We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mid week break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on an 'Easy Breaks' Dinner, B&B special offer which was an exceptionally good deal. Spacious room, good choice of menu and thoroughly enjoyed our two evening meals. Very friendly and helpful staff. An easy 10 minute walk from the center of Harrogate. Overall a very enjoyable experience. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a front rooms with a bay window as they are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Thomas B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    340
    136
    56
    29
See reviews for
117
473
32
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had asked by email for a quiet room and no feather pillows/duvets; the message had not been recorded at reception. The room was above the front door and a wedding party in hotel so the guests were outside for a cigarette /drink under the window at a picnic table until 1 a. m.
On arrival I was told that we could change rooms of not satisfied as the "requirements" had not got through but on asking we were told that there was no other room available. I felt that the receptionist just could not be bothered. Very unprofessional

Room Tip: Ring hotel when booking on line to ensure you have what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear red14october,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

May I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience and disruption caused during your stay. I’m disappointed that you were not able to experience our usual high standards of customer service and shall fully investigate your experience with the relevant departments to ensure this is rectified for future guests.

We do hope that you allow us the opportunity to provide you with a positive experience of our hotel on your next visit to Harrogate.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely hotel. good location, great brekkie, nice staff but just a shame that all we heard from our room were a squeak followed by bang of everybody's door closing constantly. I'm sure they could be adjusted to be a bit quieter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear DorsetWestenders,

Thank you posting your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

Your feedback has been discussed with the team and improvements will be made where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here with a couple of friends on a KGB deal. 2 nights b&b including dinner on 1 night £149. The hotel is ideally situated with ample parking. It took about 8 minutes to walk into the city centre. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and well equipped. The breakfast was probably one of the best we've ever had. The choice was amazing and plentiful. The restuarant food was also excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and it was a very enjoyable stay. We will definitely look at staying here again and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Horans-HopeValley,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the bedrooms to be of a good size and the customer service provided by the team to be of a high standard.

I was also pleased to hear that the location was ideal for your needs, and you enjoyed our Yorkshire breakfast.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for just one night to facilitate attendance on a course being held at one of the conference rooms in the hotel.

I have stayed at two BW hotels previously with neither being particularly pleasurable experiences so my heart did sink a little when I realised where the course was, but looking at the exterior pics and TA reviews I was a little more optimistic about this one.

All areas except the bedrooms were fine. The staff were great - very friendly and helpful. The room I was in had a useless wi-fi connection but after a quick visit to reception I was given the key to a vacant room where it was better. I used it to work from for a couple of hours which was very useful. I could have changed rooms but it was virtually half size of the one I had initially been given so declined the offer.

My room was a good size and in a quiet area of the hotel which is what I'd asked for being there on business. The disappointing thing about BW hotels is the standard and taste of the decor. The room was sort of pinky/orange with a green carpet. The room looked 'tired' and uninspiring. It was confortable enough but pretty depressing.

There was also no air conditioning which must be a BW thing as the other two I'd stayed at hadn't either so had to keep the windows open which was both less than effective and allowed the traffic noise in. It was a pretty warm night so not having air-con just isn't good enough in this day and age especially for a hotel that professes to be 4 star - no way.

Hopefully this will be the last time I have to use BW. I appreciate there are some good reviews on TA but until they put more effort in to the bedrooms and install air-con they are just not to the standard worthy of repeat visits.

Room Tip: If wi-fi is important make sure the hotel is aware as room location is dependent on performance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear MaldivesJunkie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

Your constructive comments are appreciated and have been discussed with the management team, and we shall use these comments to make improvements where possible.

I am however pleased to hear that the team were friendly, helpful and look after you during your stay at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a Tour Manager I stay in many hotels through out the year. My Wife and I recently stayed at the Cedar Court for a friends wedding, and had a fantastic experience.
Check in was warm, friendly and stress free.
Our room over looked the front gardens, and was extremely comfortable, clean, spacious and had everything you could need.
Apart from a mini bar, but to be fair room service was very prompt and not expensive.
The venue took place in the front function suite which looked absolutely stunning, and was complimented by fine food and superb service from all the staff serving.
The main bar area had a nice warm comfortable relaxed feel to it, again backed by fantastic service and very reasonably priced drinks.
The following morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and were spoilt for choice.
Checking out was just as efficient as when we checked in.
My only regret staying here is that we did not have time to stay longer, or we would have taken up the offer of checking out at 3pm and staying for Sunday lunch, which would have only cost us an extra £30?
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a venue or relaxing break for anyone coming to Harrogate,
A big thank you is in order to all the management and staff who made our stay so special.
Mr & Mrs M Glegg

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Michael G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel. You kind comments about your experience are greatly appreciated and shall be feed back to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a well situated hotel on the edge of town,overlooking the stray.The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.Food was nice and well presented.Although very busy when I visited with a couple of wedding parties on ,the staff still coped very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Richy51,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel

Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.