We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very poor breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsway Hotel Harrogate

Kingsway Hotel Harrogate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kingsway Hotel Harrogate to your Saves list
Kingsway Hotel Harrogate
36 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, very poor breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Recently stayed here with my girlfriend. The room was reasonable size. The shower didn't work in the morning and nearly scalded my girlfriend. Breakfast was horrendous- no option on eggs just came out as a nuked fried egg, toast was thin white bread. Bacon was dreadful, no sausages. We didn't eat much of it. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
14
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay and was really happy with this hotel. Small and friendly and provides everything you could need. Room was really comfy and good shower. Breakfasts were lovely and Tanya & Andy make sure everything is covered. Hotel very close to everywhere.Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've just had 2 nights in the Kingsway hotel. The hotel is fine - very clean with a good breakfast.
There are only 2 parking places at the front, but more available round the back at the weekend, when the offices next door are closed.
The location is great - just a short walk up a hill to town, across the road from the convention centre and less than 2 minutes to the nearest pub.
I only gave it 3 out of 5 because of the bed. We knew the room was small before we booked, but we weren't expecting the bed to be as small as it was. It's not a full size double, so a larger than average couple will struggle to sleep comfortably.
Luckily for us, we're not larger than average so we just about managed.
We would be very happy to return to the Kingsway, but not to room 1

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Cheap & cheerful. Stayed for one night & arrived well before check in time & proprietor was very helpful, allowing us to check into the room. Small room but very clean & comfortable bed. Breakfast was plenty of cereal, juice, tea/coffee, toast & cooked breakfast. It is in a really good central location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for one night. Proprietor was very friendly and helpful. Room was on the top floor, small yet practical and just what we needed for our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely and we were very happy overall, apart from the road noise. Great location. Good value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's B and B is one of the cheapest in Harrogate so anybody expecting a five star palatial room is barking up the wrong tree. That said, we found our room to be small yes but perfectly comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had an small bathroom with a good shower, we were even provided with shower toiletries which was an unexpected surprise. The room was cleaned and the bed made up each day. A full English breakfast was included in the price and it was a very good breakfast with unlimited toast, cereal, tea, coffee and orange juice. The landlady and her assistant were very pleasant and helpful and offered us plenty of local knowledge. The hotel is very well located, five minutes from the centre of town. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at this b&b it is nota hotel.room was very basic and the tv was rubbish had to tune it in ourselfs, you could not stay in the room for any length of time it was tiny and very dark . Saying that it was cheap so what can you expect ? It is central to shops ect.and is clean . On arrival we found the lady rude handed us our keys told her us breakfast was at between7and 9 but to be down by 8.30as she will be very busy then slammed the door and went back to her room! No hello welcome very rude ,! I was all set to tell her what I thought of her customer service this morning but she was a little less rude this morning the breakfast is poor more like a child's breakfast would not stay here again

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsway Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel Harrogate

Address: 36 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kingsway Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsway Hotel Harrogate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.