We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic fodder, reasonable value.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Cart

Apple Cart
Belladona Drive | Stanground, Peterborough, England
01733302480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 321 Restaurants in Peterborough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Basic fodder, reasonable value.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

If you are looking of somewhere to grab a quick bite without bells and whistles, this isnt bad. I wouldn't recommend going there as an occasion venue or if you are in the mood for a relaxing dinner out.
The menu offers lots in choice, but generally ding ding cooking, you feel like most dishes are simply reheated from ready meals.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    24
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“ok but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We popped in for lunch over the Jubilee bank holiday and found that the pub was very quiet but very welcoming the food we had was ok but nothing special even though we took advantage of the two for one which brought the food down to a reasonable price. However they were 5 of us so we had to pay full price for the fifth person.This pub is certiantly not for anyone that drinks alcohol. Stick to a glass a water and you will find your final bill acceptable. 2 fruit bulmers and two lagers £16.70.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great place for good pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

two for one type resaurant and very good at it .have been 3 times and will keep going back.the beer is varried ,and kept well,the food is good,staff pleasant,serving time good.This is the same chain as the Marsh harrier in St Ives so why is it so much better? PS on most reviews some find any restaurant good some find it bad,l know you cant please all the people all of the time,but it seems there needs to be more consistency,you find this abroad so why not here?as we should be spending our money here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's basic pub food... But it's still tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have been here on numerous occasions. I have to say that after the first visit I wasn't that impressed, however, the place has grown on me and I visit at least twice a month. Its not exceptional cuisine but is a great place to go if you can't be bothered to cook one night.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Service - recommend to families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Was expecting a typical pub grub where you have to queue to order meals etc. Not so. Waitress service. Warm, welcoming and relaxed. Work as a team - each keeping an eye open for others. Thank you. Will come again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Cart also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Spalding, Lincolnshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Apple Cart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Cart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.