We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Window to a brick wall!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grants Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grants Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grants Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 - 11 Swan Rd, Harrogate HG1 2SS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Window to a brick wall!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for my birthday weekend away and were directed to our room (we paid for a luxury double) when we arrived. I had my reservations when I was told to press the minus 1 button in the lift.......the basement. The first thing we noticed was the window faced a brick wall - not what I would call luxury! The bed was around 14 inches from the floor so even at just 31 years of age it was an effort to get in the bed. We went to reception and pointed this out (the window being the main issue) to be told there were no other rooms available. This was until we told the receptionist we were there for 2 nights and suddenly one was free? Odd.

The second room we were in however was lovely! The bathroom was dated as it was the lovely avocado colour from way back when. This wasn't an issue though as the shower totally made up for this. If only we had been put in this room initially!

Breakfast was spot on and the staff were friendly apart from one comment by someone saying "well the view isn't to everyones taste" - how is a brick wall to ANYONES taste!? It was Yorkshire stone but still......

I wouldn't stay here next time we're in Harrogate though as while we were there we found other hotels which were in a more centralised area and at a slightly better or the same price.

This hotel I would say is more a guest house than hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback.

The room you were originally directed to was done out by an interior design company who created a lovely luxury room. With its big window front the room is bright although situated in the basement. We do understand that the brick wall in front of the window bothered you and we admit we have rooms with a much nicer view as the second room you were put in.

The low bed is a tricky gem in that room and we are currently looking into solutions of keeping the luxury look of the bed but making it more suitable for a hotel room and guest of all ages.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your second room and we are sorry we did not allocate that room to you in the first place.

When you are next in the area please give us a call and request the second room and we will do our best to provide you with a great experience from the very start of your stay.

Regards

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    67
    42
    30
    12
See reviews for
8
104
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had the privilege of being in Harrogate for the Le Tour and Grants was the perfect place to have as a base. Very friendly and helpful staff were welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts great with a wide variety of choice. Nice terrace to have a drink on.
Location makes everything walkable bus/rail station and the shops and restaurant with the Montpellier district v.close

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We were happy to be able to share this great experience of the Tour de France being in Harrogate and riding by so close to the hotel with you. It was a great time to experience Harrogate and our lovely little hotel so close to the centre including restaurants, shops and public transportation.

The whole team was happy to read your feedback and it gave us an extra buzz.
Thanks to nice weather in the last few weeks our terrace gets used till late nights and as you experienced it is a great sun trap to have a couple of drinks on.

We hope to see you soon again although the next ‘Tour de Yorkshire’ is unlikely to come soon.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I spent 3 days in Harrogate and I chose to stay at Grants Hotel: I am glad I chose it. Staff very professional; hotel very central and in a quiet area. Very clean. There would not be another place to stay if I went back to Harrogate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Your lovely comments gave us all a great boost of motivation. We were happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including staff, cleanliness and location and we hope that you will be in the area soon again.

We will see you then at Grants Hotel

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

When we arrived discovered lift was broken, central reservations had not told grants that my husband used an electric wheelchair., He managed the stairs with difficulty the first night and next day we were moved to a downstairs room. Lucie was very helpful and sorted problem out for us,the rooms need updating but are clean and comfortable,breakfast was excellent and cooked to order.We thank Lucie and Elaine for making our stay enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Especially Lucie and Elaine were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, although it started out with some complications due to internal communication problems. We again sincerely apologise for this inconvenience caused.

We pride ourselves in our comfortable rooms for a relaxed stay and a good night sleep.
And also our fresh cooked to order breakfast with a wide variety to choose from is always a great plus. And our chef was happy to read “best breakfast”.
He is already looking forward to cooking for you again when you are next in the area and also the rest of the team is looking forward to welcoming you at Grants Hotel again.

Regards

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albrighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The young lady at the Hotel reception on arrival made me very welcome and showed me where to park. It was almost 10pm when I arrived and the main car park was full. The rooms are clean but very dated and there were no tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room. Had a soft drink in the bar to relax before going to bed. Breakfast cooked to order with a reasonable choice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed a warm and helpful welcome at Grants Hotel. As you have experienced we provide alternatives for parking when our own car park is full including discs or permits as needed.

There are tea and coffee making facilities in every room but due to cleanliness we keep them in the dressers and desks. Next time you are staying with us just contact a member of staff and we will sure be able to show you were to find tea, coffee and a nice biscuit to relax in your room.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here on the 14th for a romantic weekend away. When we got booked in with a lovely warm welcome and was given our room. We were shocked at how tiny the room was! it was modern and clean however there wasn't any room! the bed wasn't the comfiest and the pillows were flat and hard. I was genuinely shocked at how little and dated the bathroom was there was an old olive green corner shower cubical that had definitely seen better days.
We stayed at the holiday in for half the price round the corner and much preferred it.
At 11:30/00.00 the kitchens emptied the bottle bin just outside our window and again around 6ish.
Disappointing over all but i guess you pay for location as it is on a lovely street minutes from town. can;t say we would be back as i dont believe it is great value for money!

Room Tip: don't get a room above the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you kindly for your constructive feedback.

Our location really is a great advantage for everybody no matter if here for a getaway as a couple so close to romantic restaurants, for business just around the corner from the conference centre or for a nice shopping trip as everything is within walking distance.

We were genuinely surprised by your comment on the comfort level of the bed. We pride ourselves in comfortable beds for a good night sleep and we take this very seriously. Our housekeeping team has immediately exchanged the pillows and making sure that no future guest will have to experience flat pillows.

Please except our sincere apologies as our goal always is to exceed customer expectations. We hope we will have the opportunity of restoring your faith at some point in the future.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Please dont ruin your stay in Harrogate by staying in this hotel , arrived friendly welcome we stayed sat 7 june 2014 . booked in at 4pm and was given keys to a four poster bedroom , first thing that stood out was that it was DIRTY where do l start well here goes the canopy above the bed was sinking hubby had a quick look and there was about 2 inches of thick dust , HAIRS of all TYPES in and around shower hanging off shower and shelf and in plug hole , l stoped looking after that l got dressed and went to complain .

AT reception l spoke to a member of staff she was very understanding , explained that there w as staffing problems with the cleaning , we where offered a nother room with poppies in it , It was slighly better it was slightly cleaner but still was in need of a BLOODY GOOD CLEAN .Down stairs is beautiful clean and modern upstairs has been forgotten about since the dark ages DO HAVE PHOTO'S TO BACK ALL THIS UP

Room Tip: can't think of any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced

We were genuinely most concerned with regard to your comments on cleanliness as this is an area we generally excel at. Our housekeeper and her team who are ordinarily excellent are extremely concerned and obviously taking the necessary action as we do really care .As you raised the issue at the time, we amended your account accordingly as a way of trying to restore your faith and hoping you may wish to experience the standards of which we are capable and proud. I am sorry you felt the need to recommend other guests not to stay.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grants Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grants Hotel

Address: 3 - 11 Swan Rd, Harrogate HG1 2SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grants Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grants Hotel is a lovely little hotel situated on a quiet leafy road right in the centre of the beautiful spa town of Harrogate. With great care and attention to detail we strive to create a home-away-from-home for each of our guests. With FREE WiFi you can also bring your office with you and keep connected while you put your feet up. Here at Grants we are delighted to look after your every need while staying with us. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grants Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grants Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grants Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.