We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrogate Boutique Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harrogate Boutique Apartments to your Saves list
Harrogate Boutique Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   125 -129 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A little disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I actually had to argue with my other half to book HBA as he is more of a "hotel kinda guy". I like the flexibility, freedom and additional space you get with an apartment whereas he likes the anonymity and luxury of a hotel (with the option of course of being waited on if so desired). I got my way promising him luxury and opulence.
We arrived earlier than the 3pm check in but the key to our apartment was ready for collection so that was a bonus. The parking arrangements are good and we got a space right outside... so far so good. We were allocated apartment 5 on Valley Drive, it is on the top floor and although we only requested a one bed this apartment actually has two, a twin and a double. The building itself is pretty but the communal areas inside let it down, they are narrow and a bit dark and dingy, not very inviting.
Once inside the apartment we found there really was everything we could possibly need plus more but I just felt it had all been done a bit cheaply. The sofas were small and uncomfortable. The bedrooms were small and the double was only a standard double not a king size. It was by no means awful, just not what I was expecting. We did have more total space than if we'd just booked a hotel room but I would have preferred a one bed with more useful space as the 2nd bedroom was just wasted on us. I expected sumptuous and spacious but got run of the mill and cramped. On the plus side there were plenty of cups, a big fridge and a good bathroom with a decent over head shower.
The location is quite good, about half a mile of pleasant strolling to the hub of Harrogate. We took a cab in on the first night as I was wearing killer heels, it cost £4, so if you don't fancy walking it's quite cheap to get around.
Harrogate is a lovely place to stay, the people are really friendly, the restaurants absolutely superb (Le D2 and Deano's graze and grill come highly recommended) and John Street has some vibrant bars if you fancy a night out.
It seems to me reading previous reviews that the issue here is about HBA managing guests' expectations. Some of us travellers have been led to believe we will get more than what's really on offer. Perhaps more realistic, less artistic, photos on the website might help?
I think we would definitely come back to Harrogate but I think my other half will get his way next time and we'll try a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    35
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
82
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Harrogate Boutique Apartments are all that you could wish for. Classy decor and comfort from the sofas to the bed. It offers full cooking facilities with ample glasses and crockery (not the minimum of 2 glasses and few plates like some apartments) and is sparkling clean. Our apartment had 1 king bedroom with ensuite and one small single (which was great to put the luggage) with bathroom. There is also a washing machine with powder supplied - how thoughtful.

The TV has cable channels, such as CNN which is a nice change and not something offered in other places. There is also free WiFi and parking,

It is situated just around the corner from some interesting shops with a small Sainbury's, fruit and veg. and bakery as well as a variety of restaurants. It is quite an easy walk into the city if you don't want to take the car.

I can highly recommend this apartment and was very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hidden Gem is a must! Right up my street in terms of style and Luxury, Just like a home from home, the apartment was modern and well equipped with everything you need, even a washing machine and dishwasher!!

Harrogate is so lovely and I want to move there, Our stay was a quick stop over, but we will definately be returning, I can not fault the apartment on anything,

LOVE LOVED IT! XXX

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We (family of two adults, two children) stayed for one night at apartment 1, 4 Spring Grove, but wish it could have been longer! We couldn't fault this beautiful apartment which was spotlessly clean, very tastefully decorated, and very spacious. The quality bed linens and big fluffy towels were much appreciated and the whole place had a feeling of luxury. Situated on a quiet, leafy residental street, it was a short walk to Valley Gardens park which has a fantastic large children's play area which our girls loved, and shops/restaurants etc were also close at hand. Suzanne, the owner, communicated very efficiently by e-mail and text message a few days before our arrival with all the information we needed, and it was clear that we were welcome to contact her with any problems (there were none) but she was not going to intrude on our stay. All I can say is, if you are considering booking this apartment, do it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This apartment has everything you need for a functional stay away. The apartments, unlike down market, over priced chains such as Roomz is a miles better. Larger, better quality, better kitchen, more utensils and a dining table! We booked a 1 bedroom apartment and received a 2 bedroom apartment, which gave extra changing area and wardrobe space. This apartment itself feels like a home from home, modern comfortable and not just a converted hotel room with a kitchen. very close to the centre but away from the noise, I would highly recommend staying here especially if you want an alternative to the overpriced hotels in Harrogate.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Have just returned from a long week end at HBA with 6 friends. We were in Apartment 1 and 2 of Spring House and I just want to let you know on behalf of us all how wonderful we thought they were. My friends kept saying, thank you for finding these, they are so much nicer than staying in a hotel.
We had a great week end with everything you could ever want supplied in the kitchen and bedrooms. The 100% cotton sheets make me want to go out and buy some for myself, so good to sleep in. It was also so lovely to have the outdoor space just off the Kitchen and no worries about parking. The decor was lovely and very relaxing.
We are so please to have found you and will certainly be coming back for another stay as soon as possible. Perfect place, perfect decor and just a short walk into Harrogate which was a lovely place to spend a few days, lots to do and lovely restaurants. Thanks again, cannot recommend enough and will tell all my friends if they are going to Harrogate go to HBA, or if looking for a nice week end away go to Harrogate and stay with HBA.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Well, we've just come back from the apartments and reading the review below before we set off on Friday morning worried me slightly as we were told we were staying in apartment 8 also. However, I could not disagree more with the last review as our stay was fabulous! Granted, the bottom of the bed sheets were slightly dirty but everything else was superb :) The apartment was a stone throw away from the gardens and the town centre but the road was quiet both at day and night time. The imformation pack on the table was excellent in telling us where to eat and what to do, as well as how to work the dvd player and tv. The apartment was spotless and beautifully decorated and would absolutely love to visit again :)

Room Tip: Lower ground ones were probably more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrogate Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Boutique Apartments

Address: 125 -129 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrogate Boutique Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrogate Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Boutique Apartments Hotel Harrogate
Harrogate Boutique Apartments Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrogate Boutique Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.