We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park | Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Ice Cream Summer Break
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Harrogate
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at Rudding Park for one night as my boyfriend had arranged this as a surprise for my birthday - it was amazing! Before even stepping through the door a young girl came outside to take our bags and greet us.
The room was lovely - beautiful views, spotlessly clean, peaceful and nice decor.
I was booked in for 2 Spa treatments which were perfect - the spa was calm, again spotless and so relaxing. The treatments were excellent (massage and facial) - I didn't want to leave!
Dinner at the Clocktower was second to none - the service, the quality, the presentation and the atmosphere were all fab.
We had a full breakfast in the morning which was again great - excellent service but not too intrusive and plenty of choice. I can't wait to return to Rudding Park - which I certainly will!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park, for visiting our Spa and for writing such a lovely review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday stay and your spa experience. Happy birthday once again from us all.

We are very proud of our highly acclaimed Spa that offers all our wonderful guests a chance to relax and unwind and were thrilled that you thought so too. If you like our facials and massages you have to try the amazing ‘Rudding Signature Package’ which offers 2 hours and 15minutes of pure bliss! You will experience top to toe organic exfoliation with invigorating lemongrass and a full body organic massage designed to melt away tension. Followed by a facial which promises to lift and tone whilst brightening and hydrating the skin! Now all you have to decide is what date to come back…

Thank you so much for your amazing comments with regards to our staff and Hotel. We have of course shared all your comments with everyone concerned; our Head Chef, Eddie Gray was delighted with your compliments and couldn’t have been happier that you loved both your breakfast and dinner experience.

We are looking forward to your return and can’t wait to find out what amazing treatment you will have at the Spa next, have we tempted you…

With Kind Regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,372
    216
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
300
1599
33
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

From beginning to end we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at Rudding Park. On arrival we were greeted by a member of the reception staff in the car parks to relieve us of our luggage and get us checked in. Shown to room and all aspects of services explained. Dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the food was exceptional from cream tea in the afternoon to dinner in the evening. Only down side, we didn't get to try the puddings as so full! Thanks to all the staff for their attentive and friendly manner throughout. We would highly recommend this hotel. Hope to go back when the weather picks up so that we can enjoy the walks around the estate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The major asset, which this hotel has, is it's staff. It has the finest staff in any hotel we have visited. Although they are relatively young, they are all well trained, but more importantly seem to work using their own initiative.

We had played golf at the hotel course and as we arrived to book in it was raining, but one of the staff instantly arrived to help unload the car. There we no spaces close by in the car park, but he took the car keys and arranged to park it for us as soon as a space came free.

This continued in all areas, taking their time to explain the room and also in the restaurant.

We were in the new area, the Follyfoot . These rooms are wonderful and beautifully appointed. If visiting ask for rooms in this area.

Downside

The prices at the restaurant and vastly overpriced.

The food is good but not exceptional and to charge £25 - £30 for main courses, plus £4 for side dishes (6 chips for £4 is way over the top) £12.50 for starters and £10 for Sweets. Wine starts at about £24 so the bill is over £120 for 2.

We have eaten at a number of restaurants with Michelin stars, with more varied and exciting menus which were less expensive.

Minibar

I guess that this is not only Rudding Park, but all hotels. Why do they have them? Does anyone ever use them?

The prices are crazy

A bottle of average red wine £30
Half Bottle white wine £15
a few sweets £5 etc

In such a professional hotel it demeans them as it looks as if they are trying to rip off a captive clientel. Surely if these items were offered at a reasonable price, they might actually sell something.

Sorry, bee in the bonnet time.

Apart from these 2 quibbles its a great hotel with a fabulous golf course (Again the staff in the golf section were all excellent) and yes we will return, but still avoiding the mini bar

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Follyfoot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park for a golf break and for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the majority of your visit and thank you for your lovely comments with regards to our staff and Hotel. We have of course shared your comments with all departments concerned and a copy of the review has been passed around to all the staff in the golf academy.

With regards to your “bee in the bonnet”, we appreciate all guest feedback as it highlights areas in which we can improve and although some of the prices mentioned are slightly exaggerated, we are sorry that you felt the Clocktower is overpriced. We do compare our prices regularly with venues of the same level, while we understand that they are likely to be slightly higher than your local public house, we do feel that we are reasonably priced. To demonstrate this for example we have a 2 course lunch menu at £14.95 and 3 courses for only £19.15. We feel that this is excellent value for money.

We were surprised by your comments regarding our mini bar facilities. Most luxury hotels offer a mini bar service in rooms and I can guarantee you that lots of our guests enjoy it. However, we are sorry that you didn’t appreciate this facility in your room. The prices mentioned again are slightly exaggerated but ultimately guests have an option to buy a product or not. As a result we have made a note on your personal profile to ensure that we clear your mini bar prior to your next arrival.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Rudding Park in the near future.

