We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toresano

Toresano
36 High Street, Ruislip, England
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Toresano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 58 Restaurants in Ruislip
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little taste of Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have eaten in the St Johns Wood restaurant many times and have found both the food and service to be exemplary. Stand out dishes include honey coated aubergine and cheese tartlets with cranberry sauce. Delicious! Portions are generous to say the least.
A very cosy and welcoming restaurant, perfect for cold winter nights!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    5
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely local tapas restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food and service. We enjoyed all of the tapas dishes; aubergine with honey and rosemary was absolutely sensational. Overall the best place to eat in Ruislip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife, daughter & I have eaten in this restaurant a number of times. We have had tapas in the evening & the Sunday lunch. The owner has always been very pleasant as have all the staff. On Friday last there was a good mix of people which created a nice atmosphere For a small restaurant in the High Street its a very pleasant place to spend an evening or indeed Sunday lunches - I'd go again anytime

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best tapas in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After reading the review below I was a bit apprehensive about keeping our booking at this restaurant but after visiting the restaurant I couldn't disagree with the last reviewer anymore. Great service from the moment we set a foot in the place, especially by the manager. The service was fantastic and food was stunning. Great restaurant that can't be faulted, we will definitely be returning!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appalling!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

On arrival to Toresano 5 mins early than our booking, the manager greeted us with a sarcastic comment about being early. We got taken to our table and sat down. The waiter brought us olives which tasted cheap and as we each tried one we all had the same reaction and left them to the side. When the mananger came over I politley asked if he had any other olives. He was rude, aggressive and dismissed us.

We had ordered several dishes of tapas and finally got the first two after waiting for a long while. The table that were next to us who had ordered after us had got all of theirs in the meantime. We asked the waiter if he could bring all of our dishes together which eventually he did. By this time having waited for so long and only getting a couple of dishes at a time, we were not interested in eating anymore bland, cold food.

When the manager next came over I asked him if the food was ment to come altogether as that is something we have always expereienced in tapas restaurants. Again he got very defensive and aggressive. We then got in to an argument as he was unwilling to provide any standard of customer service. We all felt extrememly angry by this point.

The waiter who was serving us was the only decent thing about the restaurant. He was extrememely appologetic and gave us some extra dishes and drinks on the house. He also apologised on behalf of his manager which in our opinion he should not have to do.

When it came to the bill, the manager came over and said to us "make sure you check that properly, because you look like the kind of people that would cause trouble"
We were absolutley gobsmacked by this remark. We paid the bill and then pretty much got shoved out of his restaurant by him closing the door on us.

How a manager/owner can treat his customers in this way is beyond us. He does not deserve custom if that is his attitude. We also noticed the table next to us had complained, and were greeted by the same reaction. This confirmed we were more than justified. We believe as customers service is key and interaction with the owner should be taken on board, not dismissed and shunned.

We will NEVER be returning to TORESANO in ruislip high street, opposite baskin robbins again and would advise all to stay well cleer unless you fancy tasteless food and the treatment that we were provided with.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toresano also viewed

Ruislip, Middlesex
Ruislip, Middlesex
 
Ruislip, Middlesex
Ruislip, Middlesex
 

Been to Toresano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toresano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.