We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant to your Saves list
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed the weekend for my husbands 30th....all i can say is fab. Had an executive room and it was lovely. Would go back tomorrow. Staff were great and very helpful, its close to everything. We got the lesuire pass for st georges hotel from reception and enjoyed the use of the spa. Ate at the orchid...food was great. Ate at marabelle on the sat and that was also lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    144
    36
    13
    0
See reviews for
37
250
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have visited Harrogate on a number of occasions with work, but have always struggled to find a nice hotel. I stumbled across the Orchid restaurant on my last visit and was very impressed with the food. I noticed that my receipt for the meal said The Studley Hotel, so on my next visit I decided to take a chance and book the hotel, so that I did not have to walk across town to find the restaurant. The hotel is fantastic, located centrally near Montpellier it has a nice lounge and bar area. The restaurant is fantastic, friendly staff and a very good manager called Francois who was very attentive.. The room was clean, comfortable and had a lovelly view. Little touches to the room really made it feel special and without a doubt, I will not use another hotel in Harrogate. The Studley Hotel is brilliant, comfortable, classy with a great bar, restaurant and manager. Thank You

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I visited the Studley on a special offer in mid January 2013. Cost 150 pounds for one night in their best room, but with a bag of spa goodies for the girlfriend thrown in, and a 50 pound voucher to spend in the bar or restaurant. The bathroom was well fitted out and very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The room was very nice, just enough character to remind you that you aren't in a chain, but with everything you'd expect to find in a good hotel. The location is great, the staff are helpful and friendly, they have on site parking for free, and the barman knows how to make a decent cocktail.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

had one night stay given as a xmas present,so did not chose hotel myself but could not have been more happy. hotel ideally located,2 min walk to center,very clean, great service,free upgrade to executive room lovely treat.room very modern and large all together a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed a weekend at the Studley 2 couples both in Orchid superior rooms. The whole experience was excellent. The hotel itself spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and obliging. The room was a pleasure spacious, comfortable and warm(it's January and snowing outside) ideally located a short walk from the theatre shopping and the park. We will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed here before so were happy to return in December. This hotel is in an excellent position, perfect for all the shops and the local gardens. parking is available at the rear of the hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming. This time we had a standard double room which was nice. Some of the doubles are small so check before you book. The Orchid restaurant is exceptional. The food is outstanding and the staff very good, you will need to book in advance. The only down side was the breakfast. Very meagre, not worth going down for. Also met the only irritating member of staff who felt the need to take our entire order before we sat down. Some language issues also. However dont let this put you off, it is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Studley for a number of years and would not consider any other Hotel in Harrogate. I have in the past stayed at one or two others but nothing compares to the standard of service that the Studley offers to its guests.From the minute you check in at reception you are made to feel special. The standard of rooms is excellent, the Orchid Restaurant is the best Tai Restaurant I have been to and the Managemant and staff could put some of the other larger hotels to shame.For the business traveller it even offers free Wi Fi which many of the larger Hotels charge for.
Would highly recommend the Studley for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Short 5 min walk to the Exhibition Centre and Theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.