We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed my virgin visit to Betty's tearoom!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate

Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate
1 Parliament Street, Harrogate HG1 2QU, England
+44 (0)1423 877300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 326 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Delicatessen, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
blackpool
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed my virgin visit to Betty's tearoom!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Late lunch stop to Betty's. loved the atmosphere/decor. Sat in the window and was in a fab spot to people watch those walking by. Had mozerella/ advocado/ pesto sandwhich plus got the homemade carrot and coriander soup as I couldn't decide. Ate every last morel and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Also tried the raspberry lemonade which was yummy if a little pricey. Service was friendly enough. Toilets large and clean. Would go back if found myself in Harrogate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,053
    551
    276
    98
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but could do better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Betty's is, well ,,Betty.'s, and although they do what they do very well, I think they may have to look to their laurels a bit more to keep their reputation what it is. We enjoy going for a light supper, with the lovely piano playing in the background, but the food is fairly plain and unimaginative fare, and even the afternoon tea is a bit overpriced for what it is. Having said that we enjoyed what we had, and will probably go again, my mother loves it, just a bit, mmmm.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food - terrible service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I and my family arrived tired and hungry after a long day travelling. We were greeted by an unsmiling maitre d', who loftily asked which room we wished to eat in. Since we've never been to Betty's before, we didn't have a clue, but he was unforthcoming about the differences until we pressed him on the subject, when he announced there was "no difference in price", as if he thought that would be important to us. As it turned out, one room had a pianist, and the other didn't, so we went with the pianist. We walked down the steps, and were ignored for a few minutes by the waitresses, then eventually seated, when we were ignored for another fifteen minutes before our order was taken. I was astonished by this lack of attention. It was made worse by the 35-minute wait for our dinner - we seriously considered just leaving and popping down the road to Wagamama's, as our children were becoming tired and increasingly hungry. However, the food eventually arrived, and pretty much made up for the terrible service. It was delicious - a chicken caesar salad that did not stint on the chicken and a salmon, prawn and haddock rosti that was moist and full of texture. From then on, service was better, and attention prompt when needed. Desserts (Eton mess and the most divine chocolate torte) were fantastic, and we left full and marginally happier. I can definitely recommend the food but Betty's needs to do something about 1) the miserable maitre d' and 2) the shockingly slow service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“everything I'd imagined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just lovely, I'd been waiting to go for years and it didn't disappoint. I went to the downstairs cafe and had tea in the Imperial Room - loved it. Service was first class, food just incredible!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Perfect for a smart afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We all have a soft spot for smart afternoon tea, so when we were in Harrogate a visit to Betty’s was a must. We decided to celebrate with a champagne tea and it was excellent. You start with a glass of rose champagne which is followed by a selection of sandwiches, cakes and pastries, together with a pot of tea of your choice.

I expected the cakes and pastries to be very good and they didn’t disappoint. But we were all struck by the quality of the sandwiches. On the plate they looked like conventional triangles with the crusts neatly removed - the sort of thing your mother used to tell you to eat before you were allowed any cake. But these were far more than a warm up act, as each one had a delicious filling and left us wanting more! The service was also very good; our waitress took real care of us and made sure that we were enjoying ourselves.

So if you’re in the area and feel like treating yourself to a special afternoon tea, there’s nothing to beat a trip to Betty’s.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betty's Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.