We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Swan

The Old Swan
Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
01423 500055
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 361 Restaurants in Harrogate
Cuisines: Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Eastbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

service good,near to shops and cafes and restraunts,lift too small for the size of the hotel.nice frontage,parking spaces.but food served in relays when busy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    17
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancee recently visited the old swan for afternoon tea. We were greated at the bar by friendly barman who took our drinks order.we were seated outside and waiting for the food. The afternoon tea consisted of lovely finger sandwiches,scones,victoria sandwich and lovely choux pastry swans.all were absolutley gorgeous.i would definetly recommend this hotel for afternoon tea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4 night stay organised tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we were with a group of around 30 people on a 'heritage railway' tour, we were well looked after, staff helpful and friendly and the hotel had a nice atmosphere. the menu had plenty of choice and the food was well above our expectations considering we were travelling as a group. would definitely stay again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Super Steve saved our friends wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for our friends wedding on the last weekend of June, the hotel itself looks a bit run down and the rooms are very dated, terrible food and NO free wifi, however if you make your way to the bar you'll come across a lovely young gentleman called Steve, the savour of our trip, he is the bar supervisor and a true legend, this young lad maybe mid 20's, but he worked all day and night till 4 in the morning putting up with our rowdy bunch, we then saw him at 9 the next morning, he had actually worked all the way through the night and still greeted us with a smile and a how do you do, if it wasn't for this bar legend we would not go back, I'm pretty proud to say that yes I do have a bit of a man crush on him, but why is a young lad like that not your bar manager???? he's the only good thing we found in your hotel and the only good thing you have, me and my wife hope he will take us up on our offer to come back down south, we own a pub and are looking for staff and let me tell you when your looking for a good bar man it's hard to find a gem like him. Thank you Steve and if you ever do find your self back down south then we'll give you the bar manager job you deserve. Steve what a legend!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at The Old Swan a number of times, and I can understand to a degree that the place looks a little tied some and requiring a touch of TLC. However, we have just returned from a short break there and upon arrival had changed our mind on the Executive room and requested a upgrade as it was my wife's birthday.

Staff really helpful and accommodating, upgrade at a very reasonable price and ended up with a four poster!

Really enjoyed the stay and will be returning, on the room front I feel it is a little hit and miss dependent upon your luck, as stated, some rooms are looking tied and need a bit of attention, but that's NOT the staffs fault.

Breakfast was acceptable, they appear to have done away with the self serve which I feel was better, but that's a cost exercise I am sure.

The only thing with a lot of people that stay there is they expect to be treated like royalty, and I'm sorry, but the hotel is not that expensive, so not sure what you expect for your money but it's excellent value overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Swan also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.