We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelbourne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelbourne House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   78 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Annan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A very good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everything is perfect so friendly and very helpfull Neil and Sue know how to treat guests.Our daughter stayed with us after flying into leeds bradford airport and she said this is a very good choice.If anyone one comes to harrogate make sure you stay here you wont regret it.The breakfasts are all cooked with top quality local produce and are fantastic.Thanks again to Neil and Sue we hpoe to come back later in the year.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the best room in the hotel. Very well Designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Neil was a design engineer for 25 years so even our most compact rooms are well designed and have everything we feel you will need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Harrogate is slap bang in the middle of the UK so a good place to meet family and friends.

Please check us out on face book for great deals and follow us on twitter.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
70
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my hubby visited here fri 14th June for 2 nights for my birthday , and honestly it was superb. Comfy and clean bedrooms and beds, friendly hosts that really made you feel at home . Lovely breakfast , will definitely return if we come back to harrogate.

Thanks Neil and sue for your friendly stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Shelbourne House and Harrogate is the place to come for a special occasion. Let us know and we are more than happy to put a treat in your room. Five minutes walk and you are in the beautiful town of Harrogate, full of fantastic restaurants, coffee houses and bars. Fifteen minutes drive and enjoy the Yorkshire Dales.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A beautiful warm friendly hotel / B&B close to town center ....

The rooms are very nicely decorated and spotless clean.

I can honestly say I look forward to returning here time and time again .

Sue is a fantastic Landlady who also cooks you the best breakfast I have ever had in any Hotel.

Keep up the good work sue .

See you soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write a review it is really important to us that our guests have a great stay every time they return. Our ingredients are locally sourced and we are proud of only serving what we feel is the best.

It was fantastic to see you at two separate exhibitions this year and we look forward to your return next year...or sooner?....on a well deserved break!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Twelve of us took over the house for the weekend to celebrate a big birthday. The hosts are so warm, welcoming and thoughtful, nothing was too much trouble. The house and front garden are immaculate and the rooms so comfortable. There are lovely toiletries in the ensuites, free wifi and iPod docks in all the rooms. It is close to town but far enough from the late bars for it to be peaceful. The breakfasts are amazing, from the fruit salad to the full English to the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon!
Truly a home from home and I hope to be back in the future.
Thank you for helping to make our weekend magical

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Taking the whole house over is a great way to celebrate a special occasion. We are happy to accommodate personal needs, from bringing your own drinks and nibbles to booking restaurants and recombining things to do.

Please check out our face book page for midweek deals and follow us on twitter.

We hope to see you all in the near future. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here over Easter, lovely house in a superb location in the delightful town of Harrogate. Very comfy bed and delicious breakfast with lots of options and info of where they source their ingredients. Free parking definitely an added bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent restaurant recommendations from Sue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are spoiled in Harrogate having many good restaurants on our doorstep. It is only a five minute walk into town and you can be eating delicious food.. We try and eat at all the restaurants (not a hard job!) so that we are able to give personal recommendations.

We hope to see you soon. Check out our Facebook page for midweek offers and follow us on twitter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My family business exhibits at trade shows in Harrogate every year, since finding this little gem the view of our colleagues, staff and friends who we have introduced to Shelbourne House is "why stay anywhere else?" As well as being clean, comfortable, well maintained and convenient it manages to do something that is uncommon; it feels like home from home.
The guest house's best feature is Sue.
Sue is always happy to help, she is cheerful and accommodating, we look forward to seeing her every year.
As has been mentioned by other reviewers breakfast is a real treat, the ingredients used are of superb quality, indeed of award winning quality in many cases, the menu is well conceived and the choice is ample.
Having stayed in various rooms over the years I have always been happy with the space, some rooms are larger than others but all are adequate in-terms of space and specification.
Parking permits are on-hand and spaces are available..
To conclude I'll say that reviewing hotels isn't something I do, in this case however, given the service I feel it's only fair to pass-on this referral - Excellent!!

Room Tip: Just tell Sue what you want, there's good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
When our guests return again and again it is the biggest compliment that we can have. Our guests return for regular conferences and we have a house full of people who meet up at Shelbourne House and have a good catch up to what has been happening over the year both in business and pleasure.

Thank you for your review and see you next year. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There is not much I can add to the other reviews of this place.
We recently spent 2 nights there whilst visiting Harrogate.
Location is perfect, nearly opposite the conference centre and less than a 5 minute walk into the town centre. Parking permits for the weekend were provided upon arrival so there was no hassle with moving the car/parking charges etc.
The house itself is lovely and decorated to a very high standard
Although there was only 2 of us we had a family room (room 2), which conisisted of a double bed and a large single bed. The room was lovely, well decorated, very clean with nice touches such as shower gel, tea/coffee facilities.
Sue is the pefect host and like others have said before, it is like going to stay with a friend.
Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and there is also a selection of fruits and cereals.
Overall this is a great B&B which I would highly recommend.
We are already looking at dates for when we can return!

Room Tip: Book early if you want a choice of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We aim to make people feel comfortable and that you have enjoyed the surroundings and take full advantage of what Harrogate has to offer.

We hope that we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne House

Address: 78 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelbourne House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelbourne House AA four star,More than just a family run bed and breakfast. The house is ahigh standard boutique style accommodation. Located adjacent to the International Conference Centre and Exhibition Halls. Two minutes walk from the door is the historic spa town, and its selection of elegant boutiques, fine restuarants, contemporary cafes and period tea rooms. All of this is complemented by the unique homely and relaxed style of hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelbourne House Hotel Harrogate
Shelbourne House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelbourne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shelbourne House to your Saves list