We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at the calder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calder Motel

Save Saved
You added Calder Motel to your Saves list
Calder Motel
Calder Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calder Motel
296 High St, Kangaroo Flat, Victoria 3555, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kangaroo Flat
hobart
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great stay at the calder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

host was friendly and attentive. the rooms have been done up beautifully, we were very surprised at how fresh and lovely everything was. breakfast was appreciated, shops very close by, overall a very good experience. keep up the good work! would definitely stay again, and will recommend to friends travelling to the area. its always lovely to see a doggie when u stay somewhere. great stay thank u :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutherglen, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Firstly I am rating this based on the fact it's a 3 Star hotel not a 5 star (let's be realistic in our reviews)

We were travelling from Rutherglen to Ballarat and I knew we would want break on the trip home so decided Bendigo would be a good spot to stopover for the night. This motel was listed as pet friendly so I gave them a call and the nice man (Michael) on the phone did advise yes they were pet friendly and he had a room they had just renovated. I advised we may be late arriving (about 8:30pm) and he said that's fine if you are going to be later give us a call.

At about 8:25pm I rang explaining we were about 40 minutes away still and the lady advise they would keep reception open until arrived. We got there about 9ish and true to their word...reception was still open,...in reception we noticed they did continental breakfast for $6.50 each (cereal, jam, toast etc) very basic but fine for us as it was delivered to our room that night so we could have it any time we wanted for brekkie.

The room was spotlessly clean and whilst it's an old motel you can tell the new owners have been gradually upgrading things and I am sure once they have finished the place will be even better.. We had a family room which had two single bed and a double bed....the room had been freshly painted and whilst the bathroom was very old fashioned and had louvre windows so it was cold in there (shutting the door kept us cosy) They even put the heater on for us before we got there to ensure the room was nice and water.....The bed (double) was comfortable and we had enough pillows and even though it's on the Calder Highway we found it to be quite quiet (it was a Wednesday night) It's within walking distance to a major shopping centre which has Hungry Jack's and Coles etc.

There is a small pool (which we didn't use because it was May) and the owners are lovely people who chatted to us the next morning about their hopes in further developing the hotel. We would recommend this motel to anyone travelling and will definitely stay there with our dog again.

I hope that once they have finished renovations they keep it pet friendly :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Calder Family Motel on a tour of Victoria and enjoyed excellent hospitality from the enthusiastic, young, management team who went out of their way to accommodate our needs.
The Motel has an old fashioned 'Retro' feel to it but is very clean and does have all the creature comforts you would want from a motel of this nature. Cable TV is a bonus.
The owners are gradually renovating the motel putting in new furniture, carpets etc.
They willingly posted an item that we had left behind to us without charge.
What the motel lacks in modern facilities is made up by the friendliness of the management.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KERANG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This motel is to me clean, comfortable, & affordable. New operators, working hard to update and revive this older style motel. Budget priced and family friendly. loved the quaint entry/fly doors. The motel displays homely character. There many motels in this region being overpriced offering only similar fare to Calder Motel with perhaps a fresher facade but not justifying their 30% more tariff. I recommend you give Calder Family Motel a go ! Exellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

New owners since April 2012, have done a superb job, lots of renovations have been carried out.. Extremely clean and neat motel..typical friendly country people to deal with.. Awesome salt water pool, complete with banana lounges to laze around on.,
As we arrived late Friday, they had put the air conditioner on in the room.. How thoughtful .. I'd highly recommend this motel anytime... Nothing is a problem for them.. COMFY beds and as requested, a beautiful hot breakfast was cooked for us..
Wonderful experience, keep up the great hospitality, we WILL be back again.,

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Mouse poop in cupboards, hair dryer so dirty you couldn't hold it, carpets dirty & smelly, so bad I took photos. Shower dripped all night so hardly slept. ONE thin acrylic blanket on bed (no spare in room). Advertised a Toaster (filled with mouse droppings) yet no plates or knife just incase you did risk your health. Obviously owners cant do much to improve such an aged 70's establishment. Who rated this place???? $100 night was Highway Robbery. People you are charging far too much for what you supply. Nice/friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calderfamilymotel, Owner at Calder Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
In regard to your heading “Disgusting” we have just been assessed by AAA and scored 93% out of 100% for cleanliness on the 31/1/2013 four days after your stay. This assessment covers all aspects of cleanliness including draws, toasters and hair dryers. In regard to the carpets we are replacing them as quick as we can afford it, two rooms done and hope to have them all done before the year is out. The dripping tape was a simple matter of turning the tape off properly after you used it. You have failed to mention that you rang at midnight for a room and we were the only motel that accepted you. Over all your slandering claims are disheartening and incorrect, if you had an issue when you stayed why did you not come to reception to resolve it?? Michael & I with our 3 young children have worked hard to resurrect this little motel and will keep working hard to improve it over time. By the way I am the nice reception lady as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The owners are very friendly and helpfull.
The room was clean and warm.
We had a sports weekend in Bendigo and all accomodation was fully booked.
I was happy with the room and would stay again if I had to go to Bendigo again.
Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calder Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calder Motel

Address: 296 High St, Kangaroo Flat, Victoria 3555, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Kangaroo Flat
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kangaroo Flat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Calder Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calder Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.