We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base in Harrogate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grants Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grants Hotel to your Saves list
Grants Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 - 11 Swan Rd, Harrogate HG1 2SS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great base in Harrogate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had the privilege of being in Harrogate for the Le Tour and Grants was the perfect place to have as a base. Very friendly and helpful staff were welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts great with a wide variety of choice. Nice terrace to have a drink on.
Location makes everything walkable bus/rail station and the shops and restaurant with the Montpellier district v.close

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We were happy to be able to share this great experience of the Tour de France being in Harrogate and riding by so close to the hotel with you. It was a great time to experience Harrogate and our lovely little hotel so close to the centre including restaurants, shops and public transportation.

The whole team was happy to read your feedback and it gave us an extra buzz.
Thanks to nice weather in the last few weeks our terrace gets used till late nights and as you experienced it is a great sun trap to have a couple of drinks on.

We hope to see you soon again although the next ‘Tour de Yorkshire’ is unlikely to come soon.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    74
    44
    31
    13
See reviews for
8
111
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I spent 3 days in Harrogate and I chose to stay at Grants Hotel: I am glad I chose it. Staff very professional; hotel very central and in a quiet area. Very clean. There would not be another place to stay if I went back to Harrogate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Your lovely comments gave us all a great boost of motivation. We were happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including staff, cleanliness and location and we hope that you will be in the area soon again.

We will see you then at Grants Hotel

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

When we arrived discovered lift was broken, central reservations had not told grants that my husband used an electric wheelchair., He managed the stairs with difficulty the first night and next day we were moved to a downstairs room. Lucie was very helpful and sorted problem out for us,the rooms need updating but are clean and comfortable,breakfast was excellent and cooked to order.We thank Lucie and Elaine for making our stay enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Especially Lucie and Elaine were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, although it started out with some complications due to internal communication problems. We again sincerely apologise for this inconvenience caused.

We pride ourselves in our comfortable rooms for a relaxed stay and a good night sleep.
And also our fresh cooked to order breakfast with a wide variety to choose from is always a great plus. And our chef was happy to read “best breakfast”.
He is already looking forward to cooking for you again when you are next in the area and also the rest of the team is looking forward to welcoming you at Grants Hotel again.

Regards

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albrighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The young lady at the Hotel reception on arrival made me very welcome and showed me where to park. It was almost 10pm when I arrived and the main car park was full. The rooms are clean but very dated and there were no tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room. Had a soft drink in the bar to relax before going to bed. Breakfast cooked to order with a reasonable choice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed a warm and helpful welcome at Grants Hotel. As you have experienced we provide alternatives for parking when our own car park is full including discs or permits as needed.

There are tea and coffee making facilities in every room but due to cleanliness we keep them in the dressers and desks. Next time you are staying with us just contact a member of staff and we will sure be able to show you were to find tea, coffee and a nice biscuit to relax in your room.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here on the 14th for a romantic weekend away. When we got booked in with a lovely warm welcome and was given our room. We were shocked at how tiny the room was! it was modern and clean however there wasn't any room! the bed wasn't the comfiest and the pillows were flat and hard. I was genuinely shocked at how little and dated the bathroom was there was an old olive green corner shower cubical that had definitely seen better days.
We stayed at the holiday in for half the price round the corner and much preferred it.
At 11:30/00.00 the kitchens emptied the bottle bin just outside our window and again around 6ish.
Disappointing over all but i guess you pay for location as it is on a lovely street minutes from town. can;t say we would be back as i dont believe it is great value for money!

Room Tip: don't get a room above the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you kindly for your constructive feedback.

Our location really is a great advantage for everybody no matter if here for a getaway as a couple so close to romantic restaurants, for business just around the corner from the conference centre or for a nice shopping trip as everything is within walking distance.

We were genuinely surprised by your comment on the comfort level of the bed. We pride ourselves in comfortable beds for a good night sleep and we take this very seriously. Our housekeeping team has immediately exchanged the pillows and making sure that no future guest will have to experience flat pillows.

Please except our sincere apologies as our goal always is to exceed customer expectations. We hope we will have the opportunity of restoring your faith at some point in the future.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Please dont ruin your stay in Harrogate by staying in this hotel , arrived friendly welcome we stayed sat 7 june 2014 . booked in at 4pm and was given keys to a four poster bedroom , first thing that stood out was that it was DIRTY where do l start well here goes the canopy above the bed was sinking hubby had a quick look and there was about 2 inches of thick dust , HAIRS of all TYPES in and around shower hanging off shower and shelf and in plug hole , l stoped looking after that l got dressed and went to complain .

AT reception l spoke to a member of staff she was very understanding , explained that there w as staffing problems with the cleaning , we where offered a nother room with poppies in it , It was slighly better it was slightly cleaner but still was in need of a BLOODY GOOD CLEAN .Down stairs is beautiful clean and modern upstairs has been forgotten about since the dark ages DO HAVE PHOTO'S TO BACK ALL THIS UP

Room Tip: can't think of any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced

We were genuinely most concerned with regard to your comments on cleanliness as this is an area we generally excel at. Our housekeeper and her team who are ordinarily excellent are extremely concerned and obviously taking the necessary action as we do really care .As you raised the issue at the time, we amended your account accordingly as a way of trying to restore your faith and hoping you may wish to experience the standards of which we are capable and proud. I am sorry you felt the need to recommend other guests not to stay.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent location, parking was a bit of a problem as the car park is very small but on-street parking is also available. The hotel accommodation is a little jaded and bathroom looking very tired but was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with quite a large selection of cooked and continental, but we were sad to see the restaurant has been turned into further bedrooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has reduced in size since my last visit as a large chunk has been sold for housing; it would be a shame if the rest of the building was sold and this little gem was lost!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Grants-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grants Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you kindly for your feedback. The whole team was happy to read your review.
We were glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our “little gem” including our lovely freshly cooked to order breakfast and our large selection on our continental buffet.

As you were able to tell the hotel went and is going through a few changes. We have reduced size but there are so many great restaurants within a very short walking distance that would otherwise be missed out. We are also still going through a soft refurbishment programme so also the rooms will see some change and quite a few already have their new face.
The whole team will make sure this hotel will stay a (now smaller) gem.

We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grants Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grants Hotel

Address: 3 - 11 Swan Rd, Harrogate HG1 2SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grants Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grants Hotel is a lovely little hotel situated on a quiet leafy road right in the centre of the beautiful spa town of Harrogate. With great care and attention to detail we strive to create a home-away-from-home for each of our guests. With FREE WiFi you can also bring your office with you and keep connected while you put your feet up. Here at Grants we are delighted to look after your every need while staying with us. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grants Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grants Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grants Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.