We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Risers will love this!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Inn
Save
You added The New Inn to your Saves list
Burnt Yates, Harrogate HG3 3EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Early Risers will love this!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A cheery welcome when we arrived - via the pub entrance. Guest reception area is quaint but needs airing (door & windows are kept closed). Room clean & comfortable, yummee biscuits & Kenco Smooth on the tray! :-) "Chandelier" ceiling light rather low for a 6' man removing a pullover! Ensuite shower room: spotless, spacious cubicle,toiletries provided, fluffiest towels EVER! Shower temperature seemed unresponsive - cooler than we'd choose! Carpet a liitle dated, old TV (no Freeview) - so not really a "Superior" room. Ate on site 1st night - lovely local food. Slimline tonic was 36% more expensive than at The Boar's Head, Ripley Castle!
If you like to take your time before having breakfast, beware .. it's served 8-9am only, - my husband had to come up to the room for my cooked breakfast order at 8.48am, so not much flexibility. Orange juice both mornings -no choice, good breakfast - excellent poached eggs.!

Room Tip: The road is surprisingly busy, and the rooms are not double-glazed,so not a good choice if your not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
40
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fantastic little pub set in a lovely location just a short (7 miles) drive from Harrogate centre. Pauline and Tim make you feel so welcome and provide a gorgeous breakfast with lovely, comfortable rooms. Food served in the pub was equally as good and the pint was excellent. Thank you for a lovely, refreshing break - we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 7 was quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

had a lovely comfortable stay Tim and Pauline are great hosts the room was comfortable had a good nights sleep and the breakfast was excellent just sorry we didnt get to have a evening meal but will try one next time

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here mid week, it was easy to find, the food & drink was great (i highly reccomend the sticky toffee pudding!), we were greeted by the owners with a lovely warm welcome! The rooms were excellent, cosy & spotlessly clean! Only a short drive to Harrogate. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the New Inn between Christmas and New Year. Pauline and Tim were great hosts and ensured a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The room was excellent along with all the meals and drinks we had in the bar. Special mention for the quality of the real ale of which plenty was consumed! Breakfast in the morning was also really good, cooked exactly as ordered with good quality bacon, sausages etc. Simple things done well = a great stay and that's what we had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I echo all the great comments that already exist on this page, the room was beautiful, great meal and drinks in the pub for dinner, delicious full english breakie in the morning and very helpful owners. Harrogate is around 15 minutes drive away, and the hotel is easy to find with lovely views of the countryside. One thing to note - we got no reception at all at the hotel (apparently orange network is the worst there) so let your family know the number of the hotel if they need to get hold of you as you'll have no chance using your phone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We had booked two single rooms B&B and were given two double rooms so a very reasonable rate. Both rooms very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Good supply of teas, coffees and biscuits each day. Other reviewers have commented on the rooms being small, but they are ample as there is plenty of storage space so you don't feel cluttered. Also the bathrooms are well appointed. Room 8 had the most amazing shower in a massive cubicle. Also other comments on here re traffic noise but this is not a problem in the evenings when you need to sleep. It is only sometimes noticeable in the rooms at the front because you are staying in such a peaceful rural location, but on a "main" road and many of the drivers are exceeding the 50mph speed limit during the day! But it is not actually a busy road. Rooms at back are quieter but room 5 backs on to a roof terrace so you can't keep windows open and they are frosted which is a slight downside but still a good room otherwise. Security is generally good as you have a key to the main front door of the b&b side of the pub which is locked all day.

Excellent friendly service, well cooked food in bar, good Theakstons best bitter and perfectly cooked full english breakfast with good quality local ingredients and proper bread. You could not ask for a better deal or a nicer welcome for the price. Highly recommended and much better value than similar hotels in the nearby towns.

Room Tip: Room 8 huge luxury shower! Well furnished and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Burnt Yates, Harrogate HG3 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the doorstep of the Yorkshire Dales yet only a 10 minute drive from Harrogate, The New Inn offers the traveler comfortable fully refurbished 4 star accommodation, a restaurant serving delicious food and fine wines and a traditional bar with real ales and in winter a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Harrogate
The New Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.