We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
The Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After having a short break at this hotel in July, we returned last night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were very impressed once again by the staff, the standard of the room and the cleanliness. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the restaurant had improved since our last visit. There was a choice of '3 courses for £25' with several options or the 'A La Carte' menu. We choose from the 'A La Carte' and the food was delicious. Well done The Majestic, we look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: 103 has steps up to the bathroom which could be difficult for some visitors, but otherwise was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Durham_Folks,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. We are grateful that you decided to return to the hotel for such an important day and glad that you enjoyed the experience again.

It's really encouraging to read that you enjoyed the new a la carte menu. We wanted to be able to offer simple food that gave our guests more choice in addition to our traditional daily inclusive menu.

A small number of our rooms have steps to the bathroom, dating back to when the bathrooms were added in the 1930's as the fashion for shared facilities declined. Our team are well aware of the features of each room and can advise accordingly.

I do hope that we can welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    470
    267
    118
    78
See reviews for
154
681
15
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I return each year for a conference, and staying at the hotel is one of the pleasures of the trip. The hotel gets better each year, both in terms of its fabric and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. It has a certain style and atmosphere, which is missing in most hotels, especially modern ones. Despite the size and grandeur of its ground floor rooms, I don't find it at all stuffy. Its location is very convenient also, with the centre of town so close, just a pleasant stroll away through the gardens .

PS Check out the Gents toilets: they are magnificent. The ladies at the conference insist on a guided tour and seem very envious!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Peter E,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. It was a real pleasure to read your review and your kind praise of our team. We are fortunate to have some wonderful conference clients who return to us each year and whose events are a real pleasure to host.

I'm glad that you notice the small improvements that are continually being made and hopefully we can welcome you back before next November. A short break in Harrogate has for centuries been a great tonic.

On the subject of the amazing victorian gents toilets, I have often wondered how many thousands of ladies have viewed them over the years.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the majestic hotel for one night to attend an awards ceremony. We arrived at 2.30 pm having booked 2 double rooms. Neither room was ready and the receptionist could not tell us what time it would be ready. The hotel has some very grand ground floor reception rooms. The drinks were quite expensive. We had a buffet after the ceremony which was good and varied. Plenty of car parking. There was a Christmas market and a knitting convention on in Harrogate which did not help the movement of traffic round the town. Having said that the traffic is always bad in Harrogate. Perhaps the town planners should consider some park and ride sites.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Chrismar50,

Thank you for your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm sorry that there was a short delay in being able to check into your rooms. we do always have the ability to store luggage and many guests use this to allow them to go into the town rather than wait.

Harrogate is a very popular place with many access points but it can get busy. from the North I always use the A61 Ripon Road and from the South I use the route via Wetherby. Once you arrive and park, then everything you need is just a short walk away.

New for this year is a fabulous Christmas market just down the hill from Betty's. It is definately proving popular and is well worth a visit for some great Christmas gifts.

Hoping to welcome you back soon, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preesall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went as a group from work for a Spa Break weekend and had a fabulous time. The rooms were beautifully decorated as was the bathroom. The champagne and chocolates were most definitely enjoyed. The food in the restaurant was good as was the service. The girls in the Salon were friendly and made it a great experience. The only downsides were checking in - there was only one member of staff on reception and about 15 people trying to check in(not the best first impression) and having to pay for parking over the weekend albeit at a discount rate.
We're already trying to decide which hotel to visit next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Stephanie S,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel following your spa weekend with us. I'm really glad that you enjoyed to the full, all elements of your special break.

For ideas for next year I'd recomment our Shrigley Hall Hotel near Manchester or Redworth Hall Hotel near Durham, or just come back to beautiful Harrogate and maybe add in a visit to the Turkish Baths.

Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lots of improvements since my last stay 8 years ago. The room had been refurbished was warm and clean,The Staff were very helpful we had an excellent breakfast can get busy at peak times.Did not use the restaurant this time not far to walk into Town had a meal at Bettie's good but not cheap.The swimming pool was very good great place for a weekend break.
Will definately stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Douglas R,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I was very happy to read of your enjoyable stay and hope we can welcome you back sooner than the 8 years before this visit.

Glad also that you approved of the changes we've made.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Majestic is a landmark in Harrogate. I had some concerns as large Victorian hotels can be faded and run down with draughty windows and creaking floors. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this hotel had been refurbished after a fire a few years ago. The original features were restored so that the hotel retained it's grand hotel feel. The staff were excellent and very helpful.The room was comfortable although the colours were a bit drab.
Another surprise was the quality of the food which was excellent. We had dinner which had a choice of set menu or a la carte. I had the set menu and my wife had the a la carte menu. Both meals were well cooked with the vegetables being crisp and my duck being cooked to perfection. The prices were very reasonable and the house wine of good quality. Only one slight niggle, the restaurant manager kept us standing at the entrance for 10 minutes ignoring us while he attended to some problem at his till. The breakfast had a good selection of food on a buffet style.
We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the refurbished wing as there are some rooms which have not yet been refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MARTIN D,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and especially that you enjoyed your dinner. Our menus were relaunched at the beginning of November and hopefully offer something for everyone. We have been getting some great feedback and the new house wines are really good!

Sorry about the seating delay, unfortunately our system had frozen and orders weren't getting through to the kitchen so it was important to resolve.

All our recently refurbished bedrooms are classed as Premium Rooms to hopefully make it easier to follow. They do all come in numerous shapes and sizes which most guests feel adds to the character of the hotel.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night.It has beautifull grounds.very well placed,5 mins walk into Harrogate.Found the rooms a dated but the hotel on the whole is very elegant.We had a excellant evening meal also the breakfast first class.What makes this Hotel is the staff,very friendly but not imposing,we felt really at home,thats always a sign of a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Yorky189,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable time and especially that our team made you feel at home.

On your next visit why not try one of our Premium rooms which are all recently refurbished, especially if you are staying longer than the one night.

Our staff will appreciate your kind comments about them.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.