We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-run hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn to your Saves list
Holiday Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Solihull, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A well-run hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Holiday Inns do vary but this is a good one. A little difficult to find but follow the signs for Harrogate International Conference Centre and it is next door with its own underground car park - free for IHG (International Hotels Group) members; free to join and you get daily newspapers free as well! Staff are both friendly and efficient. As we were there with a Group we received the buffet dinners but they were of good quality. Breakfasts were superb and plenty of choices. Very centrally positioned and Harrogate well worth a weekend away!

Room Tip: Overlooking the rear rooms are certainly quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank MMike_7 for you kind review. The Team were delighted when we read it out this morning and we are all really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    322
    157
    61
    13
See reviews for
86
321
26
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fairly easy to find using the SAT NAV, underground parking is tricky with a large car.
I was upgraded to a executive room - thank you!
Room was large and homely, good wi fi connection.
The reception staff were very helpful in recommending a nearby fish & chip restaurant and acknowledged that I was a priority club member.
Great breakfast, lots of fresh cooked produce.
Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you had a five-star experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a family trip. Our group had two twin rooms, both felt quite dated especially the bathroom compared with other 4* hotels in the area. The reception and bar area was nice but the food and drink was very expensive. The location is perfect as it is a 10 minute walk to the train station and the town center with a selection of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased to read you enjoyed our location. I am sorry to hear that your rooms allocated were not to your liking. Please may I request that you contact me at gm.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com with your room numbers in order forme to properly follow up on your observations.

Many thanks,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is just a note to anyone booking at this holiday please ensure that you specify a 'walkin shower' in your disabled room, unfortunately I have just had a short break at this hotel in a room with all disabled facilities but only a bath. Other than this our stay was ok.

Room Tip: Make sure you set out precisely what accommodation you require on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your most recent stay with us. I'm sorry we were unable to provide a walk in shower but unfortunately we don't have any rooms with this feature. Hopefully, this will be on the plans for future refurbishments.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Wishes,

Sarah Turner
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

After reading several critical reviews we found that this hotel exceeded our expectations.
Reception and help from the hall porter were excellent and we were given the twin bedded room on the 6th floor that we had requested.It was easy to park and enter the hotel from the large garage.
The weather was hot but the room temperature could be controlled by opening the window and using the fan supplied.
The room was a good size and had a hair dryer, tray for tea and coffee, iron and ironing board, and basic toiletries in the bathroom.
Breakfast was well managed, the self service system was speedy, a large selection of both hot and cold dishes were available and constantly replenished by the kitchen staff.Only irritation was the table hopping behaviour of some large coach parties-- not really the hotel's fault.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night but found it slow and the portions and menu too heavy.We had 3 enjoyable meals in the bar and found the service faster,the ambience more relaxed and the menu more to our liking.
Housekeeping was good, the staff coped very well with the busy Tour de France weekend.
The only disappointment was finding that the swimming pool was 20 minutes walk away in a health club not attached to the hotel though my husband used the gym onsite .Wifi is expensive.The hotel is very close to the centre of Harrogate, it was easy to walk around.Thank you for a good weekend.

Room Tip: The higher you go the cooler and quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to suit your needs.
I hope you managed to see the Tour on one of the 2 days it came through Harrogate, was a fantastic atmosphere!
Look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Sarah Turner
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel, in its several guises, many times over the years purely for conference visits this was my first stay as a tourist. Both the public areas and rooms were better than I remembered. Bedrooms are a good size, beds are comfortable and most of the facilities you would want are there. Reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful as were the bar staff. Breakfast was very good and we did not feel rushed, nor where the queues for the buffet a problem.

The hotel was the base for a four day touring holiday, bought as a package and therefore I cannot comment on the price of the hotel stay. I could comment on the quality of the four evening meals we had as the food, and the service, was the worst I have had for a long time. However, I recognise that the price negotiated with the tour company precluded better quality and is probably not representative of the normal cuisine served and therefore I have not considered it my my rating.included it in my rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
The Team will be smiling from ear to ear once I read out your review, thank you. I am really pleased to see such feedback from a top contributor and delighted you enjoyed your return visit. Concerning the dinner, price should affect selection but not quality and for this I apologise. I will discuss this with the Chef to ensure that selection is all that remains affected.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We arrived at the hotel - it looked stunning, very modern & clean. We checked in as usual - were given a room on the 5th floor, we walked in & other peoples bags/ suitcases were in the room! Obviously a mistake by staff checking in 2 bookings to the same room.
We went back to reception & were given another room, the staff were very polite & helpful regarding this matter.
We then got in to our "double" room to find it was two twin beds pushed together! And a unusual cupboard door that wouldn't open?
We went down to the bar... A glass of house wine 250ml, 7.85!
We were told by the restaurant staff they were to busy, & didn't have a table for us.
We decided to then walk down the road to a lovely little family Italian called "Giannis Biro", beautiful food, great service & reasonably priced compared to the hotel, the best part of the trip, would give the Italian 10 out of 10! Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you fo ryour feedback and I am sorry to read of your experience. As other reviews would suggest wealways endeavour to give all of our Guests a pleasant and comfortable stay, but it is clear that we failed during your visit. Please may I request that you contact me at gm.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.com in order for me to obtain more details to ensure we make it right in the future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.