We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value option with good food and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thorpe Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thorpe Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Thorpe Lodge Hotel
83 - 85 Throep Road, Peterborough PE3 6JQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value option with good food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April with a work colleague as we had a meeting in Peterborough. The location is workable as it's only a 10/15 min walk into the city centre and train station. The staff were very friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable with tea making facilities and tv clean towels etc. There is a bar on site that does good cheap bar meals. I had the Cajun chicken which was really nice and my colleague had a steak. It's an ideal place for a night or two for work commitments.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
6
13
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Food was great with good portions, very tasty and excellent value.Clean rooms with cosy beds.Ideal for a business stay.Not far from town just a quick walk.Close to Peterborough hospital.Generous hospitality tray with plenty of tea and milk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear to eliminate road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel is dated but very clean. The bed sheets and towels were of top quality. The staff are excellent, polite and courtious. The breakfast was the best we have had in a long time. There was 2 of everything and it was presented on the plate beautifully. we shall certainly be staying again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was large and had a corner bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed a thorpe lodge while visiting family close by.
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly man who gave us our key and pointed us to the direction of the room.

our room was basic and smelt slighly of sewerage but had all nessessary room essentials -clean bedding, clean towels, clean bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities.

breakfast in the morning was nice and served by a friendly lady working in the kitchen.

after breakfast we wanted to check out and pay ready for our long journey back home.
We waited at the reception desk and no-one was there to serve us. The lady from the kitchen tried to contact the man in charge on her mobile and once she got through it appeared no-one was around to check us out. There was a slighly language barrier between us so it made the situation more confusing although it wasn't her fault.
My partner then spoke to the man on the phone who told him that they would just charge the card that we had booked with. This was not what my partner wanted to do as we had the cash ready to pay.

After a while if discussing what to do my partner wrote out his own receipt and had the kitchen lady read it and sign it to say they had recieved the money.

Badly managed... there should always be someone to check guests out on a morning.. not everyone wants to pay by card. I just hope my partner doesn't get doublely charged after such confusion.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Arriving early evening reception pointed me towards a set of stairs to my room. The staircase and carpets could do with replacing but were adequate. Room on third floor was a bit of a hike (no lift) and was quite small. It did have everything that you need...tea making facilities, good TV and bed was clean and comfortable.

In all a good cheap place to stay and within a ten minute walk of Peterborough city centre. Good car parking and the breakfast was extremely good. The lady serving was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this off the internet although I called direct, We only wanted the room for 1 night as we were watching the football. The hotel was well situated for the football ground. We checked in early and although room is small as is the bathroom it was adequate and clean. In the evening we decide to stay in the hotel bar to eat and spend the evening, We had the music on the television which was very pleasant and the food was quite good, however service behind bar was poor as the girl must of done every job in the hotel, she then told us the bar was closing at 10pm and we could buy wine for our room, as it was getting late we didn't want to go out so ended up 4 of us drinking in the room on wine that was very expensive although it is only cheap in the shop. I think this hotel has just been recently taken over so maybe we need to give them a chance as they are very pleasant people. Breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Good parking, food ok, maybe this will improve when they settle in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria (English)
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hubby & I stayed here for a night when I went up to renew my passport and we were very happy with the hotel. We arrived very late and were greeted with a smile, slept very well in the comfy bed and had a delicious breakfast the next morning. There is easy parking right outside..don't have anything to complain about!!

Room Tip: We had room at back off main road..probably quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorpe Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 - 85 Throep Road, Peterborough PE3 6JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thorpe Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorpe Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.