We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Walked in and was greeted by helpful happy staff fantastic customer service. My room was spotless even a fan in the room if too hot. The bathroom was just fantastic once again spotless, loved it when I walked in the lights turn on by sensor. Tea and coffee hot chocolate and lovely biscuits in the room free wifi we ate in the popular Orchid restaurant which has a big reputation in Harrogate and I agree with the reviews just stunning. This place is top of my list when I come back for a visit.

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy from the restaurant on a Saturday night that's with the window open hence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc1, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear CaronC,

Thank you choosing to stay with us here at Studley Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so glad that you really enjoyed your stay here, we will be sure to pass on your complements to all our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    121
    32
    13
    0
See reviews for
30
206
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I am lucky to use this hotel qute a lot on business as the HQ is based nearby. But its worth mentioning it is a great hotel, staff are always attentive, breakfasts brilliant and rooms spotless and the hotel Orchid Rooms are quite special!

Room Tip: Try rooms 20 - 29, they are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc1, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Griffster1965,

Thanks for your positive review, we appreciate the comments and will certainly share them with the staff members. They strive very hard to work to achieve the standards expected of them.

All the best and we look forward to welcome you back!

Regards,
SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here the weekend of the Tour if France and paid way above the normal rate to do so. On the plus side the staff were friendly, and the room clean. However the room was tiny and hot - barely enough room for a double bed, the walls paper thin so could hear all movement outside our room and the bed uncomfortable - every time my normal weight husband moved I bounced up in the bed - resulting in restless night. Breakfast was average

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

So many different thoughts about the hotel make it difficult to review. Really small rooms, even smaller bathrooms but the setting and restaurant are ideal. Dinner in the Orchid Restaurant was so good but the same chef served a breakfast to be avoided! A pre-prepared buffet with crunchy melon and a heated breakfast that sat there for half an hour. You know the type! No attempt to market great Yorkshire food, even down to the mass produced eggs and bacon.
How the experience can change from evening to morning with the same staff is beyond me! I wouldn't rush back to the hotel but I would to the restaurant of an evening. No air conditioning but room fans that don't do the job. A small car park behind the hotel which is useful.

Room Tip: Unfortunately they are all small so the upgrade we made to an executive room made no difference at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed for one night. Room was at the top of the hotel room number 39, adequate, plenty of tea and coffee. Bathroom looks as if it has been refurbished, very nice walk in shower had to be very careful though as the floor of the bathroom flooded very easily. All in all a good nights sleep.
Ate in the Orchid Restaurant, lovely meal with very generous portions, the duck was fab.
Pancakes for breakfast which was very nice. Only fault felt a bit rushed when choosing meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at the Studley for three nights whilst working in Harrogate. Within easy walking distance of the town centre, easy parking. Excellent reception, we weren't happy with the location of the first room allocated, this was very swiftly put right with a choice of two alternatives. Room spotless, comfy bed, smart bathroom, good quality toiletries, lots of sockets for phones/iPads. Breakfast was spot on, good quality ingredients, fresh coffee. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was on a trip to the races at Ripon and stayed overnight at the Studley on a recommendation from my host at the races. It was certainly more than adequate and I will stay again when visiting Harrogate with Mrs Chomsky. There was only one minor downside, I was advised I would be alright to park outside with the disc gvien. You need a permit! I recieved a parking fine. My own fault as I should have checked the signage. Not to worry it was a very good stopover.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.