We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair hotel in a lovely location overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Harrogate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fair hotel in a lovely location overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Harrogate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Well located hotel overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Harrogate.
The facade of the hotel is lovely but the rooms I would say are only fair/average. They're clean and comfortable but the rooms themselves and the corridors on each floor are looking a little dated and tired, and need a thorough refurb. The price per room is very reasonable though, so real value for money in Harrogate.
The breakfasts were very nice - the daily fresh home-made fruit smoothies and the black pudding are both excellent.
Very impressed that there is free WIFI throughout the hotel, which is a real bonus, especially as I was staying here for work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    341
    136
    56
    29
See reviews for
118
474
32
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I have visited Harrogate many times but this was our first visit to Cedar Court Hotel.
I viewed an offer from Travelzoo which was unbelievable really: £89 per room per night including breakfast which also included an upgrade to a front facing executive room and a 3 course a la carte evening meal on the first night.
Although the room was fairly small it was comfortable and we had no problems. The evening meal was absolutely superb, well presented and unusual and delicious dishes. Wine a bit pricey but about what you'd expect in a hotel.
Breakfast was in a beautiful dining room consisting a buffet type with plenty of choice of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries and full English with top quality ingredients, very tasty.
A very comfortable lounge/bar area. We didn't visit the fitness centre so cannot comment.
The staff were extremely polite, helpful and efficient
All in all, a very enjoyable weekend in a very comfortable hotel and I would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and found it pleasant enough. It's clean and tidy but sadly any period features it may have had when the hotel was built have all been ripped out or papered over. The decor is now a dated 80s chintz which a lick of magnolia/ white paint would help sort out. We didn't eat in the restaurant at all so can't comment on the food. The staff were all pleasant and helpful although on the first morning the maid outside our room was very noisy, playing music loud enough to hear over the hoover and speaking loudly on the phone. The pillows could also do with being replaced, but we slept well enough. It was also a little further from the town than we were expecting.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

we satayed for one night in a family room, the room was nice and modern with good facilities. the breakfast was superb. we will definitely stay again.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

A beautiful hotel with good, clean bedrooms. Stayed on a package break which was excellent value. The breakfasts were buffet style, but good and varied with attentive waiting staff (although some of the non-British could have smiled!). The Brasserie Restaurant offeres a varied menu & although was a bit 'chefy', the food was very good.
The receptionists were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We booked Cedar Court via Travelzoo and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel, whilst typically corporate, is very well run and attractively sited just opposite the Stray parkland and is a leisurely 10 minute walk from the town centre. We were very impressed when, having arrived at 11.00 am we were allowed to check in as our room was ready. The package delivered all that was promised and the food was good. Harrogate is a lovely town with loads of greenspace, some good pubs and an excellent Blues Bar. We would definitely come back, especially if the Travelzoo offer came up again, very good value for money! Just one small criticism the beds are very comfortable and large but the pillows are very hard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I know Cedar Court Hotel well having used it for business meetings, both on an informal basis - meeting in the bar area for a coffee - and also using the meeting rooms where privacy is important. The rooms are well serviced with a very peaceful atmosphere.

So, when it came to booking a weekend for my girlfriends for a get together in Harrogate there was only one place to choose! The Hotel is prefect for social ocassions too! The bedrooms at Cedar Court are all well appointed and comfortable and the ones at the front that look over the Stray are my favourites! The staff always make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble.

The location of the hotel is great too as, being a little way out of town, it gives a good excuse to walk to the shops and facilities in Harrogate. For the runners amongst us the Stray presents the prefect place for a jog!

Cedar Court is an excellent venue for pleasure or business and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel

Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.