seemed to provide a required service, but there is no humour or personality which was a shame.
The hotel may have been suitable for Agatha Christy but we were not impressed.
It is not welcoming or friendly, some guests looked like they have a nasty smell under their noses.
It was somewhere to try to sleep / shower and eat breakfast.
It was no more and not worth £118 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to write your review and I apologise that we did not quite meet your expectation. Our team all work very hard however we do encourage them to express their own characters during service - sorry this was not your experience.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    269
    163
    77
    56
See reviews for
86
414
15
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a decent stay here, yes room can be noisy, ironically we were woken up by the hotel staff walking past the room at 0600 in the morning on their walkie talkie radios. The hotel is tired and does need a refurb - including the bar area. The restaurant was great for breakfast, fantastic huge restaurant with a glass mural ceiling. They catered well for the volume of guests coming in to eat at the same time. Over all it is what it is an old hotel past its prime with character that does need a refurb, but have to say did not spoil the weekend at all but would probably try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Higher floors due to it being a wedding venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your review and I am sorry that your visit was not entirely satisfactory. We are continually maintaining and redecorating the hotel, investing where we can afford to and I apologise that you felt this was not the case.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. The rooms were nice but must admit it was very not during our stay and due to security windows only opened a fraction so rooms very hot. Staff were helpful and pleasant if you asked any questions.
Food at this hotel was excellent well presented, hot and enjoyed every meal.
The hotel itself has lovely gardens and near the town.
Looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Ask if you can easily open the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your positive review and we hope you come back again soon
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice comfortable, quiet room. Friendly staff with good service.
Afternoon tea included excellent selection of sandwiches, cakes, cream tea, tea or coffee and glass of prosecco!
Excellent food at dinner with good choice from table d'hôte menu or cash equivalent from a la carte. Full English breakfast freshly cooked ( not the usual buffet )
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and drink - Afternoon tea is a personal favourite!
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked a night here via laterooms for a reduced rate of £126 for Saturday 31st August.

We checked in and entered room 382, a (very small) standard double room. Very quickly we realised this room was too noisy - microphone noise and music from the wedding reception directly below us meant that we rang reception requesting a move. They were very helpful and relocated us to room 166, which as it turns out is a suite. So far so good, of sorts......

As soon as we arrived at room 166 we were concerned with the location. It is right next to the lift doors and the top of the stairs - i.e. anyone going back to their room on the first floor has to walk past room 166.

We gave it the benefit of the doubt, went out for a meal and a drink, came back and watched a film etc. Even when watching the film we could hear constant noise. It is no exaggeration to say that in room 166 you can hear pretty much every mechanical noise the (dated old) lift makes. That coupled with people passing the room constantly meant an awful night's sleep. By that time we were too tired to request another move - and to be fair should one have to move rooms twice in a "four star" hotel?!

We're amazed that they have located a suite in that position. The fact that it was empty on a Saturday night would suggest that they have had similar issues with that room in the past - which begs the question why move us into that room?

I am afraid our stay was ruined and we will certainly never returning there again.

My advice to anyone staying there is avoid Saturdays, as it seems that reading other reviews that weddings do seem to be he main priority. Also if you are given room 382 or 166 on a Saturday, refuse to accept the room, especially if you have paid for the latter at suite rate!

Harrogate is a lovely place and next time we'll choose a more modern hotel. Lesson learned......

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 166 and 382
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for posting your review and as I have expressed in our correspondence I apologise that your stay was disrupted due to noise. The hotel is busy at weekends, particularly in the summer and yes we are a popular wedding venue however we understand our responsibility to all guests and do try to manage these situations best we can.
Apologies once more
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Old Swan may be something of an institution in Harrogate, but it really could do better.

We stayed for three nights in August 2013 to visit Harrogate (which is great) and attend a wedding a few miles away. Our room was adequate in size, but had no outlook and getting to it involved walking for what seemed like miles. It was not possible to open the window properly and the room was hot. The bathroom was reasonably modern, but the housekeeping was clearly inadequate as water only just slowly drained out of the basin. No free Wifi was available in the bedrooms.

The carpets were not very clean and the unatractive twenty or thirty year-old brown furniture was in need of replacement. Outside, the car park and back garden resembled a bomb site.

Breakfast was not good with little fresh fruit, no proper muesli and tepid cooked food with flaccid sausages.

All in all this grand old lady was a disappointment and needs to buck up its ideas to bring it into the 21st century.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view and that you do not have to walk for miles to get to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for posting your comments, apologies we didn't get things right on this occasion and I hope that you'll give us another try at some stage in the future.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

After getting what seemed like an absolute bargain deal online, we stayed here for one night just to get away for a weekend. The hotel looked really impressive and we thought we were in for a real treat. Once inside everywhere just seemed really tired and like it could do with a sprucing up. The room was big with lovely high ceilings and a great bathroom, but it just all seemed a bit grubby and there were things like crumbs left behind from the last guests and it just generally didn't seem very clean. There was a lot of noise coming from the corridors all night, and the creaking floorboards from the upstairs room where really loud too.
The food was okay at best. The dinner options included were limited and the portions small, you could pay a supplement to choose something else from the menu but we chose not. Service was fast and the food was tasty, there just wasn't much of it! Breakfast was poor though, do not pay for this if it isn't included. Its extremely expensive for the little amount you get, the toast was freezing cold and for the last hour they don't seem to top things like the fruit or Danish pastries up, so if you go towards the end of the sitting you have very little choice.
The bar had very little atmosphere, a wedding was on in another room but you could still here the music - this did liven up the bar a bit so it was actually welcome noise.
All in all it was a good deal we got, but it wouldn't tempt me to stay again. The hotel obviously trades on its links to Agatha Christie but I think it needs to concentrate more on the current than in the past, and start with a bloody good clean!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback, I am sorry your stay was not satisfactory on this occasion.
I have noted your comments and will review them with the management team in order that we can improve standards and attention to detail.
Apologies once more
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#13 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Swan Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate’s oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and 175 FREE car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.