We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat as Much as You Like - and We Did!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tao Peking

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tao Peking
158 High St, Ruislip HA4 8LJ, England
01895 622062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 58 Restaurants in Ruislip
Restaurant details
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Eat as Much as You Like - and We Did!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a special Birthday Treat and six, hungrey, family members decided that the Tao would satisfy those large appetites: we were not disappointed!

Whilst the decor was somewhat dark and gloomy the atmosphere was not. Shown to our table and offered the drinks menu spot on time we set about ordering. It became clear that despite the extensive A la Carte the selection on the Eat As Much As You Can Menu had choices to suit all tastes. The "Appetizers" took time to choose and we were not hastled into making decisions. The colourful, plentiful and varied dishes arrived (recommend the spare ribs) and we were not disappointed. No complaints on the quality, or quantity of food, in fact we were in danger of not getting on to the next course, which was duck in pancake, prepared at table by the very efficient waiter. Whilst a little dry the duck was appreciated by all. Main course with beef in pepper sauce and plenty of additional options met with great approval . Save room for the piece de resistance as the Artic Toffee Apples are exceptional, although other options are available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peking Duck and Pancake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had diner with a friend last Friday. Excellent Duck and pancake, could have done with more pancakes! A bit dark inside but the food was delicious and not just the pancakes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“You can see why the king likes to go here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

An Eclectic interior makes this possibly the most welcoming and interesting Chinese restaurant in the area. There are lots of different area’s carved out of one huge space, so you kinda feel intimate and private where ever you are, without being isolated. The food was good, decent portion sizes, service efficient, prices that are reasonable for what you get. The only niggle would be their metal chairs, which were very uncomfortable, but they did change them to an upholstered version when we asked. There is an excellent atmosphere in here, even though it wasn't an Elvis night. Really a very enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Saturday night dinner with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We decided to go out for a Chinese meal, and having been to the Chinese Elvis night previously we chose the Tao Peking, excellent service, restaurant was full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Brilliant Chinese Elvis and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was my 4th time at Tao Peking's Chinese Elvis night. It was,as usual brilliant. Chinese Elvis is so awful it's hilarious!
There were 13 of us and we had each paid £35 per person for a set menu which started with ribs, prawn toast, chicken satay,spring rolls and seaweed, followed by crispy duck and pancakes,followed by a choice of 5 main dishes,chow mein and rice, followed by ice cream and tea or coffee! There was plenty for everyone. On 'Elvis' night he comes on and performs at around 10pm for an hour then there is a disco until 12am. All in all a good value for money night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao Peking also viewed

Ruislip, Middlesex
Ruislip, Middlesex
 

Been to Tao Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tao Peking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.