We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
The Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
N Yorks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went for afternoon tea for 7 people aged 45 to 88 years old on a fairly quiet Sunday afternoon.We were shown to a table and members of our party had to collect chairs from other tables so we could all sit together. Service was slow as there appeared to be one member of staff only. Meagre amounts of sandwiches eventually arrived and on some of the sandwiches the bread was curled up and dry on one side.The scones were tasty but tiny and there was one each however there was only 6 cakes for 7 of us.Nice big teapots of hot tea for the tea drinkers who had 2/3 cups each but one small cup of lukewarm coffee for the coffee drinkers amongst us.No member of staff could be found to ask for more coffee or discuss the state of the food. At £12.50 per person I felt completely robbed.
I did ring the manager the following day to complain who apologised and said he would look into this immediately and ring me back.This was 3 weeks ago today and I am still waiting for him to call back. Do not waste your money here!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear dhp124,

Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies that you were disappointed. We have served almost 500 afternoon teas in March and I have to say, it's very rare for there to be an issue.

For coffee drinkers we have previously provided proper bean to cup coffee such as cappuccino or latte or espresso as a superior standard. In light of your feedback we are looking into other options such as cafetieres. It is important to be consistent and I appreciate you making us aware of your experience.

I shall discuss your prior contact with my colleague to ensure we resolve the matter.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    408
    235
    102
    70
See reviews for
133
589
12
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Had a really relaxing break and a thoroughly pleasant stay. Staff first class, polite and helpful. Had an upgrade to a super room. Hotel warm, clean and comfortable. Smart restaurant and very comfortable bar with no invasive music or TV - bliss! An added bonus was the very nice leisure club. The hotel is an easy walking distance for all the facilities in Harrogate. good food in restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Some rooms are near to a generator-not sure which side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear NP819,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. It is pleasing to hear that you had a relaxing time and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regads, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had booked a double premier room for 3 nights for a short break. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the reception staff (one had only just started that day) and after a few minutes were seen to. The receptionist stated that we had booked a twin room which was wrong. She changed it for us. We were given our key and went to the room which was VERY disappointing. It was very dark and small. We went to reception and said that we were disappointed and the receptionist changed the room for us to a much brighter room with a better bathroom.
The service in the restaurant was very variable. The main problem seems to be that the waiting staff are not allocated to tables, it is a 'free for all' which can mean you are ignored. Quite often people who entered the restaurant after us had their order taken first and were served food and wine before us too. The food is good, served on lovely hot plates. The wine list is extensive and there i plenty of choice with the food too. On one evening I had the steak from the grill and it was perfectly cooked. On our last evening the restaurant was being used for a private function and we were in another room which I have to say was much nicer. Much brighter and it seemed that the staff were more attentive. The hotel is well positioned for getting around the area and walking into town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear AngelaMC009,

Thank you for posting your review and glad that you had a lovely short break.

Your comments are always appreciated and do assist us in refining our offering and service.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Such a very large hotel and old with a lot of history behind it. It was my husband's 50th birthday so I asked for an upgraded room which we certainly got. It was really large room with a very large bathroom. We also had bathrobes and slippers which was an added bonus. Nothing to complain about with regards to the room. When we checked in the receptionist could have been a little bit more informative regarding the hotel and where our room was, she never explained anything we had to find our own way around. Evening meal was good, lots to choose from on the menu and service was very good. The breakfast was even better with everything you can name to choose from which was excellent. We went swimming whilst we were their which was pleasant, but does need some attention and kept clean a little better. The car perking charge was a little steep considering we were residence at the hotel we have to pay £3.50 per day which I don't agree with. The location of the hotel is excellent 5 mins walk to the centre.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded, you may be lucky if hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear gail_bowker,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate, and for choosing us to celebrate such an important milestone. I'm very pleased we could upgrade your booking.

We have been training some new staff in Reception and will pick up your comments in this regard. On car parking, our location in the centre of the town does mean that we have to manage the car park facility and we do try to keep the resident contribution at a reasonable and low amount.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed on Saturday 22nd March, the hotel was packed due to wedding with not enough staff on to serve all the guests ( waited at the lounge bar for 25 mins to be served, Not kidding).
We were staying at the hotel for a nice get away weekend, booking the hotel for £120 per night for bed only,Breakfast extra, expecting this to be top quality at top quality prices...
We were sadly mistaken with the room, maybe they are renovating the hotel rooms from 1st floor up, we stayed in the 4th floor and it certainly wasnt £120 worth..The window frames were rotten, loose wires hanging outside of the window etc.but the bed was comfy.
If you are staying at the hotel i recommend you book through one of the companies to get a deal and NOT direct, as the deals with them must be a lot better than we recieved, also if given a 4th floor room refuse and ask for one of the lower floors..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear trill_1,

Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry that you were unimpressed with your stay. We do have refurbished rooms on each of our 4 floors and a one night Saturday stay will always be priced at a premium as the demand for rooms is so high on this weekend night.

I know that one of of my colleagues has been in contact following your hotel guest review and I'm looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The rooms are very clean and tidy, not a modern hotel because it has plenty of old character. the plus for us was that it had an excellent pool and gym facilities. Breakfast was excellent and service in restaurant was super.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Spain Peter,

Thank you for posting your review and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed for 2 days in March. Booked a twin room. Arrived early morning, expected room not to be ready, but thought we could complete the check in process and store our luggage so that we could make best use of the time we had in Harrogate. Checked in and confirmed a twin room was required and would told that rooms would be ready by 3pm.
3pm, went to Reception, room not ready. Had to sit and wait in Reception for 40 mins until room was ready.
Confusion over room numbers, verbally told room 201. No directions to lift/room given or meal times information given nothing.
Went and found room 201, unpacked and was chilling when phone rang and we were asked what our name was who was in the room. I confirmed the surname on the booking, No explanation given as to why this was required. Then on looking at the key card holder it stated room 203. This caused confusion throughout the whole stay with Restaurant and also every day for 3 days, every time we wanted to go back into our room, we would have to go downstairs and get the key reprogrammed as it had been "wiped" I was told by having near to my mobile phone. Which I found hilarious, as I am a person who actually does not own or have on my person a mobile phone??? No apology nothing. Room was not serviced at all throughout our stay, no clean towels, coffee/tea replenished, again nothing.
Breakfast, cannot fault, great choice, good service and quality and choice was excellent. evening meal however was a different matter. Steak asked for well done, in fact the word cremated was used. Steak came, complete with blood on plate, this steak was definitely medium to rare and not well done as asked for. This was replaced. The other main meal was also returned as the cod loin ordered was cold and not cooked properly in the middle. A complimentary drink was given.
Overall a lovely Hotel in an excellent location. Public areas are in a very good condition and very clean. But definite room for improvement regarding housekeeping and restaurant. BTW drinks very expensive £2.90 for a coke!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Squirly,

Thank you for posting your review and very glad that you liked the hotel and our breakfast. It is very unfortunate that other elements were not provided in accordance with our normal procedures and I appreciate you highlighting these.

It can be very difficult to complete the check in process in the morning as we cannot physically apply the reservation to the intended room number if the departing guest has not yet checked out, as in this instance. This gave rise to the cofusion over your room number and we are working with our Reception Team to improve our handling of early arrivals.

I am sorry that your request for a cremated steak was not actioned to your liking and glad that on the second visit it was acceptable, together with the replacement fish dish for your partner. We do value your feedback and you can see from other reviews that dinner is usually well received so my sincere apologies for your disappointment.

We are always minded that improvements can be made and this is a never ending process. Your specific comments do help us in this regard and I'm sure that on your next visit you'll see a marked difference.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.