We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good quality B&B situated next to Valley Gardens in Harrrogate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dales Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Dales Guest House to your Saves list
The Dales Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dales Guest House
101 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reading
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really good quality B&B situated next to Valley Gardens in Harrrogate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I booked this place based on a solid amount of great reviews- I was not disappointed. The Dales is a more traditional B&B but nonetheless charming and very well presented. The building itself is a large townhouse (3 stories?) with a large communal lounge and a few rooms on each floor.

It is located on a quiet residential street opposite the Valley Gardens/ Park which is well worth a walk through for the incredibly varied and well maintained plants.

I was greeted by the extremely pleasant proprietor (I apologise, I don't know her name), where I was given a brief tour and shown to my room. The room was a nice mix of old style (Large with high ceilings and traditional features) with clean tidy and modern decor. Everything was extremely clean with all the facilities that you need - Flat screen modern TV, ensuite WC & shower (very new), super comfy bed and a great nights sleep.

Parking is outside the property on the road but there was ample spaces nearby and you would require a permit (provided free by B&B) if you are parking between 9am-6pm.

Breakfast I might add, was some of the finest scrambled eggs I have ever eaten. I would definately return as while this B&B was not 'showing off' with a theme or fancy twists it's owners clearly have gotten this place just right.

Room Tip: Great pub food at the Old Bell Tavern (5 min walk)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
32
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We spent 11 nights at the Dales during a recent visit to Harrogate. The owners could not have been nicer. There was always someone there to help with questions or requests. The breakfasts were delicious, our large room overlooked the Gardens and it was an easy walk to the center of town, as well as the train station. Perfect place for us to stay.

Room Tip: Our room (no 3) was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

stayed easter saturday, arrived early wasent a problem owner let us take luggage to the room ,even though room hadnt been cleaned ,sorted car parkin was really helpful .Place was really clean comfy bed ,fluffy towels and a huge excellent breakfast . The drinks were reasonable in the honesty bar with plenty of choice. Would defo stay again, thanks Dales guesthouse x

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed at the Dales for two nights in February. The room was light and spacious, with loads of storage space which would make it perfect for a longer stay. We were pleased to be able to check in when we arrived early at 11am (we only knocked on the door to find out about car parking - they have guest permits for on-street parking right outside) and found the room lovely and clean and there were plenty of towels, toiletries, etc. The guest house is opposite a park and lovely and quiet, yet only a five minute stroll into town. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and big portions on the full English. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Have stayed at The Dales on several occasions over the past few years. Rooms, linen and bathrooms - spotless, pillows - superb, free wifi for business travellers, breakfast - lots of it, very freshly cooked, and in a lovely quiet area just 5 minutes from the town centre yet perfect for a peaceful kip/stay. Thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I arrived in Harrogate intending to stay at another venue but they were full so after a bit of research decided to stay at The Dales. The welcome was second to none and it was refreshing to be offered assistance with my luggage. The room I was shown to, room 2, was light, airy and very clean. The standard of decor and fittings were excellent and the facilities in the room were very good. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was of excellent quality. The rooms had a plentiful supply of tea and coffee. The shower was spacious and the towels fresh and soft, although a larger bath towel as standard would have been welcome. The breakfast was good, I chose to eat a continental style meal and was pleased to see a good selection of cereals as well as porridge, prunes and grapefruit segments. The service was friendly during my visit and my requests were handled promptly and to my satisfaction. The free wifi was appreciated. An excellent location for the centre of town, a leisurely 15 minute walk yet far enough away to feel in suburbia. An enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable venue which resulted in a relaxing break where nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights here in September and very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well presented. Dealing with three flights of stairs to our room was a minor drawback. The breakfasts were excellent and the hospitality of Chris and Roy was welcoming and helpful. The location is lovely - across from the Valley Gardens.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dales Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Guest House

Address: 101 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dales offers a warm and comfortable welcome overlooking the beautiful Valley Gardens and is only a five minute walk from the centre of Harrogate. A choice of restaurants is within walking distance and the Conference and Exhibition Centres are just a ten minute walk away, making The Dales a perfect base for business or leisure.There is ample on-street car parking for which a parking permit is provided free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Dales Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Guest House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dales Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.