We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot House Hotel Harrogate to your Saves list
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Recently back from a 4 night stay. Comfortable, spacious room, food varying from very good to excellent, pleasant bar, friendly staff, handy location for town centre, and very reasonable cost. What more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    92
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
57
315
16
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in April and quite enjoyed it. We had a room on the top floor which was bigger than most and was quite nice. Just remember you have to climb 2 flights of stairs with your luggage. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good, but not great- have had more variety at other similar hotels. They automatically replaced all towels after first night, which was nice. Any easy walk into Harrogate, although a bit further than many other places. Not as friendly as most small hotels I've stayed at. Someone checked us in and that was about the extent of the interaction until it was time to check out. Usually at small hotels such as this, you get a lot more interaction from the staff. No real complaints, but would probably try another place next time in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned from our third stay at the Ascot,once again we could not fault any aspect of our stay.The food as always was top notch,we have stayed in the past at the Crown,Majestic and the George but for value,service and friendliness go no further than the Ascot.Only thing missing this time was the humour of Umberto who was away on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for one night just after Easter. We don't usually have evening meals at hotels we visit - we prefer to go out - but I was glad that we chose to 'eat in' here. The evening meal that we had was brilliant. Breakfast was good too. The hotel was a goood location to explore Harrogate, with plenty of parking and not too much of a walk from the town centre. Room was plenty spacious enough and everything clean; staff all friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were particularly impressed by the staff at the hotel, who were friendly, welcoming, helpful and professional throughout our three nights stay. Our room (27) was lovely - well decorated and furnished and with everything we needed. Enormous, comfortable bed. Impressive standard of housekeeping. Quiet and peaceful.
Meals were also excellent - pleasant dining room, lovely breakfast and good menu for evening meal, especially considering this is not a large hotel. Bar was also a good place to start the evening. We would recommend this hotel as an excellent and better alternative to the usual large chains. A real treat! 

Room Tip: Room 27 on the top floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campsall, Doncaster
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ascot House was chosen by Rotary District 1040 Rotarians for a weekend stay to attend the National Rotary RIBI Conference at the Harrogate international Conference Centre. The hotel is homely with a friendly and attentive staff. The meal quality is very good value and the hotel clearly has a clientelle base. There are bar facilities.

Room Tip: Room 9 is in a good quiet position. The en suite provides bath and shower and there is a small ward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I can highly recommend this family run hotel. Stayed here this weekend and everything was wonderful. Good food, great service, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
With car parking and a location close to the shops it is a fabulous!

It is so good we will be returning again soon!

Room Tip: The turret room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot House Hotel Harrogate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.