We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommeded” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashley House Hotel
Save
You added Ashley House Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   36-40 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not recommeded”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were 'upgraded' to this apparently 4-star guesthouse when our planned accomodation was double booked. We arrived to find the place very dated and in need of a lick of paint, which we don't really mind as long as it's clean and comfortable... but when we got into our room there was vomit in the toliet! Not a good first impression, so we complained, and to her credit the receptionist did clean it for us. In the morning however there were people waiting for breakfast for an hour while we waited for 20 minutes just for someone to come and take our order, and when nobody did we gave up.

We were actually willing to let the vomit go as an oversight at first, but with no breakfast and lots of other minor things (including dirty glasses in the room, card machine broken, unable to find someone at reception the night before, that sort of thing) we decided to ask for our money back, stating that clean rooms and breakfast are the very minimum we could expect. However, Mrs Banks, the owner, flatly refused to offer any money back to us. She then decided she didn't want to talk to us anymore, so walked off. Horrible woman. The receptionist was lovely and very sorry, but all she could do was keep passing our messages to Mrs Banks, and kept coming back with a refusual. Eventually, after about 30 minutes, we got a £5 refund! Mrs Banks' logic was that because they cleaned the sick, there was no problem. I put it to her that it shouldn't have been there in the first place, and that if you complained to a waiter that there was a fly in your soup, him then picking it out and saying "there, nothing to complain about now" doesn't really help.

In short: don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I,m sorry you felt that way. You was staying in double room which is normally £75 and you have the special price of £45. When the receptionist come to your room to see what is the problem there was guest laid on the bed feeling ill.You explained that there is sick in the toilet and we rectified the problem straight away, if you was mentioned that you want to change your room we was happy to help you and offer you another one. When you check out we reduced the price further , i was in the middle of meeting so it was not possible to discuss with you all the matters, but we have staff capable to help you out with all questions and requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    11
    19
    44
See reviews for
7
27
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you are expecting 5 star accommodation then this will disappoint, but if you want clean surroundings, good breakfast and comfy bed then you wont be disappointed. Stayed 2 nights for husbands birthday, Room 7 which was quite large and spacious, nice and quiet good sleep, somebody had badly marked the carpet which was obviously brand new which was a shame for the owner who was chatty and hospitable. Don't go if you don;t like dogs as the owner has a beautiful dog called Cindy who is soft as butter. 10 mins from centre ideally situated so you can leave the car, parking permits available.

Room Tip: ask for room on front of hotel seem to be the larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This Hotel wasn't chosen by us (two females visiting a conference), as we were moved there because the previous hotel we were booked into had no en-suite attached to the room. On arrival the owner kindly moved her car to allow us a parking space. Good start to the stay I thought! When we arrived at the reception area, another lady was leaving due to her allergy to dogs, however this wasn't particularly an issue to us. The hotel corridors and stair wells are very dark and dismal and the door to the bedroom appeared to have been previously forced open and repaired with filler. It didn't feel very safe for a female staying in a room on her own and the doors didn't lock adequately and didn't have safety chains. The decor is definitely tired and in need of an uplift. We decided we couldn't stay there and went back to reception to return the keys. Prior to seeing the rooms we had agreed to stay 3 nights at a charge of £95 (double room) inclusive of breakfast, however when we stated we were leaving the owner declared that the organisation booking this on our behalf would be required to pay for all 3 nights. Although I can't comment on the fantastic breakfast that others have mentioned as we didn't stay there, I do believe that this B & B is expensive and overpriced in comparison to the other very nice hotels around The rooms were depressing and the bedroom had a dull, unclean, well worn saggy sofa in the corner which I would be very reluctant to sit on. This put me off the thought of sleeping in the bed. Our main concern is the standard of the accommodation compared with well known hotel chains which provide a better standard of accommodation for less money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seascale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here once a year for several years and state of decor and cleanliness has deteriorated to the point where we will not stay again. Stained wallpaper. Multiple plugs into single extension leads. Lamps missing/not working. Round bottom of shower mouldy. Alarm radio display faulty. No management on premises most of time. Staff pleasent but inadequately trained to deal with eventualities. Breakfast was best feature.

Room Tip: Look before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
I am really sorry that you felt this way.Thanks for alerting us to this. We work very hard to offer
good and a friendly service, I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we didn’t meet your expectations.If you said to us at the time of your visit we are always happy to help and give afford to fix and make you feel better. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you would like to contact me directly then please email us on sales@ashleyliving.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

enjoyable stay a bit old fashioned but comfy bed owner very nice breakfast good will go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley h, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
We are happy that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us at Ashley House. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Ashley House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lofthouse, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had a great experience staying in Harrogate, we stayed at the Ashley House Hotel on Franklin Road. After checking in we had a great night out in Harrogate and could walk back, it only took about 5 minutes to back back from the centre of town. Great when you have had a few to drink. We'll defiantly be staying here again.

I must admit we didn't eat dinner in the restaurant that night but the full English was simply amazing, just what we needed after having a night on the town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My colleague and I stayed at the Ashley House Hotel, we have stayed here for the last 4 years as we come from Germany for the Christmas Fair in the conference centre. Mrs. Banks and her staff really look after us well. Our rooms are clean, spacious and this year there was an addeed bonus of full Satellite TV. This is a huge improvement from the 5 channels we used to have. What I should mention also is the free wifi in all rooms. There is a lounge downstairs with a comfy leather couch and chair and books which guests can read. Breakfast was excellent, I mean really excellent, it is freshly cooked and was always accurate. Yes you have to wait a short time but you don't mind if it's that good. I think some people are very impatient and have obviously never cooked a full breakfast from fresh themselves, it takes some time. Our chef, Meena also sent us to the fair with a Bacon sandwich for a snack, this came without asking and was a lovely thing to do. Yes, Mrs. Banks has a big dog, Cindy.She's no trouble, she's a lovable dog and wouldn't hurt a fly, you feel very safe with her around! Yes, sometimes she'll be lying in reception but it causes no problem, most of the time she follows the owner around anyway. Regarding check in, normally they like to do this on arrival, this is because it's very difficult to cook breakfasts and check people out in the mornings, I always pay on arrival then it's done and out of the way.
If you get a chance to try the owners Teppanyaki restaurant on Kings road then this is also fine dining, we tried it this year after years of saying we would and it was excellent and good value for money. For value for money and location to the town and to the conference centre I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley h, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for the kind review, and lovely comments regarding the breakfast and our nearby Teppanyaki restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and I'm sure Cindy will also be happy to see you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House Hotel

Address: 36-40 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 diamond AA Rac & ETB rated hotel, situated in a quiet tree lined street close to the Harrogate town centre. Snug bar has a selection of over 100 whiskies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashley House Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.