We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park | Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Ice Cream Summer Break
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Harrogate
North yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This number one rated hotel is on our doorstep, which proves you do not have to travel far for a treat! From the moment we entered the hotel and was greeted by the charming staff, checked in and shown to our lovely room we were treated like we were the only guests there. I believe there was a wedding taking place, but we were totally undisturbed by it.
Our(209) room was in the Ribston wing with lovely views over gardens, which lit up at dusk. The room was very well appointed. Home made biscuits and fresh milk were just a phone call away Unfortunately we had a minor plumbing malfunction which was swiftly dealt with by the front desk and maintenance team.
We had a superb meal in the Clock-tower Restaurant, served to us by attentive and knowledgeable staff. The food was amazing!
We had a very comfortable night's sleep (I am a very fussy sleeper) which was only disturbed by noisy neighbours at 3.30 (not the hotel's fault)
A complimentary paper was delivered to our room. We then had a lovely breakfast before checking out and spending an hour walking around the beautiful grounds.
I have been to Rudding Park a couple of times with friends for afternoon tea and it did seem a bit indulgent having a mini break so close to home, but I will definitely be returning. Hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,432
    229
    52
    10
    5
See reviews for
311
1638
34
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a stay at rudding park for my birthday and my surprise proposal!! All the staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help and make my stay extra special.

The food in the restaurant was wonderful. Cooked very well and fantastic presentation. Excellent service by the very friendly waiting staff.

Room was very spacious and excellently furnished/decorated. Bathroom perfect and the spa bath was a very good finishing touch!

I had a treatment in the spa this stay. Emma who did my manicure was lovely really easy to talk to and very relaxing. All the girls at the spa had alot of knowledge on the products they were using!!

This was my second stay at rudding park and it was just as wonderful as the first stay. All the staff really enjoy working there and are happy to chat and help with anything they can - something you don't always get in customer service!!

I would recommend you stay there!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Immediately as you drive up to this hotel, it takes your breath away, its stunning. As soon as you walk into the hotel the attentive staff are greeting you and taking your bags. We were shown to our Folifoot room 352, which was big, immaculate and the bed was huge and comfy. The bathroom is fantastic. Having arrived after work and a couple of hours drive we had booked a meal in the clocktower restaurant and as we approached they greeted us by our name! This was very personal and attentive and made us feel even more welcome. The food served at the Clocktower was amazing and again the staff were brilliant. After a sound nights sleep we headed to the conversatory for breakfast and wonderful it was too. All in all and amazing place to stay and we will return.
As we only stayed one night, we didnt get to know any of the staff members names, but we want to say thank you to all of them who made our short stay very enjoyable. This is a place where they want you to know that you are a valued guest and our experience was such that. We cant wait to go again, in fact i'm now off to book a room in preparation for my sons passing out parade in August. Its booked!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I would like to start by saying thank you to all the staff at Rudding Park for making our stay just perfect, with a special thank you to Emma who sorted our booking out and made it very special with lovely touches. As it is UKs number 1 hotel ,well deserved , it's almost as if you are more critical than normal and are looking for things to be wrong, Bad News! there simple isn't anything to criticise.

We visited the hotel with friends to celebrate his 50th birthday on fri 22nd February and we were not disappointed. As it was a surprise to Mark ,who's birthday it was , that we were going to be there I was a little worried that someone at the hotel would slip up and say something about us on check in as we were booked in for an evening meal as a table for 4 but they were very professional and discreet making it a complete surprise when we knocked on the door to meet up with them. They even put us in rooms next to each other while carefully making sure with didn't bump into each other. Thank you and well done!

We had champagne on ice waiting in the room for us which was a lovely surprise along with a lovely note welcoming us to the hotel and a note for Mark wishing him a happy birthday .

When we went to dine we were greeted by lovely staff and seated in the conservatory room which has a large very old olive tree in the centre ,just stunning!. We all had chateaubriand which was perfect . I would also like to say that the young waiter Dan was so lovely and made us all feel very welcome and at home . Thank you Dan , hope you continue this good work. After we had eaten we took our wine in to the bar where they had live jazz music which was a perfect end to a perfect day.



The only one thing negative was we only stayed for one night and it was too short, next time we visit we will definitely make it at least a two night stay. Once again thanks for a lovely stay
Vanessa and Ste

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the Spa rooms in the new wing of the hotel and it was just beautiful. The bathroom was stunning-the jacuzzi bath being the icing on the cake.
We ate lunch in the bar- the food was beautiful and the service was brilliant.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was exquisite, I had a side order of seasonal vegetables with my dinner and they are the nicest vegetables I have ever eaten! Again the service was brilliant.
I really wish we could have had another night in the hotel because the trip flew by, but we will definitely return. Well done Rudding Park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at Rudding Park overnight with friends. We stayed in room 210, which was very comfortable and had a lovely view across the grounds. We had a fabulous time, although it was too short! On stepping out of the car we were greeted by someone who took our luggage up to our rooms, whilst we had an exceptionally quick booking in. The staff go out of their way to provide a first class service, by being friendly, polite and helpful. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was divine and was served by experienced and friendly staff. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor so it was lovely not having to walk up stairs or travel in lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your experience. We are all so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you feel we ‘go out of our way to provide first class service!’ Being friendly, polite and helpful is what we all pride ourselves on being every day and we are delighted that you felt this.

It is great that you can’t wait to come back and we can’t wait to welcome you back to Rudding Park soon.

With kind regards
The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed in room 311 on Wednesday 27th February, beware you could get addicted to this place.
Staff very friendly, rooms immaculate, walk your breakfast off in beautiful surroundings, daughter is getting married and I'm seriously considering booking it for her despite the long journey for the guests, very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park | Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#1 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#1 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#1 Family Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 90 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park
Rudding Park Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.