We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Head Inn Nassington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Head Inn Nassington to your Saves list
Queens Head Inn Nassington
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   54 Station Rd | Nassington, Peterborough PE8 6QB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We did not book a room as we only ate there for dinner.

We arrived looking for pub fare at 6:30 on a Saturday night. There was no bar menu but there was space for us in the dining room - even without a reservation.

We each had a completely different meal (chicken, liver and steak) and each one tasted great! Three different servers kept stopping at the table to ensure we didn't need anything else. Everyone around us seemed to be enjoying their meals.

It was a great way to end a day of exploring around nearby Fotheringhay.

Room Tip: It seemed like we got lucky not having a reservation on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    44
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
30
68
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

we had a most enjoyable evening, food was well cooked and presented. I had salmon with a chilli sauce followed by a great pudding of plums mixed with ginger cake. Staff were helpful and food was served promptly. One suggestion to the Queens Head please offer warm rather than cold home made bread

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

While we were looking for something to eat when we were visiting some friends we stopped at queens head .this restaurant is located at Nassington an it was a big surprise .A very old building over a century with an atmosphere of the past .We had grilled prawns wangu wich is a steak and sticky toffee .That was one of the four menu that we suggested from Sakis the very friendly waiter .If you ever found in the sou berms of Peterborough this place is a must.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness, Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We only stayed one night but would go back. Set in a nice little village right next to the river with seating area and gardens between the chalet style rooms and the water. The breakfast was excellent but we cannot comment on the evening meal as we walked a couple of hundred yards to the other pub, The Black Horse, and dined there. The food was good quality rustic home cooked fayre and not to expensive. Plenty of thatched property around and one shop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed one night here to break a long journey home . We had a deal with Classic Lodges . I night DBB + bottle of Prosecco for £99. We stayed in the River Suite which was at the end of a row of chalet type bungalows and had parking outside. We had a lovely view of the river and ducks. Would be lovely in summer as there was seating outside. Our room had bathroom with large shower and our prosecco was chilling in an ice bucket in a well appointed room with plenty of storage. Dinner was excellent with plenty of choice as was breakfast. Would like to have stayed longer. Very friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: River suite quiet with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ate here 27 Sept 2012. Smallest piece of venison I have ever seen on a plate, and it was a bit on the tough side. Some veg was undercooked. Fish dishes were also small in size. Service was OK but the restaurant was almost empty at 20.00 hrs......I wonder why!!
Very high prices for a pub pretending to be something better perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Eaten (and stayed) here several times before but this meal was disappointing. Asked to wait over an hour for a table though clearly not that busy - staffing issues? When the meal came the "specials" weren't! Will rethink our visit to the area next time and not necessarily plan to eat here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Head Inn Nassington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Inn Nassington

Address: 54 Station Rd | Nassington, Peterborough PE8 6QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Head Inn Nassington 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality greets visitors to the Queens Head Inn near Peterborough. This historic Northamptonshire Inn and Restaurant is situated on the banks of the River Nene in the picturesque village of Nassington and is one of the best small hotels near Peterborough, Stamford, Oundle & Wansford. The Queens Head Inn has 9 spacious, chalet style en- suite bedrooms and is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queens Head Inn Nassington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Inn Nassington Hotel Peterborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Head Inn Nassington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.