We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, beef in red wine a sauce recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin Cafe & Petit Bistro

Le Jardin Cafe & Petit Bistro
7, Montpellier Parade, Harrogate, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 360 Restaurants in Harrogate
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Really good 'home' cooked food, local produce, great service and good prices. http://www.lejardin-harrogate.com
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, beef in red wine a sauce recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were staying in Harrogate for a long weekend and hadn't booked a restaurant for Saturday evening. We came across Le Petit bistro and called in on spec. They had a few tables left, we decided to sit downstairs. There was a lovely atmosphere with subtle lighting and candles in wine bottles on the table. Typically French atmosphere in the centre of North Yorkshire.

The food was delicious, we went for their set 2 course menu. I had the Chicken and Leak pie, my wife had the beef in red wine sauce. Both came out in good time accompanied with delicious vegetables and new potatoes. The pie was lovely but the beef was amazing!...so tender, the meat just falling apart and melting in the mouth.

We had the Strawberry pavlova and the Lemon mouse flan for desert, equally as good as the main.

We definitely recommend this restaurant, food delicious, service good, atmosphere lovely.

Mark & Sue

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    55
    27
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lovely little bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Harrogate for the Christmas Fair over the weekend. We reserved a table here for Saturday night. The service was excellent, as was the food. We both had the three course menu which was extremely good value at £12.95. A really pleasant evening was had and if we are in the area again, we will definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect end to a busy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We ate here two years ago, and also enjoyed that, so when we came across it again (by accident) we decided to try it again. We were welcomed by happy, friendly, helpful staff, and enjoyed freshly prepared, tasty, reasonably priced food. Last booking is 8.30pm. If we lived in Harrogate, it would be our local!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb food and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Harrogate last week and booked a table in this lovely restaurant. We had the set menu in the evening which was superb. We both chose a prawn cocktail to start and to have the beef steak in red wine for our main meal which just fell apart and melted in your mouth with lovely fresh vegetables and new potatoes. The home made pavlova dessert that I had was wonderful and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the fruit crumble with their special home made ice cream. We had a lovely bottle of white wine (reasonably priced)with our meal and coffee afterwards. The ambience in the restaurant was lovely, service was great and the staff were very friendly. We will definitely eat here again if we are ever back in Harrogate. Can highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I recently stayed in Harrogate and chose to eat here due to the nice surroundings and traditional signage. After studying the set price menu which seemed very reasonable we decided to try it out. I can honestly say it was the biggest disappointment and the worst food I've eaten in a restaurant for 20 years! The fish cakes were burnt and tasted of greasy days old cooking oil. The veg was out of a tin and every course was barely edible! Although seems decent value for money don't be lured in by this! The owners should be ashamed to serve such rubbish! Put this restaurant anywhere else and it wouldn't last a week! You will be disappointed, my advice : spend your money elsewhere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jardin Cafe & Petit Bistro also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Le Jardin Cafe & Petit Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jardin Cafe & Petit Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.