We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world flavours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of van Zeller

van Zeller
8 Montpellier St, Harrogate HG1 2TQ, England
(01423) 508762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 364 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Van Zeller restaurant in Harrogate has a chef of rare gifts in native Yorkshireman Tom Van Zeller. Creating delicious and innovative British cuisine is the mission here, and one that has succeeded admirably. The smart dining room is both stylish and comfortable, a fine, intimate bistro-style setting for the kitchen's high ambitions. Chef Van Zeller started his career locally at the famous Betty's Tearooms and Rudding Park before learning his craft in some Michelin-starred restaurants in London, Sydney and New York. Now returning to his roots, Van Zeller won the backing of esteemed restaurateur David Moore (two Michelin starred Pied a Terre and Michelin starred l'Autre Pied) in creating Van Zeller restaurant. Almost immediately, his creative cuisine has earned Van Zeller Best Newcomer at the 2010 Northern Hospitality Awards, Best Chef at the 2010 Harrogate Hospitality & Tourism Awards and a pair of AA rosettes. Van Zeller is one of Harrogate's destination restaurants.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Out of this world flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This is somewhere that we were always going to go to, but never got round to. On a shopping trip we decided to see if they had room. They did. We had the standard lunch set menu, but standard is the wrong word. Three beautiful courses, an amuse bouche and a pre desert 'cleanser' were all out of this world. My wife and I had differing dishes so were able to taste a wide range. Cooking and presentation, excellent, the blending of flavours, magnificent. A haft bottle of Sauvignon blanc, good.All in all a meal the equal, if not better, than many 'Michelins' that we have tasted. We will return!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi poggy111, thank you very much for all your comments, it is such a compliment to hear you felt the meal was ‘equal, if not better’ than many other Michelin restaurants you have experienced. I’m glad you finally got the chance to visit and look forward to your return. Thanks, Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    49
    27
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Surprise visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Taken by friends for dinner..what a fantastic place. Intimate venue, staff most welcoming and professional. Menu delightful, making it hard to choose. Everything just amazing flavours and composition.Unable to fing any fault with any dish served in any course presented . OK highly priced meal but what an experience. Surely a worthy contender for 1st Michelin star .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi ladiesabouttown, thank you for your feedback, it was lovely to read your comments and I’m so glad you enjoyed dining at van Zeller. Thank you for the compliment, a Michelin star would certainly be a dream come true! Thanks again, Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a colleague who had visited a few months before. We took advantage of the early dinner option and enjoyed excellent 5 course meals with unusual and exciting flavours. The service was excellent with a detailed description being given of each dish and the ambiance perfect. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Eastanglian, thank you for your lovely comments and for the recommendation. I hope to welcome you back soon, maybe for the à la carte next time. Thanks, Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Michelin star just around the corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great food delivered in a warm environment with first class service. Tom van Zeller is an incredibly talented chef at the top of his game. The early evening menu is great value. Well worth a trip to Harrogate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi jonkbell_11, thank you for your comments – I felt quite shy reading them! I hope to see you at van Zeller again soon. Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently had dinner here and although the food was excellent we felt it was overpriced. The meal is advertised as 5 courses for £49 with a supplement for some of the main dishes. However it really is a 3 course meal as the intermediate servings could not be considered courses. The restaurant is small and when full might be crowded and noisy. There were only a few diners when we were there. The service was excellent. There are many better value restaurants in Harrogate. I think it would be more honest to advertise this as a 3 course meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi expatozAdelaide, sorry to hear that although you enjoyed the meal the menu style wasn’t to your taste. The amuse bouche and pre-dessert courses are part of the experience and aim to give you a taste of exciting flavours without being overbearing. We do also offer an à la carte menu which may be more to your liking. Thanks again for your comments, Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed van Zeller also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to van Zeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage van Zeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.