We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bivio Italian Restaurant Harrogate

Al Bivio Italian Restaurant Harrogate
The Lenz | Hornbeam Park Avenue, Harrogate HG2 8RE, England (Formerly BRIO PIZZA HORNBEAM PARK)
01423 870005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 364 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Modern Italian Restaurant & Fully Licensed Bar with Al-Fresco area and plenty of Free Car Park. Only 100 yards away from Hornbeam Park train station.Pizza Salads Pasta Vegetarian Dishes Focaccine Meats Poultry & Fresh Fish Specialities on Daily Menu Fresh Pasta & Home made Desserts.Business Lunches & Pronto Lunch Menu Free Venue ideal for daily Business Coffee Meetings. Take / Away Most Food & Beverages available. Open Mon-Sat 8am - 10pm Sunday Closed.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a restaurant we go to about 3 times a month. It is good for a large party or a dinner for two. The service is always good and we never fail to be impressed and delighted with the food. We take all our friends there and is a family favourite. Best of all it takes us ten minutes to walk so never a worry of who is going to drive. My husband says the Al Bivio house red is one of the best for its price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    40
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic italian food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is our local restaurant and we love it. Always great food and service. Pizza/pasta/salads all fabulous. The steaks are excellent, particularly with the pepper sauce. Puddings/ice cream just what you would expect from a great Italian restaurant. Always willing to do that bit extra. The best Italian in Harrogate!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited Al Bivio many times are rarely disappointed. Sometimes the service can be a bit slow or lacking but this tie it was spot on - very friendly and efficiently. In fact 3 waiters offered t take our drinks order as soon as we had sat down!! All the food was delicious and well prepared, the only exception being my husband's steak which was slightly overcooked but still good. I disagree with a previous reviewer who said there is hardly any choice that isn't pizza or pasta. Their salads are delicious and very generous, and the steaks and fish are also very good. Yes it is noisy but that's the traditional Italian style and also part of the attraction, as if you have small children with you there is no need to worry about disturbing other customers and you can have a private conversation without others being able to hear. The drinks range and desserts are excellent. I had the homemade tiramisu which is heavenly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went on Saturday night, overall it was excellent as always. The service is always good as is the food. Great atmosphere and very enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just ok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ate here a couple of weeks ago, based on trip advisor reviews and we were a little disappointed. The food is undoubtedly nice, and good value for money, however we were disappointed by the lack of choice on the menu if you didn't want pizza or pasta.

The restaurant itself is what lets the place down. The arrangement is bizarre, with a large bar in the centre and then hard wooden tables dotted around. They had a local radio station playing in the background, which also added nothing to the ambience. The tables and chairs were more akin to a secondary school canteen and they really destroyed the overall look of the place.

The waiters were friendly and the service was quick, however I found it hard to relax here due to the style of the restaurant and the radio in the background. Won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bivio Italian Restaurant Harrogate also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Al Bivio Italian Restaurant Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bivio Italian Restaurant Harrogate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.