We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pony & Trap

The Pony & Trap
Knowle Hill | Newtown, Chew Magna BS40 8TQ, England
+44 1275 332627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Chew Magna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wonderful food and attentive waitress - lovely evening - made to feel very special. Decided to try unusual combinations - wow!
Thought I had died and gone to Masterchef Heaven!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    106
    62
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went here as a bit of a treat for my birthday as was NOT disappointed. Great food, great service and still the best desert I may have ever had. I can't wait for the next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had to book a couple of months in advance to get a table at the Pony and Trap on Saturday night. It was well worth the wait. The menu was extensive and interesting with a wine list to match. A wonderful duck parfait followed by pork loin and an ensemble of lemon puddings was a truly memorable gastronomic experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited on a Friday evening at 7.30pm.

Very good, very friendly informal service.

Our table ordered beetroot salad, venison burger and steak, plus crab soup. Not a single complaint between us, the food was excellent (and quite reasonable value).

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simply super food in relaxed surrounding - a real winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On each occasion that we have visited the pony and trap we have had a superb experience. Set a few miles from the city, it's totally worth the journey. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. The food is out of this world. Every care is taken to ensure that every dish is perfect.

A must for all food lovers near Bristol.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pony & Trap also viewed

 
Chew Magna, Somerset
Chew Magna, Somerset
 

Been to The Pony & Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pony & Trap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.