We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairn Hotel Yorkshire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cairn Hotel Yorkshire to your Saves list
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here in march and came back in june as the hotel does half board packages. At reception we were upgraded to a larger room and was massive, over looking the side of the building on the 1st floor. On the first night we were given a bottle of prosecco as part of our package. The food served in the restaurant is delicious with plenty of choice. Starters and desserts are served at the table and main courses are served carvery style. Our package was 3 nights breakfast and dinner for £179 each which was excellent value for money. Breakfast was good and one morning I ordered pancakes which were made to order. Overall it was a lovely stay, we used local buses to go to ripon (bus stop outside of hotel) and knaresbrough. Would come back to hotel as the service and staff are very professional and the hotel hosts many events.

Room Tip: At the back, the function rooms were on the front so above them may be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write a review and for your lovely comments regarding our breakfasts which we are very proud of.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    256
    117
    41
    39
See reviews for
44
292
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This a large old mansion with comfortable rooms, a super brunch and great location just 5 minutes by foot from the town centre.

We had a spacious family room for the 3 of us. Large bathroom, comfortable beds etc

The staff was helpful. Their was a prom dance on the ground floor on the night of our stay. But we never heard any noise or had disturbances from this.

This place caters to the more mature customer. Our teenager just had to adapt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write a review and for your very kind words.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed at the Cairn for two days to spectate at the TDF. Parking was bit of a challenge, but understandable with a full house. Our room was fine, spacious and quiet, clean and decorated to a good spec. Lovely bathroom and good shower. Public rooms were a bit "stressed", but period and delightful. Good breakfasts, professional friendly staff. Had dinner one night- not haute cuisine but very well cooked and good value. Was a bit surprised to have to cough up immediately for our bottle of wine rather than put on the bill. All in all, we really liked the Cairn and would return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am so happy you enjoyed your weekend with us over the tour de france is really was an amazing event.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, Friday and Saturday for the Tour De France. Had been a bit concerned by some of the photos here, but needn't have been.

This is a large (135 room) Victorian hotel, built in the heyday of the British Spa holiday. It would have been very grand for its day, and in many ways it still is - I expect it is listed. The entrance hall and reception are as magnificent as the photos suggest. There were notices up everywhere informing guests of a refurbishment programme that began in Oct-2013, all the corridors were being upgraded. Certainly all the carpets I walked on were brand new and very high quality, and I could see that some areas were in the middle of having the walls painted. The public areas of the hotel cannot be faulted. This did rather highlight how dated the rooms were - decor was very 1980s. Very high quality, but rather old-fashioned. But - it's superficial. The room was spacious, as was the en-suite bathroom. Everything was scrupulously clean and well cared for. We had everything we needed, and were comfortable. I expect they'll start on the rooms once they've finished the public areas, and if they do the rooms as well as they are doing the corridors, it will be fab.

Breakfast was lovely, served in a huge dining room with attentive staff and tasty food. The staff are really the jewels in this hotel's crown - they were to a man/woman very professional, efficient and welcoming.

Parking was not great, but this was due to a large part of the car park having temporary buildings in place (for the Tour? They had entertainments planned for it, I think these temp structures were maybe there in case it rained). Staff were able to advise on alternative parking, but we had squeezed into a little corner for our stay. Without those structures there, the parking would have been good.

The location of the hotel, on the Ripon Road, is pretty good. You're only a few minutes walk from the town centre, but far enough out and far enough back from the road to have quiet. Yes it's a slight hill you have to walk up from the town to get back to the hotel, but hey, this is Harrogate - there are hills everywhere!

All round this is a great hotel. The rooms could do with being updated, but as I've already said, this is superficial stuff. Everything that matters, this hotel does well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write a review and for your very kind words regarding our staff as you said they really are the jewels in our crown.
I have passed on your comments to all the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here the Friday evening to be in Harrogate for the arrival of the TDF stage 1 on the Saturday. Arrived at approx 7pm, the car park was full due to the event that weekend, however the reception staff were very helpful and advised where to park. Very quick and easy check-in, was told that we had been upgraded to a superior room for no extra charge. We had a lovely view from our room. No noise and very spacious.
After reading other reviews i thought it would be appropriate to comment on the overall view and opinion of the hotel. The hotel is an old building, the decor is fairly old fashioned and most areas could do with modernising. However the hotel, our room and the restaurant was immaculately clean. I have no bad comments to make about this hotel. Plenty of towels, clean bedding, tea and coffee making facilities, wifi and a tv in the room. Buffet breakfast was good, plenty of choice.
On departure the lady on reception was very helpful with alternative directions out of Harrogate due to all main roads closed until 11pm!
Had a lovely weekend overall. Such a great start to the TDF. Would defiantly return here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us over the tour de france weekend the atmosphere was amazing and a good time was had by all. We do hope you will come and visit us again very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel in the middle of Harrogate with large free car park. Wifi only in reception and bar areas is a negative in this day and age. Staff were great and so helpful when I needed something. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was standard fare and served in the large restaurant. Rooms are being refurbished at the moment so a bit pot luck as to whether you get a new one. Mine hadn't been but was still pretty good and quite large. Quiet at night provided for good sleep.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. And for your kind words regarding the staff at the cairn. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stay here regularly when visiting friends,very reasonable prices for Harrogate, lovely old building with lots of character, rooms some upgraded some not but all of a good standard and clean!! Tv"s need bringing up to date, [very small], breakfast lovely,plenty choice, Try the sausage, delicious!!
Staff very welcoming and professional, would recommend to all, Oh and they have a very large car park, always a bonus!!

Room Tip: If staying over weekend ask for a high floor as always busy with weddings etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your comments regarding our breakfast our chef will be very happy!
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairn Hotel Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Yorkshire

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Yorkshire 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cairn Hotel Yorkshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire Harrogate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairn Hotel Yorkshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.