We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful site, lots of space, but discipline needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
The Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful site, lots of space, but discipline needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

First the good side, I was married at the Majestic 52 years ago,,, so sentimentally attached. Also I asked for a high, bright, quiet, room and that is exactly what I was given... on the 4th floor and with big windows, and thank heaven a bathroom with natural light, and a bath with tapes not hidden behind glass shower doors so as to be reached only by an Orang Outang.
The site is perfect, near the centre, but no traffic noise.
Breakfast unmemorable, and could do with some little touches, like perhaps some cheese. Staff at breakfast lacked initiative, and tables not cleared with regularity.
But, thank heaven, although quite full it was not a noisy place. In fact very, very, peaceful. We go every couple of years or so, and despite some niggles will continue to all being well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear President66,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

So glad to learn that you had a restful and peaceful stay. We are about to launch a new breakfast standard the staff training for the team has been targetted as we seek to make this meal more memorable with attentive service.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    408
    235
    102
    70
See reviews for
133
589
12
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently returned to the Majestic after a period of more than 20 years, and were not disappointed. Having read some previous reviews which caused concern, I had contacted the general manager Vince a while before arriving. My concerns regarding our family room were addressed, and we had a super suite which was only spoilt by uncomfortable putyouup beds for the children.Food was of an excellent standard, my only complaint being slow service on the second night. Particular thanks go to Helen, Claudia and the scots lady who's name escapes me who were extremely helpful, the latter lady also being very kind to my young daughter! We would certainly recommend the hotel to friends, and hope to return next year,

Room Tip: Rooms 334 and 335 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Susan W,

Thank you for psoting your review and so pleased your stay was enjoyable.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is located in an excellent location less than 10 mins walking to the heart of the city. The building is old and you can feel that its not really taken care of from outside...the hotel has a good swimming pool & couple of dinning spots...room was ok but still not like the pics. Overall good service but check in was very slow.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Mohamed H,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

I'm glad that you had a good stay with us and yes, the building is huge and keeps our team busy with repairs. We are always working on some element though thankfully the hotel is from an era when things were built to last.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings langley, herts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed for a weekend. Public areas are really well furnished. Bar is comfortable, added bonus is that they sell local ales, a bit unusual these days. Restaurant was good, food well cooked, breakfast was also very good. Our room was larger than most, even had 2 chairs, not just the normal one. Very quiet room even though we overlooked the car park.
The hotel could not be better positioned to enjoy Harrogate, right by the town centre.
All the staff were helpful and really nice people.
We will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear cascboss,

Thank you so much for awarding us 5 stars in your review.

Your recognition is really pleasing and helps motivate us to try our best to provide great service.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was taken to the Majestic Hotel for an overnight stay by my son and family for my 60th Birthday. It was lovely, the rooms had been refurbished and were beautiful right down to the robes and slippers. We used the facilities with my young grandson, which were good and child friendly as was the staff. The breakfast was excellent and I would recommend this hotel as it is just a small walk from the centre of Harrogate which is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 129 and 132 which were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear lesley g,

Thank you so much for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

What a lovely surprise for you on such an occasion. I'm very pleased that you had a wonderful stay and hoping you'll return soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for a few days in this lush classic hotel just steps away from the downtown Harrogate. It has both an old-world stately feel but all the modern amenities that one would expect from a proper British hotel. It seemed family-friendly even though we didn't see many children around. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Lamont S,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it combined our rich heritage and modern conveniences well. This is always a challenge.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Returned to the Majestic to celebrate our wedding anniversary having stayed there several years ago on a number of occasions. Our memory of this lovely hotel was one of a lovely hotel with fantastic food and a wonderful ambiance. I am very sad to say that this hotel has lost it's majestic crown. The hotel room was in need of repair with wallpaper hanging from the ceiling and could have done with a good super clean as smelt quite musty. Our evening meal was very disappointing with over cooked steak and seasonal vegetables consisting of sweet potatoes and mixed peppers. Apparently the chef of 30 years standing had recently retired but I feel the new chef could do with some help to bring this overly hotel back to its previous glory.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Kimmiegirl,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry that this visit wasn't up to our normal standard.

We are having some change in the kitchen though as it was June when you stayed I'm pleased that now we have got a new leader at the stove and our food is starting on it's next evolution. We're really excited about it and I'm sure that your next visit will see a return to the high standards of the past but with an up to date aspect.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.