We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotia House

Scotia House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Scotia House to your Saves list
Scotia House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   66 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JR, England   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at this boutique b&b late December.
Couple who run it are brilliant, very welcoming, nothing too much bother. It was our Silver Wedding anniversary, when we came back from a dinner out, which the proprietor rang and booked for us, we found a card and a box of Chocolates in our room. A lovely gesture.
The whole house is immaculate and bedroom was beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
53
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

1/3/2013 to 3/03/2013, Just returned from a fantastic weekend break at Scotia House. What a lovely hotel,we stayed in King Suite(no.2), what a gorgeous room. The owners are very welcoming,very helpful they could not do enough for us. Breakfast was lovely and filling. We highly recommend, if going to Harrogate to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my girlfriend for one night and it made the trip.

Amazing B & B and breakfast was perfect.

I have the say the pillows in room 2 are the comfiest I have ever slept on, best nights sleep for a long time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely boutique hotel. We had a warm welcome on arrival with a pot of tea and scones and jam. We were then shown to our room which was the King Suite (no. 2) on the first floor - what a lovely room, extremely well decorated and kitted out. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and we were recommended a restaurant for the evening meal which had fantastic food and gave a discount for being guests at the hotel. Breakfast was a joy with lots of lovely continental options and the English being spot on. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed over on NYE 2012, and chose Scotia House because my sister and her partner had previously stayed and received a good service.

The owner is lovely, and greets you with and informal but friendly welcome! She gave us advice on where to go for NYE, as we hadn't totally planned what we were going to do. The owners knowledge of Harrogate is excellent, and we had a really good night!

The rooms were on the small side, however beautifully decorated, extremely clean and warm. The whole building is decoarated to a very high standard, and you can see the work and effort that's been put into this place, and the work and effort to keep up it's high standards.

We had a slight mis-hap with the main front door when we returned back, in that there was a coding system on the internal door, and we hadn't been given the code, or explanied to, how to get it... Needless to say, the code was on the keyring, but after having a few too many V&T's, logic did go out of the window, and we had to knock on the door for the owners to let us in, which luckily they were ok with! Apologies to the 'Posh Guests'...

We didn't make it down for breakfast, as it was being served at 8:30, which was too early for myself and my husband to eat, expecially after having a late night, so I can't comment on the food. However, I'm sure it would have been lovely.

Great place to stay, & great hosts. Close to some lovely restaurants, and a short walk to some really good nightlife! Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed just one night at Scotia House and unfortunately I was starting to feel ill with a horrible flu bug ,but that made the fact that it was so clean, comfortable and welcoming even more appreciated.I chose to book this over the Hotel Du VIn which had been my original intention when deciding to visit Harrogate to use the spa, but having read such good reviews decided to give this B and B a try.
We felt it was excellent value for money.Our King suite room was spacious and spotless.The breakfast was tasty and most importantly hot.- so many English breakfasts are disappointingly lukewarm.We would rebook if visiting Harrogate again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed one night in room 1, it was comfortable and very well presented. Parking is round the corner and you get a permit when you check in. Scotia is much better than your average B and B... its a bit special. Its convenient for town, its onlya five minute walk. I will definately recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: We stayed in room one at the back. No traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia House

Address: 66 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm & welcoming guest house located directly opposite the Conference Centre and within walking distance to the town center, restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Scotia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.