With kind regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We came last summer for a wedding and were so impressed we decided to hold my husband's 60th birthday party here. We were not disappointed. Again the staff were amazing. We have travelled extensively over the years and rarely experience the kind of customer service we received at Rudding Park. Our friends also really enjoyed it. We had a private dinner for 10 and the staff made it a real fun evening but always were professional. We also hired the private cinema which was a great success.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Rudding Park and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Follifoot Rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting Rudding Park as a venue for your husband’s 60th birthday. We appreciate all guest feedback and want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay and that you and your friends enjoyed the party. We do strive to provide our guests with the highest standard and quality of service from the moment of arrival and are so happy that you experienced this during your visit.

The private cinema is just one of the many amazing facilities we have at Rudding Park and like you experienced for your husband’s birthday it can enhance any special occasion. It seats 14 people so is perfect for a hen party, birthday or even children’s parties. From romantic comedies to action thrillers, you can grab your popcorn and favourite films (or home movies!) then settle down in front of the big screen in your own private cinema. You may also be interested to know that we hold ‘Food & Flicks’ nights available Monday and Wednesday evenings where we offer a lovely two course meal at the Clocktower and FREE cinema, what more could you ask for!

Thank you for your room tip, the Follifoot rooms are beautiful and we are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for recommending us, it is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my partner stayed at Rudding Park to celebrate his birthday & to say it was a great weekend really doesn't do it justice.

On arrival the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly & very prompt with check in. We were even treated to a room upgrade! The room was huge & gorgeous.

At dinner in The Clocktower the food was amazing & again the staff could not have been more helpful & friendly. They wished my partner a happy birthday without being told by us that it was his birthday & he was treated to a lovely extra dessert, these little personal touches added to the 5* feel throughout the entire place.

We didn't get to use the Spa facilities on this occasion but will certainly be booking again to utilise them in the future!

Overall our stay was brilliant & we felt it was excellent value for money.

Many thanks for a wonderful weekend!

Ms Nicola Smith

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Nicola,

Wow!

Thank you for writing such an amazing review. We are delighted that you and your partner had a ‘brilliant birthday weekend’. We love treating our guests especially when it’s a celebration and are so pleased that you enjoyed your upgraded room.

We were also extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your Clocktower experience and that the food was ‘amazing’, we aim to please and are so happy that we exceeded in making you and your partner have a memorable birthday trip. We have of course shared your comments with our Head Chef, Eddie Gray and Food and Beverage Manager, Stephane Legendre who are both equally as pleased that you enjoyed both the food and service.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park in the near future… maybe at the spa enjoying a relaxing 50 minute treatment?!

With kind regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our second vist here in a month and each time it gets better. Service and food were excellent and the place is really welcoming. We were upgraded to a follifoot room which was fantastic as it had a balcony which meant that the room could be kept cold for a woman of a certain age! This time we did not make use of the spa butr would recommend it if you enjoy a good massage.
I wondered if the meal choice would difficult since we had stayed fot two nights only weeks before and it was...... but only because all of the dishes were tempting.
It is so nice to find a hotel where the customer is always listened to and standards are consistenly high. Well done Rudding!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review, and for your loyalty, two visits in one month we must be doing something right!

It is wonderful to receive such lovely compliments and we are thrilled that you had yet another enjoyable stay with us. We really care about all our guests and love providing you all with an exceptional and helpful service and honestly nothing is ever too much trouble for us. Your wonderful comments are what motivate us and we will always strive to improve our service even more.

As you know we do try to upgrade our loyal guests when we have availability and we were delighted that you had a more comfortable stay in one of our Follifoot rooms. We are very proud of all our beautiful bedrooms and suites and there is a room to suit any guest requirement; whether you’re looking for a spa room, a balcony, an outside terrace area to enjoy the grounds, or even a television in the bathroom for a relaxing evening we will find something to suit you.

We put a tremendous amount of effort and time into our menu; making sure we offer and provide only the best locally sourced foods and are extremely pleased that even though you stayed only a few weeks ago, that you found there was still enough choice to tempt you to try something new. We wonder what amazing dishes you had?!

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park soon.

With kind regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a lovely one night stay at Rudding Park. As I arrived a porter was at my car helping me out with my case, check in was quick and easy, the Staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly, my room was spacious and comfortable and the food was good. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
18.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 6 in Ripon
5.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#14 of 29 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Free Parking, R...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate
Premier Inn Harrogate
#3 of 29 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
16.5 mi away
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park | Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#1 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#1 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#1 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 90 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park
Rudding Park Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.