We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harrogate Motel

Harrogate Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harrogate Motel to your Saves list
Harrogate Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Brackenthwaite LaneBurn Bridge, Harrogate HG3 1PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dreadful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The sheet on the bed was stained, there were cobwebs everywhere, the shower hadn't been cleaned properly, the room wasn't cleaned during our stay, they could have at least emptied the bin, and checked to se if we needed clean towels. We were woken up at 2am, 4am, and 5am by people banging doors, and shouting to each other in the corridor. The bed was lumpy, and uncomfortable, and was on an incline. The breakfast was continental, we didn't discover this until we arrived, so we didn't bother having breakfast. All-in-all, a dreadful experience. We won't be back again - ever!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
4
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beachmere, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

4 Stars is relative to the $s reflecting good value for money. Yes there's a 100 yards of potholed road in but you are only 5 minutes from downtown and the Black Swan pub was great for evening meal. Rooms are smallish but clean and comfortable. Michelle, our host, was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Quite adequate continental breakfast. Most unusual location, we got to watch a bunch of young people training with their horses for show jumping - right outside our room, looking through glass. Also WiFi in the room was fast and reliable and quite large TV to view, two things we could not say about a number of places costing 50% more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetenham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were going to two different exhibitions and B&B space was at a premium. We came across this establishment on the web and agree with the reviews already written.

Yes this is in the middle of nowhere but only a few minutes from a good pub and 4 miles from Harrogate.

Yes it is down a narrow lane with a muddy potholes on the drive into the farm. Just take it slowly.

Yes the accommodation is unremarkable and basic, but it was clean and adequate with TV, Wi-fi, and tea making facilities.

Yes breakfast was a continental semi DIY affair but you won't go without.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and the price was just right for what you get.

Just don't expect the Hilton and you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Are boss booked us in this place as we was working in harrogate center. Iv been working away for about 5 years and change jobs around every 5 weeks so I have stayed in my fair share of B&Bs and I place this 2nd worst Iv stayed in!!!! The rooms were really dated it was like stepping back in the 80s it felt dark and cold it had trunking running on the ceilings for the electrics and most of all it smelt funny, which mite of had something to do with the horse arena out side are room. We went down after 5 min of being there asking if we could have are money back saying we didn't want to upset anyone but it wasn't for us! But the woman wouldn't let us just leave an kept asking why? So we told her!! What didn't go down well as are boss later told us she had said we was swearing and saying we normally stay in 5* hotels! What was a lie! They also refused to pay us back for that nights stay, saying they would have to get the room fully cleaned as we'd been in there!! Alls I can say is, if you like horses and are using the riding school then maybe stay there but we checked out and got another hotel for an extra £5 a night what was 100x better...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This motel is difficult to find down a pot holed lane. On arrival we were shown to our room which was cold and dark (we were told the heating would come on later) the beds were cheap and extremely uncomfortable, The bed linen was of poor quality and smelt of horses as did the brown towels. The ensuite was extremely basic. The following day the owner watched over us as we ate the bland continental breakfast. The best part of our stay at this Motel was when we put the key in the box and left!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly couldn't do enough for us. When we got stuck in the snow they came and helped . Brilliant stay at the farm. It is a working farm with an equestrian centre. Brilliant if you want a down to earth experience. We would go again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you want a luxurious hotel conveniently placed for the town centre .. forget it. If on the other hand you want good value, clean en-suite accommodation with a friendly welcome at a cheap rate then don't hesitate to give it a try. as others have said do check directions closely before setting off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrogate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Motel

Address: Brackenthwaite LaneBurn Bridge, Harrogate HG3 1PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrogate Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Harrogate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Motel Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrogate Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.