We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paper Mills Inn

The Paper Mills Inn
Peterborough, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 313 restaurants in Peterborough
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Paper Mills - an excellent place to eat, good, varied menu, decently priced. Friendly and efficient staff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    25
    16
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An expensive disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The menu was very limited, no disabled access to the restaurant so we had to eat in the draughty bar. Food was very expensive and not very special, although the portion size was alright. My poached fruit dessert should not have been served on a plate, because when it was brought to the table, the fruit juice spilled into my lap and my handbag. I felt sorry for the waitress.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing atmosphere - fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We went here for saturday lunch. Absolutely fab food. Excellent wine. What more do you want. I would recommend to anyone. We were not rushed at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So sorry we have overlooked this for so long”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The first time my husband and I went to this pub was a few years ago. A welcome break whilst walking our dog from Alwalton to Wansford and back again. Sated by a pint of cider and a delicious baguette each, we continued, homeward bound.

Today, we again visited the Paper Mills. Though this time we were booked in for a 'proper' lunch, with our three year old daughter and my mum and dad.

All I can say is why oh why did we not come back sooner?

As soon as we walked through the door, we knew the place was obviously popular! As busy as it was though, the service we received was impeccable. Friendly, polite, efficient, but at no time did we feel rushed.

As for the food? Wow! Delicious, generous and beautifully presented.

What more could you ask for? Tasty food, great service and relaxed ambience .

A perfect Sunday lunch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ate here on a Sunday Lunch time, I would say this was a better experience than when we ate outside in the summer.
We booked a table ahead and were shown to a table in the snug, which was nicely placed I thought. Rather than a Sunday roast we chose a fish dish and lamb shank. My lamb shank was exceptionally good, husband found the fish a little bland, and also his ice cream was nice, but nothing too special. Conversly I thought my meal was excellent altogether, and the pub feels nice and clean without sacrificing its character.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paper Mills Inn also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Paper Mills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paper Mills Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.