We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelbourne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelbourne House
Save
You added Shelbourne House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   78 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Definitely stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here 3 or 4 nights a week for six months while I was working in Harrogate and highly recommend Shelbourne House for any kind of stay. It is really a 5 star small boutique hotel with tastefully decorated rooms, fantastic Yorkshire breakfasts prepared using locally sourced produce as well as excellent free WiFi fast enough to make Skype calls etc.
Sue is a fantastic host and will always make sure that everything is just as you want it.
I cannot recommend Shelbourne House highly enough - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. The old saying "arrive as a guest leave as a friend" is certainly true. The guest lounge, with you on your apple, in front of the open fire on a cold winters night will be missed.

Please take a look at our FB page and press like for the latest news and offers. Follow us on Twitter.

Kind Regards

Sue and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
72
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location for us after long days at the showground. We normally hire a cottage but this was so good we have booked for next year already. Everything is lovely, especially relaxing in front of the log fire with a Baileys on a cold winter's evening.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a wonderful review. See you next year.

Take a look at our Facebook page and like for offers and news. Follow us on Twitter.

Regards

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Shelbourne House is definitely worthy of its 4 star rating and its breakfast should be 5 stars!

Lovely boutique rooms it's had a recent renovation and you have to see for yourself how cosy it is!

Sue & Neil will really go out of their way to help you, Sue kindly went to the shop to buy special milk (for dietary requirements) and kept in her fridge for our arrival!

En suite facilities are great and they even gave a jug of fresh milk in our rooms for tea/coffee which is a lovely touch that not many guesthouses do. Certainly beats long-life nonsense at most hotels!

Parking is often tricky in Harrogate but they sort you out with a parking permit.

Located within a 5 minute walk of town centre and fabulous bars & restaurants.

Breakfast is amazing - all local farm/ butcher produce and cooked freshly to your specifications.

Beautiful Doreen's back pudding - worth driving there just to try it! Plenty of gorgeous fresh fruit and cereal - fruit presented very well with fresh yoghurt or cream.

Book now - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are always happy to meet all dietary needs, just let us know. : ))

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends soon.

Sue and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself and 10 friends stayed at the Shelbourne in December 2012 from Friday to Sunday to celebrate a 40th Birthday! This beautiful boutique B&B (which is far superior to most hotels I have stayed in) was excellent. The rooms are tastefully decorated throughout and each one has its own individual style, spotlessly clean and super comfy. The lounge area was a great place to chat and relax and the breakfast was super scrummy! The hosts Neil and Sue could not have done anymore to make our stay more enjoyable. They recommended retaurants and bars and shared their knowledge of Harrogate with us, nothing was too much trouble. Myself and the grils had an absolutley fantastic weekend which was made extra special with our stay at the Shelbourne. We are now in the throws of planning our return trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Wow what a great bunch, you certainly made the most of Harrogate and all that it has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a glowing review, and I know that you are talking of a repeat visit!

Please take a look at our Facebook page for a news and offers, like, for future updates. Follow us on twitter.

Sue and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed at this boutique B & B before and were lucky to get booked in at short notice. this time with my daughters. Great service, and delicious breakfast as usually. The couple who run it are soooo friendly and helpful, you could not ask for more. I really cannot fault it. The rooms are all different and very welcoming. Christmas decorations were up and made the B & B look every more welcoming and charming. A+++++++

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is a massive compliment when we see people coming back! hope it is not too long before we see you again, before it is too late for the cosy open fire..... : ))

Best Wishes

Sue and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A fantastic quality bed and breakfast , beautiful decor, excellent location to the centre of Harrogate and the most friendliest owners, they really can't do enough for you! breakfast was fantastic and I can honestly say would highly recommend this wonderful place!!!
thank you for a wonderful stay

Karen Jeffery

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We always appreciate a good title!. Thanks for the lovely review. Our aim is for you to leave rested and wanting to return. We take pride on offering a good hearty breakfast, locally sourced produce and freshly cooked to order.

Check out our facebook page for the latest news and follow us on twitter.

Kind Regards

Neil and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Weekend visit with friends and was absolutely blown away with what a beautiful house this is! I was in a single room that was perfectly cosy with a lovely en-suite and the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. The room was beautifully presented and had modern lighting and tv available.
I managed to see some of the other larger rooms and each was equally as impressive as the last with beautifully selected furniture and fittings in each and kept to a very high standard.
The hosts make are friendly, welcoming and so helpful! Advising on where places were lending an Ipad to place a food order, lighting the large roaring fire whenever it died out and generally helping with anything they could.
The breakfast was fresh and made to order with locally sourced products and very flexible in terms of suiting individual needs, plenty of choice with fresh fruit (such as strawberries and blue berries) on offer as well as a cooked breakfast.
I cannot reccommend this place highly enough and can't wait to find any excuse i can to visit again!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful with full ensuites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, first and foremost, this is not only a B&b, we welcome people into our home. Neil spent many years as a design engineer and it reflects on the thought and design that has gone into the bedrooms, also with working away from home he has first hand knowledge with what is needed to make a comfortable stay. We like people to remember not only our quirky guest accommodation, but enjoy a good quality breakfast.

We hope we to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne House

Address: 78 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelbourne House AA four star,More than just a family run bed and breakfast. The house is ahigh standard boutique style accommodation. Located adjacent to the International Conference Centre and Exhibition Halls. Two minutes walk from the door is the historic spa town, and its selection of elegant boutiques, fine restuarants, contemporary cafes and period tea rooms. All of this is complemented by the unique homely and relaxed style of hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelbourne House Hotel Harrogate
Shelbourne House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelbourne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.