We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several stays, always superb.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bull Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bull Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bull Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westgate, Peterborough PE1 1RB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Peterborough
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Several stays, always superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Have stayed here several times, so after having to recently check out of a horrible hotel, I knew that we'd be safe with checking in here and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is in the centre of the city, so ideally located for shopping, bars and restaurants. It is always warm and friendly, with prompt check in. The room that we were given had recently been renovated, but the radiator was stuck to red hot and so was the room. After the Engineer wasn't able to resolve it we requested a room change. Reception handled all of this for us, so we left the stuff in our room and went shopping. It was all in the new room when we returned, without a hitch.

We had lunch there and it was superb. The room was modern and tastefully decorated, with a good sized desk and chairs. Very clean. Breakfast is always good here; varied, hot and plentiful. You can't serve yourself, but just ask for more if you want more! The staff are lovely, despite some of the guests that I've heard here a few times. This time round was no different with an elderly lady being incredibly rude to a member of staff because there is no lift. It is a listed building...

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room, request a change. The staff are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgrpet, General Manager/ Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear LIZand Dan,
Wonderful, and let's hope that we see you on very many more occasions.
Thank you very much indeed.

Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    125
    46
    26
    17
See reviews for
37
134
21
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My partner & I stayed here for one night on 17th Dec 2011 as a Christmas treat, on arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and smiley young lady who made us feel very welcome. we were given a double room at the front of the hotel and on arrival to our room we wasnt dissapointed, the room was decorated to a very high standard, the modern bathroom was lovely with a bath and shower, and the beautiful bay window was stunning, small touches like Sky tv (great for my partner to watch sky sports 1 whilst Im getting ready) and bathrobe and slippers finished it off nicely, we decided to go out for a few drinks & dinner and couldnt fault the location, slap bang in the middle of Peterborough City Centre, we were spoilt for choice! climbing into our beautiful big bed we both felt we had found our perfect hotel.......until 2am arrived, I was awoken by late night revellers coming out the clubs and bars nearby, this went on for at least 2 hours and was unbearable, but at this time of the morning I wasnt going to start moving rooms so put up with it, to be fair we did decide to stay in a city centre hotel on the busiest weekend for Xmas parties & Iam a light sleeper, my partner didnt wake up once (that could of been helped by the booze mind) I would definitely stay in this hotel again, and recommend to others but on booking would ask for a room away from the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: When booking ask to stay at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgrpet, General Manager/ Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear BIG and small82,
Thank you for your comments, and they were very much appreciated by all of us who were delighted that you had such a good time.
I am very sorry about the small "niggle" that you had with the late night revellers causing some noise in the small hours.
It looks like you did not allow this to spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay.

We all hope to see you again soon.

Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

this old coaching inn is excellent the bedroom and shower bath excellent
the staff very friendly from alan price jo matt gerald all the staff were the most helpful staff .
the food was excellent the hotel is like a art galley with a picture of james 1 and many others
the enteriment was good as well
i like the duck given as a gift in the bathroom the only promblem there was no porridge
it was easy to peterborough catherdal and the key theatre
keep up the good work

Room Tip: try 148 a good size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgrpet, General Manager/ Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear tony 726,
Thank you for your comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us. Porridge is one of those food items that is prepared to order and not cooked in advance, I distinctly remember it being served throughout the entire holiday, however because it was not cooked in advance, it was not on display. Next, time, and I really hope that there will be a next time, when we once again have the pleasure of looking after you, do ask.
Thank you once again for taking the time to convey your appreciation, we are thrilled that you had a good time.
Happy new year to you.

Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel as so much character as soon as you step into it. The reception/foyer is so spacious and connected to the bar so there were lots of seating. We arrived a little early and so our room wasn't ready yet but they were perfectly happy with keeping our bags while we explored a little bit. Our room was lovely, nothing special though apart from the bathroom which was looked rather modern and actually had a bath which seems to be a rarity in hotels these days.

The bed was comfy but could definitely have done with a duvet instead of just a few blankets. Also, there was a party going on in the function room which we didn't mind but we could still hear the bass from the music gone 1am, then it sounded as if someone was someone was singing pretty loud down the mic around 1:30am.. and I've got problems with my hearing so god knows what it would sound like to someone with perfect hearing. Surely it could have ended a bit earlier in consideration of hotel guests who are trying to sleep.

Aside from the bedding and the party, it's a lovely stay in Peterborough, close to everything you need. I'd definitely stay here again but would probably ask if anything was going on at the hotel at night before booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the function room if there's something planned for that night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgrpet, General Manager/ Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Yellowstorm 88,
I am so sorry that it has taken me so long to respond, there have been a few technical problems, and so thank you for bearing with me.
I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
obviously your stay with us did take place around the same time that our Christmas party season started, and so the users of our hotel were a little more excitable than usual as a result of the festivities.
Your comments regarding duvets have been noted, and I confirm that the implementation of these is now upto just over 90% of our rooms, with the rest to be completed soon.

I look forward to seeing you soon.

Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Have visited The Bull for Sunday lunch around Christmas time for a number of years.
This year the carvery is served as a 'plated ' meal and was very disappointing.
At 1.15 there was no beef available although the restaurant had only been open 45 minutes.
The roast lamb was served with two roast potatoes , a yorkshire and an individual portion of vegetables - 3 pieces of parsnip ,one floret of brocolli and creamed leaks (more cream in one portion than leeks). The mint sauce was so sweet it spoiled the meal.Not good value at all compared to previous years - indeed the sandwiches served in the bar were more substantial.

One of our party uses a wheel chair and the service to provide a ramp to the dining room was exceptional - I just wish the food reflected the enthusiasm of the staff who went out of their way to help.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I loved staying at the Bull Hotel. It is conveniently located right across the street from the shops and there are a ton of services within walking distance. My room was new and clean and I was very comfortable here - great bed! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall it was a fabulous experience. The only thing you have to remember is that the front desk closes early, so you can't book wake up calls after their business hours. They don't have a gym, but there is one down the block that gives Bull guests access for only 3 pounds/visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgrpet, General Manager/ Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Emma_B_19,
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. Just one small thing, our reception desk is open 24 hours per day, after 11pm at night our night porter service takes over, as is customary in hotels throughout the world.
We really look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just got back from a lovely weekend away visiting family and exploring Cambridgeshire and I haven't stopped talking about the Bull to friends and family. As I am Manchester born and bred I have not ventured much into this part of the country except to visit family but I and my wife will be sure to return to the Bull to cheer ourselves up in January..
The hotel is elegant in every sense, the staff most hospitable and the food to die for! May I recommend the Turf Sharing platter, it is a refreshing change on the usual sharing meals available in many restaurants.
Many thanks to the lovely staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genmgrpet, General Manager/ Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
RobertM,
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are very grateful, and we look forward to welcoming you back in January.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Address: Westgate, Peterborough PE1 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bull Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Peterborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.