We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, nice setting, everything else, poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of East Oriental Restaurant

East Oriental Restaurant
London Rd | Town Bridge, Peterborough PE1 1FP, England
+44 1733 315702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 325 Restaurants in Peterborough
Price range: $28 - $47
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: East Restaurant brings a true taste of the Orient to the Upper Deck at Charters, moored at the Town Bridge on the River Nene in Peterborough.Relax with family and friends over dinner and watch the world go by on the River Nene.Take a shopping break, unwind a little and sample our special lunchtime menu.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice setting, everything else, poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We dined at East tonight, our farewell to Peterborough as we are moving on. We have been here before and always had an ok time but tonight! Wow was it bad!
The food was ok, a good job it was served on sizzling platters as the whole restaurant was freezing. When we told the waiter we were cold he just said 'oh well, we've put 50p in the meter but it doesn't seem to be working,' the service was slow, very slow, and rude too. Dismissive and slapdash. The food was nice but we were so cold we couldn't enjoy it. My husband went to the toilet and found one cubicle unusable because of vomit encrusted around the toilet pan and floor - dried vomit at that, it's obvious no one had cleaned up from last night or even the night before!
Overall an unpleasant experience.
If you're going to go, go in the summer, it's warm,without heating, the view of the river is nice and you could always go home or back to your hotel to use the loo!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    41
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Gluten free options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was with a large group who ordered a load of set menus and shared but as I need a gluten free option I went to the head waiter and asked what I could have. Two starter options (Chicken satay or ribs) then any of the curries, had a lovely Thai red curry with beef and plain rice, think he said you can have coconut rice too. Really nice surprise and whole table was so happy with their food. A really nice friendly place to eat, even with kids.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In several minds about several cuisines!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

EAST - what a wonderful place, despite the 3 star rating I mean that. The dishes are flavourful, fresh and well presented. The location is one of the most glamorous in Peterborough, the darkened windows shutting out just enough of the view to persuade you that you are anywhere else.

It let's itself down horribly by sharing toilet facilities with the bar underneath which are in poor repair and quite smelly. This noticeably detracts from the overall experience.

This said the variety and quality of the menu speaks for itself. I've been back repeatedly. The shared starters are amazing and they have a good couple fo showstopper dishes like the volcano chicken.

Also one of the few places in Peterborough that you can get a variety of properly cooked fish. This alone would cover a multitude of sins that don't really exist, let's make that 3/5 a 4/5 shall we?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Presented with a choice, Sarah opted for a casual midweek dinner to celebrate her birthday which meant there was really only one choice for us in Peterborough - East.

We always enjoy it here and this occasion was not different. The food is very tasty, served in good sized portions and the prices are fine too. The service really does stand out though - it's clear the staff have all been well trained and that is not so common in our experience.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Much better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Having visited East last year and leaving disappointed I returned last week and my experience was much better. The food was outstanding and service good. This visit was mid week, whereas the last experience was at a weekend so not sure if this was a factor.

The tempura was very good. All food was freshly prepared and arrived at the table hot. No long waits between courses. Staff friendly and professional. Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to East Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.