We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic Italain Restaurant with Papa in charge of the kitchen.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Romana

Casa Romana
23 Cheltenham Crescent, Harrogate HG1 1DH, England
+44 1423 568568
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 326 Restaurants in Harrogate
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established in 1983, Casa Romana is a family run restaurant serving fine traditional Italian food.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An authentic Italain Restaurant with Papa in charge of the kitchen.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lovely evening, good food and very pleasant staff.Food piping hot and very good wines. Accepted booking at short notice and only had a ten minute wait before been shown to our table.Service charge discretionary.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    21
    10
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've lived in Harrogate all my life but never eaten here. Bought a voucher so thought i would try it as it was a great deal. I was pleasantly surprised as i managed to get booked in the next day and had a lovely table by the window to people watch.
Food was perfect and just what we needed after a girly shopping day. Pizza's were enormous and wine was lovely. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value and Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Went hear on Friday and couldn't fault it. Food was great value for Harrogate. I had steak and my wife had pasta. Both dishes were generous portions and tasted great.
Casa Romana has a nice relaxing atmosphere and the service couldn't have been better. It's nice and spacious too - you don't feel like you are sat on top of the people next to you.
Would definitely come back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Groupon Offer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Talk about the worst meal out ever!! I bought a Groupon Voucher for this restaurant thinking it would be a great meal for 2. Two courses and glass of wine each for £25 altogether, a huge saving of £40!! Well, both our starters were forgettable, £1.00 worth of food each, the wine practically undrinkable and then came the main course. I ordered Lamb Shank, £16.99 worth. What a joke, the smallest portion I have ever seen of lamb was put in front of me. Veg for 2 consisted of a few cold carrots, a few cold peas and a lot of greasy potatoes. I had to ask for extra veg, the same thing came out. My husband had veal, again not much on his plate. We left the restaurant so hungry that we were needing another meal within a couple of hours. Do yourself a favour and avoid this venue, the service was poor, food worse and the waiter was off with us because we had a coupon. A tip was never on the cards

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“crap service and cold food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

we came here with a voucher and it looked like the staff treat the voucher customers as second class and only bothered with the full paying brigade , we went in and no-one even acknowleged us eventually i had to ask if we had to sit down or stand up all night , the young female waitress could hardly be bothered to speak to us and when she was taking our order she was looking at other tables and not even listening , when the starters came mine was cold risotto as it had taken so long , we had to ask for cutlery and might as well as served ourselves absolutely crap , this was the second time we came here after many years and thought we may of had a bad exeprience the first time but it was just the same totally rubbish , the psitive reviews on here are either very lucky punters or written by the staff

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Romana also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Casa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.