We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow breakfast service and exensive wi-fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Old Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Slow breakfast service and exensive wi-fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was nicely furnished and generally clean, although the carpet could have done with more vacuuming in places. Pillows were rather unyielding too.
Service in the dining room on Monday morning was very slow - took 30 minutes for my breakfast order was taken and arrived. Better the next day.
Had dinner on the Sunday evening. The food was surprisingly tasty - lovely roast beef dinner and chocolate mousse.
I think that £10 for 24 hours of wi-fi is expensive.
Not sure if I'd stay here next time I come to Harrogate though, it is not quite as nice as I'd remembered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    293
    199
    102
    63
See reviews for
100
469
22
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed over for a wedding everything great food, room ok if a little cold bathroom good. Bar service hopeless. The wedding must have had 120 to 150 guests and the lounge bar had one waiter behind the bar resulting in 20 minutes to get a drink. This is not the fault of the staff who are behind the bar but the management. This carried on into the evening with a number of guests complaining about the bar service again the staff who worked behind the bar on the afternoon and night worked hard they just needed to be more of them.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed on a two night winter break package. Hotel is charming and very quiet and near the town centre. Our room was large as was the bathroom but the shower was over the bath. Lots of choice at breakfast. Evening meal was varied and was very well presented and enjoyable. The staff were friendly. We enjoyed our stay here. Two suggestions would be that there should be free Wifi and that the pillows should be replaced (ours were very uncomfortable).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

On arrival, we checked in with no problem and booked to eat in the hotel restaurant. After unpacking in our top floor stifling hot bedroom we opted to have a drink in the bar prior to dinner. Fine. We then went in for dinner...just imagine Mrs Overall from Acorn antiques serving you and you are somewhere close to our experience.The meal was average. The wine expensive.
The history of the hotel does give it charm, but not enough for us to return there if we visit harrogate again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed on two night winter break. Hotel is comfortable and quiet and very convenient for town centre. Room and bathroom were large though a little dated. Staff were extremely friendly and courteous. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order (no" keep warm" buffet here) and the dinner menu was varied and of good quality.
An enjoyable experience - just two suggestions for improvement. Wifi should be included and the wine list should include some reasonably priced house selections in addition to the current extremely highly priced offerings

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This review has been delayed while we waited for a partial refund for our far from satisfactory Christmas stay at the Old Swan. After doing our research we opted for this charming town and a hotel with real history. The Agatha Christie link and the building itself is fascinating - and worth a visit for a meal or even an overnight stay. We were promised a special Christmas break and a series of events that could have easily been avoided ensured that this was not the case. We asked for refund that would drop us from the charge of the top package to the middle one and after 2 months + this was sorted [=less that 10% of the original cost.] Our issues ranged from Christmas eve afternoon tea with mulled wine - that had no tea - we would have to pay £3.50 per head should we want tea, to an evening meal that started with starters at 7.30 and then nothing until 8.20pm which was then rushed out to us with watery and uninspiring veg [ we had been asked to choose our meals for the packagequite some time before arriving - not the best arrangement as how do you know what you will be wanting for 3 day's menues?] The food generally was of a very pleasing standard but unimaginative. Unimaginative summed up the Christmas arrangements too- little thought being given to ensuring guests - should they wish - to engage with other guests.
Our suite comprised of a somberly decorated, draughty room with a good bathroom and a largely empty sitting area in another room with one Xmas tree as 'decorations'. There were no drawers to put clothing and an old wardrobe to hang clothes [we'd brought some extra hangers...] The promised special champagne hamper had prosecco, nuts, dried apricots, sweets and shortbread.
The Christmas before we'd been at the wonderful Waterhead Hotel in the Lakes and paid about the same price. Here we felt valued and had a truly imaginative Christmassy experience - relustantly leaving our fellow quests and luxury accommodation. On Xmas eve the Old Swan hearded us into a Carol concert - meant to be drinks reception with carols - we stood at the back of a cramped room for about 30 mins. Immediatly after in the dining area was a very good brass band - with carols, we felt sorry for them, [people were 'carolled ou't and no one acted as compere so they played to little resonse and left] The quiz found us working as a couple [why not give the opportunity for teams - if people wanted?] only to mark someone else's answers and then to be told the winner would be announced the next day - why?
The best thing about the break was Boxing day at Wetherby - taxis and entrances as part of our package. Even then, the events' organiser warned us during our only converstion with her, that any refund due to inclement weather would only be sent after the hotel has reclaimed it from the race course!
With the right management - and some empathetic and thoughtful planning, this could be a wonderful events venue. It's a good job my husband and I get on so well - a sociable pair, we talked pretty much exclusively to each other during these 4 days [we arrived a day early to a lot of noise due to a wedding and family Xmas event only to be informed the earliest we could have a meal was 8.30pm - we went to the excellent nearby Studley Hotel] This was the first time I've been to a hotel where management seemed to prevent interaction between guests - even the chairs in the lounge and tables in dining rooms were angled away from others. A coach party, sitting 'in the round' had, in contrast, a wonderful and animated time.
The staff - especially the manager of the dining room were lovely. However after having looked forward to this event at the end of a difficult year we were truly disappointed and the less than £100 refund finally negotiated was scant recompense. A real missed opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

full of old world charm, all staff very pleasant,the restaurant,offers a good choice for a hotel,however we had booked under a "virgin experience"voucher which prooved very expensive,compared to what it would have been booking direct,with the hotel,the voucher only lets you choose from the daily meals which are reasonably priced at £24.50 not the a la carte,but the vocher cost is much more than aven with wine included

Room Tip: get the executive rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#13 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.